We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schweizerhof Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel D - Basel(Basel)
US$149
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Spalentor Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
DASBREITEHOTEL(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$166
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Victoria(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorint An der Messe Basel(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rochat(Basel)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
736
106
23
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
106
23
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverleading hotels of the worldcigar roommichelin starturn down servicea river view roomrooms are beautifulclassic hotelmemorable staymodern amenitiesfavorite hotelcomplimentary mini barjunior suitewonderful hotelbreakfast buffet isupon checkold town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in room 111 which turned out to have a great balcony right on the river Rhine. It was snowing outside so did not spend any time out there, but on a nice warm night it would be a great area to spend time with a bottle of wine. The hotel has a long history and wonderful service from the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having chosen our historic hotel with a young heart for your stay in Basel and for your kind words reviewing it.

It is a great pleasure to read that you valued the central location as well special ambiance and attentive yet personal service at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois. Your fine description of our rooms with terrace overlooking the Rhine river is highly appreciated and we hope that those beautiful memories will last for some time.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back and to pamper you again. In the meantime we are sending you our best wishes.

Warm regards

Tanja Wegmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

This is a must be Hotel full of history. Excellent Breakfast and charming Bar with on the river terrace. Very kind personnel.
Located centrally close to all walking distance landmarks.
On my list of places to go back to.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank gabrielbJ2380JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear gabrielbJ2380JN

Thank you very much for having chosen our historic hotel with a young heart for your stay in Basel and your kind words reviewing it.

It is a great pleasure to read that you valued the great location in the city centre of Basel and are happy to learn that you appreciated our sumptuous breakfast buffet, our attentive yet personal service and our charming Bar on the banks of the Rhine River.

Hopefully we are having the honour to welcome you back in the near future in order to spoil you once more with all that the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois has to offer.

Best regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

I spent a short weekend escape with my sister in this beautiful hotel and it was an extraordinary experience, from the arrival to the departure. We were warmly greeted by Mr. Matthias, who introduced us with Mrs. Adele in a very professional and particularly elegant way into the different areas of the historic palace. Our room had a nice view over the old town and all the confort you know from international 5 star hotels, from the timeless decoration and the flower we were given at check-in (what a nice gesture!) to the welcome muffins and high-end bath amenities. For breakfast Mrs. Cardoso was awaiting us with a big smile and freshly baked croissants, a lovely way to start into the day. It has been a short but wonderful retreat in a venue that is incredible in its architecture and outstanding in the quality of its service.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FromGermany2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Hotel Les Trois for your weekend escape with your sister and for sharing the experience made with those lovely words of yours.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us where you felt utmost comfortable and enjoyed the atmosphere as well as our professional yet personal and attentive service throughout the hotel. Your kind words are our best motivation in continuously striving to improve our quality.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon for another wonderful retreat. In the meantime, we send you all our best wishes from our historic hotel with a young heart!

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

This is an excellent hotel, with a deservedly high reputation; slightly retro in style, but comfortable throughout and with outstanding views from rooms overlooking the river. From check-in onwards the staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast was very good, and there are two high quality restaurants.

Room Tip: Best views on north side (facing river)
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bullivant039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Guest

It is an honor to read your compliments and your admiration for the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois and we thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that our historic hotel with a young heart spirit has entirely met your expectations in every aspect of the pride and value that we are striving in providing our guests a truly remarkable experience during their visit.

Your recommendation is a much-appreciated recognition and we feel privileged that the Grand Hotel Les Trois is the one place to stay for a visit in Basel. Rest assured that we pass on your motivational words to our team.

We look forward to making your next stay unique and hope welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Love this hotel. You feel like royalty upon check in. My favorite hotel in Europe. It is close to best restaurants and shops. The hotel lobby bar is gorgeous and the perfect way to spend relaxing evenings overlooking river and listening to piano player.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesTroisRois, Manager at Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Wendy

Thank you very much for having chosen our historic hotel with a young heart for your stay in Basel and for your kind words reviewing it.

It is a great pleasure to read that you valued our central location as well as the special ambiance and attentive yet personal service at the Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois. Your recommendation of our Bar and Lobby with live piano music overlooking the Rhine River is highly appreciated.

We sincerely hope your royal stay remains memorable for a long time and that we may welcome you back at the shore of the Rhine River very soon in order to create some new experiences. Until then, we send you our best wishes.

Warm regards

Reto Kocher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews