We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
486
144
58
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
486
144
58
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lucerne junior suite nicest hotel old town beautiful property valet service welcome drink train station balcony overlooking the lake nespresso machine fresh fruit our honeymoon old world charm free upgrade air conditioning the location is perfect room was large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

The Grand Hotel National Lucerne has been around since 1870. It was at the end of the 1870's that a young go getter Cesar Ritz took charge of the young hotel and transformed the luxury hotel experience into what we recognize today. So you could say that the Grand Hotel National is where it all began! The hotel is a Bell Epoque masterpiece on the shores of Lake Lucerne. The bar and restaurants are straight out of a page of an Agatha Christie Poirot novel! Our room was wonderful, and the whole ambience was superb. The hotel swimming pool looks brand new, and we enjoyed our swim in it, as well as the use of the sauna to relax our weary bones. The staff were always friendly and attentive, and simply put, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when we are next in Lucerne.

Room tip: A Lake view room would be divine.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear VicNicholas

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your positive feedback.

Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are very pleasing: we always aim to give our guests the very best possible treatment so that they enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

We will happily share your outstanding comments with our entire team and we very much look forward to welcoming you to Lucerne again in the near future.

Best regards from Lucerne

Laura Huwyler
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the impressive looking Grand. It did not disappoint.

Old style glory and class with the added modern functional touch combining grandeur, luxury and comfort.

Amazing location and views over the picturesque lake and landscape.

Front office, reception and restaurant staff super friendly, going out of their way to meet our needs and in making our stay that more special.

Throughly recommended. Definitely the place to stay when revisiting lovely Luzern!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Zempti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Zempti

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your personal feedback.

Honest feedback is very important to us as it is our highest aim and the greatest source of motivation for the entire team always to do our very best so that our guests can enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

It is a great pleasure for us to read your positive feedback, and we are proud to have been able to give you a memorable stay.

We hope to welcome you to Lucerne again in the near future and we send you our best regards from the City of lights.

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We only stay in 5 star hotels. As usual this time also we had booked at least 4 rooms . 2 lake view and 2 city view. In the past we have always stayed at the Palace with bookings of 6-8 rooms . We had said that we would try the National , terrible idea !
Spanish speaking receptionist ( don't recall his name) was very rude ! He said I cannot leave the car parked outside though we were packing the car getting ready to depart! I told him that we would just grab a quick lunch..at the hotel. A lady at reception intervened and said it's ok you can go have lunch, and leave the car out. (The car was in your parking , paid for 4 nights)
The National restaurant : Celebrating my daughter's birthday , waiter says we had to wait and be patient for our food as he was busy serving the only other table in the restaurant !! Took forever terrible. I suppose they serve one table at a time ...unbelievable !

For whom is expecting an impeccable service , this is definitely not the place ! You will be let down. Sure the location is great but still the essential is deeply flawed.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 616nasserk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Nasser K

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay.

Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services, so feedback is always very important to us.

We really regret to hear that you had such an unfavourable impression from our service, this is not our standard, which we pursue. That`s why we immediately forwarded your remark, to avoid any such inconvenience in the future.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL to show you how it works normal.

Best regards from the shores of Lake Lucerne

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with impeccable service. The rooms are beautiful as well as the Dining Room and Bar. Dario at the bar was friendly, entertaining and spot on with the drinks.
The staff and concierge went above and beyond to help.
Plus you cannot beat the location!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Tim W

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL thanks you very much for your positive feedback. Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are tremendously motivating for us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to spend some memorable days in Lucerne.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future and send you warm regards from the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL.

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We were visiting Lucerne for 5 days with our adult daughter. It is very difficult to find comfortable accommodations for 3 people to a room but the Grand National was special in this regard. We took a junior suite and they set it up perfectly so we had room for all of us to be comfortable. They also arranged for us to get to our room early on the day of arrival, even though we were about 6 hours before normal availability time.

The hotel is grand in every respect. Great restaurants, exceptional bar, friendly staff. And it is located on the promenade by Lake Lucerne, within easy walking distance of the Old Town and/or the train station.

Highly recommend, although it is somewhat expensive.

Room tip: Junior Corner Suite is perfect. If not that, any room facing the promenade.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielGarbrecht, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear John M

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your personal feedback.

Honest feedback is very important to us, as it is our highest aim and the greatest source of motivation for the entire team always to do our very best so that our guests can enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

It is a great pleasure for us to read your positive feedback, and we are proud to have been able to give you a memorable stay.

We hope to welcome you to Lucerne again in the near future and we send you our best regards from the City of lights.

Daniel Garbrecht
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews