We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
476
180
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
180
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town the bus minute walk welcome drink wonderful garden honor system garden view main road recommend this hotel public parking great shower excellent hotel by foot comfortable room the breakfast area the hotel staff stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. This is my second stay here and I’ve already recommended it many times. We have friends who live in Basel who have also started to recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Dear Sue
It gave me great pleasure to read your kind words regarding your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommended us many times. Please rest assured that I will share your kind words with the entire team.
We would all be very pleased to have you as our guest again soon. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if you have any questions or if we can be of any further assistance.

With best regards from Basel
Michaela Maria Nazarek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Nice hotel , near to the old city and in a quiet place
All persons are kind and lovely, breakfast is excellent with fresh products
You really feel at home, the only negative point is the size of rooms and bathrooms even if they are weel equiped
But for sure, if we come back to Basel we will come back to this hotel

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmelBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear AmelBen
Thank you very much for your kind review. We as hotel always use any kind of feedback to improve the quality of our service.
We are fully aware, that some of our rooms are smaller than the "standard" in other countries or categories. That is why we match this "disadvantage" with the best service possible and those little things you mentioned (a free drinks, free Wireless-LAN Internet, different pillows choice and of course our relaxing garden).
We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel on your next trip to Basel.
Kind regards,
Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Location closeby city center & tramway - perfect for city tour.
Pleasant personnel. Comfortable Room.
Very good continental breakfast.
Public parking 100m away 20 chf/day.
modern room equipment - tv from 5 countries.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Olivier C

What a friendly review for us to receive, thank you so much! We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at Steinenschanze Stadthotel and would recommend us to other readers here.

Our team works hard to provide you with a seamless experience from the check-in to check-out, it's great to hear we succeeded when you visited us. We are glad you liked your room, the facilities of the house and the location.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in future.

Best regards
Michaela Maria Nazarek
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Basel before and had to change our regular Hotel because it was full. Great as it turns out. This Hotel may not look like much from the outside but is nice within. Very friendly staff, very good breakfast, great quality of bed, linens, towels. Coffee machine in the rooms. Bathroom is the only small negative point as it is tiny

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tazibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear "tazibu"

Thank you very much for your kind review. We as hotel always use any kind of feedback to improve the quality of our service.

We are fully aware, that some of our rooms are smaller than the "standard" in other countries or categories. That is why we match this "disadvantage" with the best service possible and those little things you mentioned (a free drinks, free Wireless-LAN Internet, different pillows choice and of course our relaxing garden).

We are looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel on your next trip to Basel.

Kind regards,

Michaela-Maria Nazarek
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Fabulous staff. Nothing too much for them and so very helpful. Hotel is exceptionally clean and modern. Rooms have everything you need. Requests are never too much for the lovely people here. Early departure and well looked after for very very early breakfast. Breakfast is worth including as it’s great! Welcome drink every day and honesty bar if you require another. Never had that in a hotel before!

Location excellent.

My only further requirement would be if they served lunch and dinner as I can imagine it would be excellent like everything else and the breakfast room and garden are just lovely. However you’re minutes away from all shops and eating places.

Will be returning next year for sure!
Not one single problem or miss communication. Everyone is lovely, helpful, friendly and eager to make sure you’re looked after.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ednavickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenschanze, Manager at Steinenschanze Stadthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Edna
It gave me great pleasure to read your kind words regarding your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments regarding our staff made me especially proud! Please rest assured that I will share your kind words with the entire team.
We would all be very pleased to have you as our guest again soon. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if you have any questions or if we can be of any further assistance.
With best regards from Basel
Michaela Maria Nazarek
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews