We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$278
View deal
Expedia.com
US$278
View deal
Trip.com
US$339
US$260
View deal
Hotels.comUS$278
PricelineUS$269
Lol.travelUS$339
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,514)
Filter reviews
1,514 results
Traveller rating
920
465
87
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
920
465
87
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town train station mont blanc bridge room service excellent stay lake geneva nice hotel room was large superior room concierge switzerland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,514 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2020

I can see the hotel are renovating starting with their lobby.
The location of this hotel is really good, and the price is fair for such a service.
I would always stay when in Geneva
the rooms are fairly spacious compared to European hotel room sizes

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfhadahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

As we entered the hotel, we were pleased with our choice. Christmas decorations and nice reception area was a good first impression. The receptionist who checked us in was incredibly efficient and provided us with all the information required.
As soon as we came out of the lift to our room the first impressions changed....
We were on the 4th floor, the walls were painted bright blue and gave a very 70's vibe. this really contradicted what we saw in the reception area.
The room was large but very dated but was comfortable.
As this was our last night in Switzerland we treated our self to a spa and massage in the hotel. We were really dissapointed with the spa area. very cold and unwelcoming area.
No staff on site no personal feeling at all. The person doing our massage was from outside so she only turned up at our allocated slot.
The breakfast was cold and not pleasant.
Check out was embarrassing as there was another guest complaining.
from the outside and reception the hotel looks amazing, however the rooms and service need some attention.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ush2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier Collange, Directeur général at Hotel Bristol Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience of the Bristol Hotel Geneva on TripAdvisor.

I deeply regret to read that we were not able to fulfil your expectations; tradition and spirit are the cornerstones of our hotel, which combines, like no other, authentic family spirit with understated elegance.
We finished our renovation this spring; still unique and different, the new decoration marries this timeless elegance to a contemporary sophisticated flair in the public areas (restaurant/bar & lobby).

Should you wish to give the Bristol Hotel Geneva another opportunity to make your stay a great one, I would very much like to hear from you and would take care of your booking personally.

Warm regards,

Xavier Collange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Excellent location, good prices. Decent breakfast for a 4* hotel and friendly staff. Major drawback was the air-conditioning deciding to ignore set settings and heat the room up to a steamy 28C during the night. Had to open the windows (thankfully they did open in my room) and turn it off to get the temperature down to a normal level. A major plus was the Japanese-style toilet!

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnSJKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

This, our second or third visit to the Bristol, was comparatively brief, but highly satisfactory. We were upgraded to an excellent room and all the hotel amenities we used were just as they should be. Reception remains first class. The Bristol is not cheap, but neither is anything else in Geneva, and it is excellently situated. Recommended.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

I had four nights in this hotel and it was a nightmare. The noise was terrible. Breakfast was ok but not at all spectacular. Location of the hotel is nice and next to the train station and lake Geneva.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank chrest2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier C, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Dear Guest,

I am so terribly sorry to read of what a disappointing stay you had and only wish we had known of your dissatisfaction before you left us. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused because of the renovation of our lobby. Works are only running between 9am to 5pm with a break from noon to 2pm and should normally not impact our guests stays but I deeply regret that you heard the noise.
Should you wish to give the Bristol Hotel Geneva another opportunity to make your stay a great one, I would very much like to hear from you and would take care of your booking personally.

Warm regards,


Xavier Collange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews