We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great located hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I have just returned from Geneva Grand Hotel Kempinski.
Great location.
I was in a deluxe double room with separate living area. Very clean nice and quiet room.
Very comfortable beds and bed linen. Delicious breakfasts served on the terrace with wonderful views of the lake.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominika1wroclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 599 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.
Fortunately, I was there for business and not for holiday, otherwise I would have been very disappointed.
Good points: magnificent breakfast with quality and a large range of food at choice, location by the sea and very closed to the centre, lots of amenities available.
Bad points: no mobile connection from my room, big house and very impersonal, standard rooms without any view, mainly business people apart from Arabs on holiday, prostitutes waiting for clients at the bar every evening (!), 35 CHF (28 Euros) for a parking place.
I will go to another place next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Situated in a quiet lane beside the lake and a short walk from the town centre, the hotel offers views of the Jet d’eau with the Swiss Alps as backdrop. Staff was generally efficient and courteous, and were able to meet my early check-in request having arrived after a long-haul flight from India. For some reason a fax confirmed as received the night before I flew in was not traceable upon my arrival, so I spent some time fixing that between my office and the business centre/concierge desk. The box of complimentary choclolates was a nice touch, complimentary bottles of water would also be very welcome. Overall a satisfactory experience, a trifle expensive for the value delivered (which isnt unusual for Geneva) and accentuated by my trip timing around a Sotheby's auction event that weekend which made rooms hard to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anuj_Mithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This Hotel does not care about its guests. I was there with many colleagues none of whom had a good word to say about the place...so it was not just me left quite shocked by this wretched place. Rudeness, indifference and greed are the norm here. Tea in the room 44 swiss francs and moreover they forgot the specifically asked for milk, no tea making facilities in the room, luggage "stored securely" in the hallway by the rear exit for anyone to pinch! One colleague found a shower cap over the smoke detector and their room which was otherwise smelling of smoke! Our room stank of smoke filtering in from the adjcaent room via the locked intercommunicating door. Noisy central courtyard. The wine and tumbler glasses were removed from our room after use and not replaced, loo roll ran out, tv remote does not work, worse still there were two remotes and no info as to which did which! Slow lifts. Check in very slow and totally indifferent.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyInRedKempinski, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. We take all reviews seriously and greatly appreciate your feedback.

We understand your dissatisfaction and have shared your comments regarding the F&B, Housekeeping and Concierge with our Department Heads concerned.

We sincerely apologize for the fact that your experience fell way short of your expectations. We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove to you that we can much better serve you with your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva needs and to welcome you back to our hotel under more favorable auspices.

Best regards,
Guest Relation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We had a very good deal having booked through Jetsetter, otherwise we would not have stayed here.

The lobby is rather off putting with low claustrophobic ceiling and bland colour scheme, as were the unwelcome sleazy stares from the various dirty money loitering about (but then that's just Geneva).

However the rooms are spacious and inoffensive. Wonderful marble bathroom the size of a normal hotel room. Huge, very comfortable bed with quality linen and decent pillows. Well stocked mini-bar. Free wi-fi a BIG plus. Check-in and concierge staff were helpful and efficient. We didn't make use of the pool or fitness facilities but another guest mentioned they were up to scratch. Complimentary pralines were welcomed. Housekeeping quickly provided an iron upon request.

We did find it somewhat disconcerting that everytime we went to our room we had to pass two very imposing, surly bodyguards who were stationed outside one of the neighbouring rooms!

If you can get a good rate and don't object to proximity to dubious money from Africa/the Middle East, go for it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollypollyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyInRedKempinski, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you for selecting The Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your visit and that we met most of your expectations. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of service possible and your invaluable comments help us to reach our goals and serve as an encouragement for our staff.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to The Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

Kind regards,
Guest Relation Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#19 of 109 in Geneva
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 109 in Geneva
671 reviews
Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
#15 of 109 in Geneva
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: €312 - €499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing