We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
506
82
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
82
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairy tale tower room castle grounds truffle hunt watch tower castle stay century tower awesome stay wine tour modern traveller two nights umbrian countryside large bathroom breakfast room spiral staircase amazing hotel went above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This is a superb castle. Our family came here in August 2018 on holiday. The views are magnificent, the food is excellent and the staff are fantastic. Castello di Petroia is magical! There is also a good swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DrRichardWilsonOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The castle is out in the country with nothing around but peace and quiet. Staff was very friendly. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. I definitely recommend a meal there. Get something with veal if you enjoy veal.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank njmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

This is definitely a very interesting place and a top-notch hotel in terms of its service. We were greeted by a very friendly and professional lady who carried my huge and heavy suitcase all the way up to our room (poor woman!) and then took the time to give us a tour of the castle, sharing some interesting facts along the way that really improved our appreciation for the history of the place. Later on we had a fantastic dinner in the restaurant which was really excellent value compared with many other places in Umbria. I wish I remembered the name of our waiter because he was really something out of this world. He did not make a big deal of himself at all but somehow ended up being my favorite part of the whole dinner - even though the food was incredibly delicious and the restaurant itself is stunning. He also recommended some of the best red wine we have had in a long time.
As for the lodging, they have done a great job of preserving (and partially imitating) the historical furniture of the castle. This meant sleeping in a very hard, uneven and slanted bed. My husband kept rolling towards me because the bed was slanted towards my side, and my hip and shoulder were aching the next morning from laying on the side on the hard mattress (I am 30 years old and I generally do not have aches and pains in the mornings).
In conclusion the overall experience was very good, but due to the bed being what it was we did not have a good night's sleep which is something you do hope for when booking an alleged high-quality accommodation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights & enjoyed the stay . The Castello is off the road & there is a very narrow windy road to it & the car parking is limited to some extent . The staff were very helpful & we ate there every night as i didn't fancy driving back in the dark . The Pool was nice to sit by & the castello had some wonderful views . We had a slight problem paying the bill as they insisted on putting it through contactless ??

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

This property is separated from any major or minor city and is within short distance from Gubbio, and other beautiful tourist attractions.

While Lucia was wonderful and helpful, this place fell very short of our expectations. The rooms are relatively recently renovated but are poorly decorated and appointed - feeling barren and cold. Upon arrival, we were greeted by staff who did not offer to take our bags. I was forced to carry two large (25-30/lb per bag) pieces of luggage up 2 minor flights of stairs and through the corridor to the elevator and room. There were also renovations occurring upon arrival (power tools, dust, extension cords, loud noise, etc.) of which we were not notified prior to arrival. The WiFi barely functioned (think 56k dial-up), there was black mold on the walls (which was promptly cleaned upon notification), and minor plumbing issues which we experienced.

The breakfast is pretty poor, especially by Italian standards (think bitter coffee, stale pastries, and runny eggs). For approximately 250 USD per night, we expect and deserve more.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello d, Proprietario at Castello di Petroia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Matthew S.
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay. Castello di Petroia is located close to the medieval town of Gubbio, as you wrote, and a short drive (30 minutes) from other cities, like Perugia and Assisi.
The Castle bedrooms have been constantly renovated during the last 15 years, and you chose to stay in the beautiful Suite Imperiale dellla Sfera Armillare, one of our best Suites – with a nice view over the countryside and a large bathroom with a Circular Jacuzzi for 2 persons.
You reach this room by an elevator, which brings you to the second floor, where the Suite is located. We are in a medieval Castle, so to reach the elevator you need to do some steps - 6 to be precise.
My staff is always more than happy to help all guests with their luggage, but you kindly declined.

The Wi-Fi in this Castle is available at the speed of 6/8mbps.

We are very careful about the standard of cleanliness in all our rooms, so we do apologize for the inconvenience you found in the bathroom. We took care to clean it right away after your reporting.

The breakfast buffet has a selection of: handmade cakes, fresh seasonal fruit, fresh bread from the local bakery, Umbrian cured meat, Umbrian cheese, fresh vegetables, boiled eggs (upon request – scrambled as well), handmade jams, dried fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juices and of course coffee, cappuccino, tea. We are sorry that this variety was not sufficient for you and you considered it poor.

We hope you can get the chance to visit us back one day and experience the Castle restaurant, where you could have felt like a real Lord for one day.

Thank you again for having been our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews