We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
199
13
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssarah and salinfinity poolwonderful hostsself cateringumbrian hillslocal knowledgeplaces to visitcow sheda wonderful holidayother guestsamazing viewsindoor dining areahighly recommend a stayhalf hour driveperfect italianexcellent advicelovely daughter
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Our journey started at stanstead, flying to Ancona. From there, we collected our rental car (which was really easy) and started the hour long drive to La Cuccagna. The drive up to Gubbio was beautiful. What a stunning landscape.
I was expecting the drive to be a little precarious as I knew the agriturismo was up in the hills, but it wasn't. The roads were wide, quiet and well sign posted.
On arrival at la cuccagna, Sarah was there to meet us, with a big welcoming smile! We knew instantly that we had picked the right place to come on holiday! The panoramic view from the pool area is just stunning, as it is from all the communal areas. We were staying in the family apartment, which was a lovely size. The double bedroom upstairs has the most comfortable bed of all time and a nice space for a travel cot too. Downstairs has a beautiful bathroom and a kitchen/dining room with everything you need.
Breakfast was served in the new communal dining room and consisted of lovely croissants, homemade condiments, cereals, meats and cheeses. Sarah also makes the best fig jam!!!!
Throughout our stay here Sarah and Sal could not be more helpful. At breakfast, Sarah always gives excellent advice to maximise your trip, recommending routes and restaurants. Listen to her! She knows her stuff!
My husband and I were travelling with our 10 month old son and unfortunately he was quite poorly near the start of our stay. Sal, without hesitation, accompanied us to the nearest hospital. He sorted everything out, translating all the Italian for us and made sure we had everything's we needed to get our son well again. It made a very stressful situation manageable and we can't thank you enough Sal.
Other than our unscheduled trip to hospital, we had a relaxing, cultural and fun holiday. The weather was wonderful and the grounds of la Cuccagna are beautiful.
Trips I would recommend are Gubbio, Montone, the organic wine tasting and Spello. All these places are about a half hour drive from la Cuccagna. (No scary roads!) Sarah always recommends where to park!
There is no doubt that we will be returning to stay with Sarah, Sal and their lovely daughter. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucklepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we thank you for your very complimentary review. We really enjoyed meeting you and having your company here at La Cuccagna. It's always such a pleasure seeing our guests enjoying our home, Umbria and all this area has to offer. There is so much more for you to see and do so we really hope to see you again very soon.
Very best wishes, Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We have stayed at La Cuccagna on a number of occasions and have loved every minute of each visit. Our first stay - some years ago - was in La Stalletta, while our son and his girlfriend did B and B in the farmhouse. The accommodation, the views, the pool, the pizza nights, the home made jams and olive oil and Sarah and Salvatore's hospitality are second to none.More recently we have stayed in La Cisterna - an ingeniously converted out-house, with the world's best shower! It's a great spot from which to visit amazing Umbrian towns and the local restaurants are good too. The ambience is peaceful and provides for separation and socialising - around the pool, at Sal's pizza nights and at breakfast. We'll be back this year!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _wakefieldhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We so enjoy your visits and are looking forward to the next one already. We are so pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us but it makes it extra special when they come back again and again. As well as visiting your favourite places every time you come, you also always manage to still find new places to see and things to do. It's also such a pleasure to have your company at our pizza nights - everyone always seems to have a good time!
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Beautiful setting in a fabulously renovated typical Italian villa with infinity pool. Amazing views over the Umbrian countryside, very friendly welcome. Sarah and Sal will look after you and make sure you get the most out of your holidays with ideas for day trips and eating out. Great homemade breakfasts too!

Room Tip: There are rooms to suit all needs: ensuite with kitchenette, simple double bedrooms with ensuite bathroom, two floor apartments...
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Many thanks for your nice review. We're so pleased you had a fabulous holiday and enjoyed La Cuccagna so much, it was a pleasure hosting your family. We enjoy giving tips so that guests can make the most of their stay and we're pleased you saw so much of Umbria. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have just had a wonderful stay at La Cuccagna, Sarah and Sal are amazing hosts and the property and surrounding villages and towns truly beautiful. We traveled with our 4 month old baby and they were so kind, helpful and knowledgeable. Which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable trip. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loobylu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your gorgeous little girl was such a delight. You always seemed so relaxed and you proved that having a 4 month old doesn't stop you from enjoying all that Umbria has to offer. We are so lucky that we enjoy guests of all ages here, each and every one of whom adds to our ever growing and thoroughly enjoyable experience of running La Cuccagna.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had not been to Umbria or La Cuccagna before, and we were not sure what to expect during our 10 day stay. What we received was beyond brilliant: a very, very warm welcome from our wonderful hosts, Sarah, Sal and their great assistants; amazing food; fabulous views; and new friends. We stayed in La Staletta, which is a separate restored stable building with 1 bedroom and kitchen, set back from the pool and main B&B. It was extremely clean and roomy with a very comfortable bed and everything we needed to make our own meals (one day with Sarah and Sal's yummy tomatoes). We met very nice people during the communal breakfasts on a terrace with wonderful views over the Umbrian hills, and ate at excellent restaurants recommended by our hosts. We were lucky enough to enjoy the pizza night (weather dependent) with our friends who were also staying and Sal made us and the other guests a huge variety of the best pizza we have ever tasted, using local ingredients. This is not a snobby, "high end" pamper palace - it is the real Umbrian countryside with the best of all it has to offer. Highly recommended. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It always gives us such great pleasure to hear that guests have had such an enjoyable stay with us at La Cuccagna. We feel lucky that we always have such lovely guests and how we enjoy sharing our home with so many fun and interesting people. We were pleased we were able to host the birthday celebrations for you and that you all really enjoyed pizza night. We looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews