We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
326
118
47
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
118
47
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lucerne il padrino junior suite stunning hotel train station old town huge room lake facing room main restaurant highly recommend this hotel perfect location travel agent nespresso machine free upgrade sitting area our honeymoon lovely city
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Great location just across the street from old town with all of the shops and restaurants. Half of a mile to the train station. Bus stop across the street. room was beautiful the only thing we has a problem with was the lack of outlets. Staff was very attentive and helpful

Room tip: Request a Lake view room
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J5842LGbarbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear J5842LGbarbaram

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL is very grateful for your overwhelming feedback in reference to your recent stay at our hotel.

Your recognition is our best reward and our greatest source of motivation to continue dedicating ourselves to giving our guests an extraordinary stay. Of course we will share your good review with our team, this would be a good motivation for all.

We look forward to welcoming you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future.

Best regards from the city of lights

Susann Lehmann
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This hotel was INCREDIBLE. Every detail was managed. I also forgot my passport (stupid me) and the hotel shipped it at no cost to me in Milan. Incredible service. Highly recommended if you can afford it! It was definitely a treat for my partner and I, since we typically manage a more frugal budget.

If you are budget conscious, suggest investing in the hotel and visiting the many grocery stores and markets for picnic supplies to eat along the Lake.

Only a quick train ride to Zurich for fun and nightlife!

Room tip: Rooms with Juliette balconies facing Lake Luzern are the best!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevtownhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear kevtownhouse

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your positive feedback.

Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are very pleasing: we always aim to give our guests the very best possible treatment so that they enjoy an unforgettable stay with us. Of course it was a pleasure to help you with your passport.

We will happily share your outstanding comments with our entire team and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Lucerne again in the near future.

Best regards from Lucerne

Susann Lehmann
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Only a one night stay, but hotel is in a good location in Lucerne, right on lake front, and with much to see. Lake view room has great views of lake and mountains.
Ouside restaurant dining was pleasant, 30 metres from lake.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V2414DSkeithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear V2414DSkeithm

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL thanks you very much for your positive feedback. Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are tremendously motivating for us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to spend some memorable days in Lucerne.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future and we send you warm regards from the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL.

Susann Lehmann
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Best bits - it’s location - right on the water with no noisy roads in between as you might get in Geneva, Lugano etc - lovely views and well located for the town
Great staff in the Terasse bar and hard working ones in the breakfast room.
The rooms are very adequate in a traditional way - not sure when they were last refurbished
Downside - no atmosphere in this huge building. Had to remind the desk to get the room made up at 4pm, Mini Bar not replenished
Did not eat in the hotel ( but try Padrino - excellent) but the breakfast room is awful - 2 hard working ladies with impossible job to cater with customers from around the world - it needs a Manager to stop children from pulling light fittings down , to ask guests not to have loud video games being played by children ( although one guest did ask a group to stop the racket ) and to have them using a common area as a play ground, or tables of guests “screaming “ at each other across the room - breakfast is not relaxing - especially after the buffet has been ransacked.
If you are looking for something more refined and personal - go elsewhere - we would not return - unfortunately

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lorainew737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Loraine W

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay.
Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services, so feedback is always very important to us. As already mentioned at your check out, this is of course not our standard and we are very sorry about the happened situation at the breakfast time. We almost try to manage all cultures in our hotel, but we will forward you remark to our Restaurant Manager to avoid such situations in the near future.

Nevertheless, it would be our great pleasure to welcome you again to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL in the near future, to show you our otherside.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Susann Lehmann
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

very well maintained, clean, beautifully decorated, fine staff, good restaurants, beautiful view and walking areas nearby, parking is limited and tight, prices are higher but not unreasonable, highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVE11044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear DVE11044

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your positive feedback.

Your great words about your stay at our hotel are very pleasing: we always aim to give our guests the very best possible treatment so that they enjoy an unforgettable stay with us. So we will happily share your outstanding comments with our entire team and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Lucerne again in the near future.

Best regards from Lucerne

Susann Lehmann
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews