We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rosti and liver dish”
Review of Hasenburg

Hasenburg
Ranked #62 of 788 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$22
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Altstadt
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Very friendly and we walked there specifically for the beef liver and rosti which we had heard about. Good draught beer. Our hotel had given us transit passes to we took a tram back to our hotel

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MtDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We came after we were recommended the restaurant by a friend and we were not disappointed. I had the rosti with sausage and gravy and my wife had the rosti with cheese. Both were really incredible. My only quibble is that the service was lacking and the atmosphere upstairs was a little non-existent.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tokyorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

What a lovely, friendly place.
And the food is excellent. It was a chilly, rainy evening when we stumbled in to this one-room restaurant & bar. They made us feel right at home.
Don't miss the Rosti (pronounced "rosh tee"). Best potato pancake in the world.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BillMiller_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Spend an evening here after I failed at some other locations. Was very pleasantly surprised by the great food and good atmosphere. Can recommend the venison and the zwickel beer on draft!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Jeroen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

In an 800 year old building we had a fantastic meal. The waitress was great and the owner Irma spent about 45 minutes with us. She is from California and has been here for 21 years. I had the gerilote and it was delicious and very filling.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JANET V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hasenburg also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Hasenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing