We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
135
156
52
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
156
52
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station helpful with restaurant recommendations hotel conveniently located parliament building breakfast bar nice hotel in a great location makes a difference old town hotel lobby is breakfast room air conditioning great business casino parking swiss style croissants reasonable size nespresso coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel conveniently located in center of Bern is Swiss perfection (staff, service, rooms) at its best. Like a Rolex watch everything is well designed, functional and absolutely reliable. I highly recommended it for business travel and leisure alike.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank rrs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baerenbern, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for this review and the compliment about our quality. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards Carla Tichelli & Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This is a nice, small, quaint hotel in a great location. It's right in town center and close to the train station. The room was not big but a decent size. The bathroom was big. The room was very clean and quiet. We were on the top floor so our room had rooftop windows, which was a bit strange but fine. It had rolling blackout shades. Coffee and bottle water were provided. The hotel staff was so nice and friendly. Answered and accommodated all our questions and requests before and during our stay. I definitely recommend staying here while visiting the beautiful town of Bern!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank okidoki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We had two rooms. My husband and I shared a rooftop room with a skylight and air conditioner but no mini fridge. Our children had a lower floor room with no air conditioner but with a fridge and microwave. ...So all the rooms have different features and you may wish to request a room that has the specific feature you want.
Anyway, the rooms were clean and nice. There was all day free water, coffee, hot chocolate and tea in the lobby. One day there was even free ice cream. The hotel was located near all the beautiful attractions of Bern such as the clock/shopping area and Einstein museum. We loved leaving the hotel and stepping right into the vibrant farmers market where all types of cheese, vegetables, fruits, baked goods and even crafts and clothing were for sale. What we really appreciated most about the hotel was the helpful, friendly staff at the front desk. That really makes a difference!! We highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suntravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baerenbern, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear guest, thank you very much for your visit and this great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. I will also pass on the compliment to our front desk team. Kind regards from the city center of Bern
Carla Tichelli & Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Nice small hotel in excellent location. Our room was a very reasonable size - modern and clean. However for a 4* hotel there were a few things missing:-

- Our room was not airconditioned - it was cool while we were there but during one of Europe's frequent summer heat waves it would be quite unbearable.

- No mini-bar - ice was available on another floor - but I can't remember the last time I ever stayed in a hotel without a mini-bar (fridge). On a positive note there was a Nespresso machine.

- Shower over the bath - slippery and water sprayed over the whole bathroom

- The breakfast (included in our room rate) was definitely not 4* - more what I would expect in a 3* hotel.

Keep in mind there is no parking - you can strop in front of the hotel and drop your bags then parking is at the casino about a 10 minute walk away and 28 CHF overnight.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baerenbern, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear guest, thank you for your visit and this feedback. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the room size and the clanliness. In February 2019 our last construction work will be finshed and then all of our rooms have air condition.
We have some rooms with minibar and some without. On request we put a minibar in the room. We have a limited choice on the Bernese breakfast buffet but all products are fresh and from the region.
Kind regards from Bern Carla Tichelli & Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We wanted a hotel fairly close to the train station in Bern and found Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz to be an excellent choice for the 4 of us in two rooms. The beds were comfortable and the amenities in one room worked for us all so that we could bring in some food and occasionally eat in that room. Breakfasts in the lobby area were extra but tasty with many choices. We also played cards in that area in the evening and had a drink now and then. The young women on the front desk spoke very good English since we don't speak German. And my daughter did a couple loads of clothes wash which was helpful since we travel with carryons only. We spent 5 nights. We traveled via the trains from Bern to Luzern to Geneva. Excellent Swiss train system.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank raye649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baerenbern, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and this great words about our Hotel. We are delighted that you had a good stay at the Hotel Bären am Bundesplatz. Kind regards from the city center of Bern Carla Tichelli & Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews