We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
586
374
79
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
374
79
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican restaurant great location train station old town marriott points chapel bridge front desk staff first floor two blocks small lobby small hotel deluxe room street parking side street walk in shower nespresso machine would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

I loved the rooms because of the artful and creative designs on the walls, wifi is free, the view is amazing, walking distance from the catholic church, the lake lucerne, the train and bus station, there is a lot of food places around. love it.

Room tip: Higher floors have less A/C noise
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 693mariaelisac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Director of Operations at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel while you stayed in Lucerne. As well, we thank you for having taken the time to share your experience, which you have made all through your stay with us. All comments are crucial for us in order to evaluate and improve our service continuously.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our city center hotel and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel soon again. We thank you for your recommendation and remain with kind regards from Lucerne.

Louis Achermann
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Although the Renaissance brand has an above average reputation, I was skeptical of this hotel because it is the smallest property in the Renaissance chain and the location is just a few blocks from the Lucerne train station. I expected a bit of street noise in our room; overworked hotel staff; and underwhelming room layouts.

Instead, we were greeted by Luca at the front desk who impressed us with his professionalism. He was welcoming without being insincere. Very Efficient without being rushed and sloppy. And very knowledgeable about our upgrade amenities. A great brand ambassador for Renaissance.

Our upgraded corner room was surprisingly quiet given the third floor location. The size of the corner room, tasteful decor, large bathroom, and ample closets felt luxe. In room upscale coffee and standard amenities.

The only criticism is the way the shower is built. It has an open front entrance which allows water to bounce onto the bathroom floor. We've noticed several hotels using this modern style -- but they really don't get the "bad user experience".

Hot water from the sink -- and I mean really hot -- was also pleasantly surprising.

Cleaning service was excellent and even the hotel staff who delivered water to our room did not awkwardly wait or expect a tip which relieved us of our embarrassment of the fact that we didn't have any cash since we arrived late at night without time to go to an ATM. Class act.

One area of improvement is the breakfast buffets staff. This hotel rents out the Restraunt below in order to accommodate hotel guests with an above average breakfast buffet. The problem is one Caucasian staff member who acted like she was the "buffet police". She obnoxiously admonished me for using a tea glass instead of a regular glass to fill my orange juice. She also treated certain guests like royalty and other guests like third class citizens. It was very obvious and extremely low class. Yet the other servers were good.

We highly recommend this hotel. The Location is supurb -- it will save you a lot of time so that you can enjoy Lucerne. The staff deliver. And if you're fortunate to get a corner room, you will have a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AroundTheWorld8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Director of Operations at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your wonderful review with which you have evaluated your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel. Your comments on TripAdvisor are very important to us and we believe other travelers will also enjoy reading your kind words.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our city center hotel and that you enjoyed the well-equipped room as well as its city-center location. Moreover we are delighted to see that you were satisfied with our friendly, helpful and professional staff and we will share your comments with the whole team as we strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations and to provide the best service possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel soon again and thank you for your praise and for your recommendation.

Best regards from Lucerne

Louis Achermann
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We had an extended stay at this hotel and can recommend it highly, especially for Marriott Gold and Platinum members.

As everyone says, the location can't be beat. Two short blocks from the main station, close to everything else in town.

The property has a distinctly "3 star" initial presentation; most of its street level is occupied by a not-especially fancy (but being Switzerland still ruinously expensive) Mexican restaurant, no doorman, small lobby crowded by stored luggage when we arrived. Even for a Marriott Gold member who requested early check-in, the best they could do was 2:30 p.m.

As Marriott Gold members our lowest-possible-rate run-of-the-house reservation was upgraded to a top-floor corner deluxe king room, which was spacious and reasonably appointed. The bath was small but modern with a rain shower, and there was virtually no noise from the (very busy) main street on which the hotel lies. Climate control was excellent. As was noted by other posters, this is Europe and you aren't going to get 100% away from smokers / smoke; our room didn't seem to have been smoked in but smoke was certainly detectable in the ventilation system from time to time.

Despite a no-breakfast rate, Marriott Gold membership got us free full breakfast for the length of the stay, presented by the management as in lieu of the absence of an executive lounge. (They actually have a very nice lounge on the first [second for Americans] floor, but it offers only coffee, tea and tap water.) The breakfast was a full array of American-friendly and German-friendly hot and cold options, and the service was friendly and efficient. We dined once in the same space in its lunch-and-dinner manifestation as the Pacifico restaurant, and found the fajitas and Cobb salad to be perfectly fine, if pricey.

Internet was free (at least for us) and was reasonably speedy, and accommodated VPN for accessing US-based streaming entertainment (excluding Netflix, which blocks VPN but which has all of its original content and a decent range of its licensed content in its Swiss version).

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerTH, Director of Operations at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your wonderful review with which you have evaluated your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel. Your comments on TripAdvisor are very important to us and we believe other travelers will also enjoy reading your kind words.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our city center hotel and that you enjoyed the spacious and clean room as well as our facilites present at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel soon again and thank you for your praise and for your recommendation.

Best regards from Lucerne

Louis Achermann
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Checked in here and the staff was pleasant then it went downhill from there.

The hotel including rooms are called non smoking. Well the room they gave us which they call a Suite (a joke for sure) had been heavily smoked in, they must have known it as they used heavy chemicals to try and clean it up. My wife and I are highly allergic to not only smoke but chemical toxins.

Result we checked out and demanded our money back which hopefully was removed from our CC, went to a 5 star hotel down the street which had no issues like this.

My opinion is they lost our trust by putting us in a room that should never be in service as non smoking.

Best tip is avoid this hotel due to questionable business ethics.

the Doctor hit me with some LOVE and a helpful Vote!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DoctorVonCueBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal.

The Renaissance Lucerne Hotel is a smoke-free environment. The smoke-free policy is very important to us and therefore, we only provide rooms in non-smoking condition.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Luzern.


Sincerely,

Marc Lechmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and loved it. Friendly, helpful staff who speak english, clean modern room and convenient to the train station - about 2 blocks and easy to walk with luggage. It's a short walk to the historic waterfront and bridge which we enjoyed very much.
If you are a Marriott/SPG member like me, this was a great use of points. For gold members, the breakfast buffet is included and don't miss it - it was fantastic! Katerina was a pleasure to talk with at breakfast and very helpful. Great experience!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChromeDomeDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceLucerne, Director of Operations at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your wonderful review with which you have evaluated your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel. Your comments on TripAdvisor are very important to us and we believe other travelers will also enjoy reading your kind words.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you felt comfortable in our city center hotel. Moreover we are delighted to see that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful staff and we will share your comments with the whole team as we strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations and to provide the best service possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel soon again and thank you for your praise and for your recommendation.

Best regards from Lucerne

Louis Achermann
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews