We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the heater in the bathroom... basically a six-star hotel!”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I was fortunate to have got a pretty good deal for my four nights in this amazing hotel, it was in fact, the best hotel in my entire two weeks' stay in Europe. The website introduces Des Balances as a four-star hotel, but it definitely is that and muc much more!

To start off, the hotel is definitely NOT a five to ten minute walk from the train station, it would take at least a good fifteen minutes. That said, it can be easily spotted from across the river at the old town. Instead of crossing the Seebruke (main traffic) bridge, I had opted to cross the small little bridge (right behind hotel, turn right upon exiting hotel) next to the Chapel bridge, and proceeded straight to the cross junction right opposite the train station. That way, I didn't have to lug my luggage across the cobblestone pavements, that helps alot especially if you are NOT travelling light.

What I love most about the hotel was the heater/ radiator in the bathroom- I usually dread showers during winter, but the heater made it all better, imagine having a fluffly warmed towel after a nice hot shower! Plus, having a heater in the bathroom instead of in the room itself, would mean it would be less stuffy in the room at night, yet enough to keep warm at nights (if not, the comforters work great too).

Another nice gesture was the vanilla(?) diffuser in the bathroom, made the room home-y and lovely-smelling.

The room is huge by European standards, door opened to a nice little area with a reclining sofa and TV, which leads onto the main room, with the comfy queen-sized bed and ANOTHER TV, wardrobe and all.

Hotel's lobby was undergoing renovations when I was there, but no big issue. Hotel staff was polite, and the property is just beautiful. Restaurant at -1 was a little pricy, and the portions were small, but oh well, you pay for convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kryptful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 606 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here one night, it is very close to the Train Station and is in a great location. The hotel faces the river and the entrance is at the rear. I arrived very late and check in was not wonderful. The girl on reception took a lot of calls and was distracted. The only down side of a late arrival was that there was no dinner service or room service. I would love to stay here if I was travelling there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great location, within walking distance of rail station. The hotel was beautiful, and staff were extremely helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Just loved this hotel.

The hotel itself is a beautiful building, the room is clean and spacious with a beautiful view from our room.

Just spent less than 10mins walk from the main station.

Would highly recommend this hotel to people who is planning to Luzern!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Perfect location, charming, luxurious, great attentive and professional staff, spacious rooms, what more could one wish for??? If you get a good rate do not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,024 reviews
1.3 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.5 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.7 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
958 reviews
0.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: €144 - €330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing