We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
73
156
77
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
156
77
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river a small balcony overlooking old town across the bridge river view room there is no air conditioning free soft drinks excellent position hotel restaurant walking distance loved this hotel the room was nice boiled eggs hotel guests breakfast was delicious city centre public transportation
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I would not class this as four star - I would state 5 - superb! The service from this hotel was absolutely sublime! The staff were VERY helpful day and night! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in Basel. I loved this hotel and will be going again. Thank you Basu and all staff for a remarkable stay :)

Room tip: All rooms are worth it
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 163n9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Riverside views can make up for the rest

I was in Basel for one overnight for business. I didn't pay much attention and followed a colleagues recommendation to book the Merian.

Website and entrance door proudly declares four star status. Do not be fooled by that. I have stayed at Ibis Hotels that were better equipped than this, especially at the near USD200 per night price point.

Interior deco is worn out 1980s style glam. Reception is dark and unwelcoming. Rooms are so hot in summer that fans are provided. Opening the balcony window is not really an option given the riverside insects and noise from the restaurants below. Car parking is difficult to access and I had to physically move five bicycles out of the way.

Overall, avoid this hotel. It is definitely in dire need of a refresh. By background I am a heavy business traveler and have experienced all major global chains and boutique hotels across 40 countries.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Peterson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Really nice and charming hotel
Location is great, close to amenities
The welcome is perfect and the breakfast is nice
Room is ok and clean
Standard can be better for a 4 stars hotel though
Machine to clean shoes at every level - much appreciated!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jeremylt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in one of the best spots of Basel, facing the Rhin (obviously rooms with a view are more expensive). Room in comfortable however for this type of hotel shower is tiny and it does not have air conditioning which in summer can be a problem and I can see that for some noise can be a problem since rooms are not sound proved.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank morenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. We arrived about midnight after many flight delays getting from London to Basel and were given a nice room with a great view over the river. The location is excellent with the old city just over the bridge and good public transport by tram and bus. With the river in flood and traffic over the bridge, external noise was considerable, but the room was quiet with the windows closed. The room might get rather warm in hot weather with no air conditioning. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. The tariff was relatively high for a B&B hotel but OK for Switzerland.

Room tip: Ask for a river view and higher floor (should be quieter).
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews