We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
5
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2015

We loved our stay at Auf dem Wolf B&B for many reasons. Helga, our host was friendly, charming, and incredibly helpful. Upon arrival she sat us down with maps and showed us exactly how to use the trams and buses to reach all our destinations. (Basel zoo is excellent) A terrific bonus is FREE transportation all over Basel with a card from the B&B. The stop is a short walk and the public transportation is fantastic: Safe, fast, frequent, and well marked. Helga directed us to excellent restaurants where the locals dine. Her breakfast was very good with an array of marvelous home made jams. Comfortable bed in our "Africa" room with nicely themed decor. A nearby park included a wonderful long hiking trail along a fast moving creek where we loved taking extended walks with her exuberant dog, Bailey. Not to be missed is the other part of the family business: the stained Tiffany type glass workshop and showroom is part of the premises. They make fabulous works of art in stained glass that one cannot resist. Many pieces adorn the large lovely garden in back of the B&B We do hope to return!

Room Tip: A bit more privacy in downstairs rooms. All have a different interesting theme. Ours was the "Africa" room with appropriate decor.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The most cozy hotel I have ever experienced. I stayed at the B & B Auf dem Wolf, St. Jakob during Baselworld 13' and have enjoyed the home feeling. The rooms have its own names and design. I was for those 4 nights in "America". From the house is only 7-10 minutes walking distance to the tram which gets you into the city in 15 mins. Perfect surrounding for morning jogging in the botanical park.The owner Helga is very kind and the most hospitable person. Also from her you can get a master class on Tiffany glass art!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The lady was very friendly and gave us many good tips and fed us very well for breakfast. She spoke very good English and lived kn Canada for a short while. It was easy to get around Basel with the bus a short walk away. The rooms were adaquate in size and we were free to use the ultra modern kitchen if we wished to have an extra snack. There is a shopping mall a short walk away. Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a very good B&B. It is a bit out of the centre of Basel, but the tram takes you there rather easily, and you get a free public transport card anyway when staying in a hotel in Basel.

We had two double rooms, they were very light and airy, and has everything one needs. The house itself has a good atmosphere. The breakfast is very good. There is a very nice garden and a great terrace (so also good for those who still smoke).

The biggest asset is undoubtedly the host, she is extremely welcoming and hospitable, and will get out of her way to arrange things for you; in fact she arranged for my son's "lost" watch to be home delivered after our return; and always spotted a caffeine-deficit in need of replenishment.

What could be improved is the common bathroom: It is on itself good, but the toilet is together with the bath, so one cannot really take a bath since one would occupy the toilet too long for other guests. Also, I did not like the pillow, but I am very particular about that; and prefer a more dark room but again that is me.

For us it was not a problem at all, but if you do not like dogs this is not a place for you (even if it is only 1, it is rather present). Also, you have to be able to climb stairs in the house (but there is also a small studio where it is not necessary) and from the tram to the house, which was ok with us but perhaps not for other visitors.

I (and my husband, son, mother) would definitely like to stay here again!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews