We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced low tasty and quality food”

The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar
Ranked #29 of 555 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$101
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wenn Sie Fleisch mögen, werden Sie das BEEF lieben Im Herzen der Berner Altstadt, nur 100 Meter unterhalb der Zytglogge, an der Kramgasse 74 lädt The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar zum gediegenen Dinieren ein. Sei es Swiss Dry Aged Beef, sechs Wochen trocken am Knochen gelagert, Canadian Heritage Angus aus Alberta, Irish Black Angus von der grünen Insel oder Bison aus der weiten Kanadischen Prärie - bei uns kommt nur das beste BEEF auf den Grill.
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Completely overpriced for the quality and taste of food. Business Menue was burned beef Entrecôte, rize without taste and beans and all that for the magic price of CHF 45.--. There are many many better restaurants in Berne. I am quite surprised to see that the restaurant is so booked out. I will definitely not return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Superstar1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social_Media_Gastro, Marketing at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Superstar1902

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to read that you seemed to have had a disappointing experience at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar.

We deeply regret that you found the food was not worth the spend.
You mentioned the price/performance ratio in particular, which we would like to respond to. We believe that our prices are in line with the market and are carefully calculated to sustain our business in the long term. Of course, we will take your criticism with regards to the quality seriously and discuss it with the team to ensure continuous improvement. Perhaps you’ll nonetheless give us a second chance – we’d be very happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

This is a pricey steakhouse (the strength of the swiss franc doesn’t help). The steak was worth it, I would come again and recommend it.

Thank Rudy7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social_Media_Gastro, Marketing at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Rudy7676

We’d like to thank you for the top rating and your positive feedback about our services. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the steak. We look forward to your next visit – see you again soon at the BEEF Steakhouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

During a business trip I was up for a good steak and visited the BEEF. It's a very nice place. The interior resembles an old-fashioned bar in the U.S. and has a great flair. Staff is very attentive and friendly. The menu offers an extensive range of cuts and origins of meat from Switzerland, Irland, Canada, etc.
My steak was good, also the sweet potato fries and the different sauces I orders as sides. Just as one would expect from a steakhouse. As a starter they have sweet chili short ribs, so I couldn't resist to order them. However, they were a bit disappointing... While being boiled for 24 hours, they are afterwards refrigerated and did not came out hot inside, but still cold... Quite a downside...
The place is definitely pricy. The interior and the staff are on par with the prices, but unfortunately the food cannot keep up to the standards - one course as expected, one course cold isn't up to my expectations for this pricing level.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social_Media_Gastro, Marketing at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear JJHamburg

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your steak but regret however that you were disappointed with the short ribs.
We will be using your comments to further improve the guest experience. Thank you for the review and we hope you'll join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Quality meat and service, we enjoy all 4 meals, my hamburger was fine but sort of too complex, I mean over complicated and some clash in terms of cheese competing too much with the meat
Prices are above average

Thank ChilenitoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social_Media_Gastro, Marketing at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear ChilenitoCH

Thank you for the 5-star-review and we're glad to hear that you were very pleased with your recent experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had a table for 6 people-22nd june, tried a lot of items off the menu-fast service- hospitable and professional staff- the food was amazing. I would love to go there again. if you like a nice steak you MUST go there.

Thank AMSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Social_Media_Gastro, Marketing at The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Amsea

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent visit to The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed the service and your meal to such extent. We will make sure to share your kind comments with the entire team. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to The BEEF Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing