We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another return visit and La Cuccagna gets better and better”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #2 of 36 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We enjoyed a lovely 3 days at La Cuccagna again this year. We were a little later in May than previous visits and the weather did not disappoint. Sal and Sarah have been working very hard again over the winter and are now offering a super indoor dining area overlooking the beautiful Umbrian hillsides.
We visited Spello this time and I can't believe I hadn't been before on previous trips to Umbria - this little hillside town was an absolute delight with the smell of Jasmine wafting from every narrow street and courtyard.
Our plans to walk up Mount Tezio did not materialise (again!!) but that's just an excuse for us to come back again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in La Cisterna, which offered a small kitchenette which was very useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlSpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is always so lovely to see you here at La Cuccagna and we're so glad you enjoyed yet another stay with us. Spello is indeed a delight and there are still plenty more places for you to discover and things to do for many more return visits. We hope to see you soon and that Monte Tezio is conquered next time!
Very best wishes, Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

Our journey started at stanstead, flying to Ancona. From there, we collected our rental car (which was really easy) and started the hour long drive to La Cuccagna. The drive up to Gubbio was beautiful. What a stunning landscape.
I was expecting the drive to be a little precarious as I knew the agriturismo was up in the hills, but it wasn't. The roads were wide, quiet and well sign posted.
On arrival at la cuccagna, Sarah was there to meet us, with a big welcoming smile! We knew instantly that we had picked the right place to come on holiday! The panoramic view from the pool area is just stunning, as it is from all the communal areas. We were staying in the family apartment, which was a lovely size. The double bedroom upstairs has the most comfortable bed of all time and a nice space for a travel cot too. Downstairs has a beautiful bathroom and a kitchen/dining room with everything you need.
Breakfast was served in the new communal dining room and consisted of lovely croissants, homemade condiments, cereals, meats and cheeses. Sarah also makes the best fig jam!!!!
Throughout our stay here Sarah and Sal could not be more helpful. At breakfast, Sarah always gives excellent advice to maximise your trip, recommending routes and restaurants. Listen to her! She knows her stuff!
My husband and I were travelling with our 10 month old son and unfortunately he was quite poorly near the start of our stay. Sal, without hesitation, accompanied us to the nearest hospital. He sorted everything out, translating all the Italian for us and made sure we had everything's we needed to get our son well again. It made a very stressful situation manageable and we can't thank you enough Sal.
Other than our unscheduled trip to hospital, we had a relaxing, cultural and fun holiday. The weather was wonderful and the grounds of la Cuccagna are beautiful.
Trips I would recommend are Gubbio, Montone, the organic wine tasting and Spello. All these places are about a half hour drive from la Cuccagna. (No scary roads!) Sarah always recommends where to park!
There is no doubt that we will be returning to stay with Sarah, Sal and their lovely daughter. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucklepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and we thank you for your very complimentary review. We really enjoyed meeting you and having your company here at La Cuccagna. It's always such a pleasure seeing our guests enjoying our home, Umbria and all this area has to offer. There is so much more for you to see and do so we really hope to see you again very soon.
Very best wishes, Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We have stayed at La Cuccagna on a number of occasions and have loved every minute of each visit. Our first stay - some years ago - was in La Stalletta, while our son and his girlfriend did B and B in the farmhouse. The accommodation, the views, the pool, the pizza nights, the home made jams and olive oil and Sarah and Salvatore's hospitality are second to none.More recently we have stayed in La Cisterna - an ingeniously converted out-house, with the world's best shower! It's a great spot from which to visit amazing Umbrian towns and the local restaurants are good too. The ambience is peaceful and provides for separation and socialising - around the pool, at Sal's pizza nights and at breakfast. We'll be back this year!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _wakefieldhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We so enjoy your visits and are looking forward to the next one already. We are so pleased when guests enjoy their stay with us but it makes it extra special when they come back again and again. As well as visiting your favourite places every time you come, you also always manage to still find new places to see and things to do. It's also such a pleasure to have your company at our pizza nights - everyone always seems to have a good time!
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Beautiful setting in a fabulously renovated typical Italian villa with infinity pool. Amazing views over the Umbrian countryside, very friendly welcome. Sarah and Sal will look after you and make sure you get the most out of your holidays with ideas for day trips and eating out. Great homemade breakfasts too!

Room Tip: There are rooms to suit all needs: ensuite with kitchenette, simple double bedrooms with ensuite bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Many thanks for your nice review. We're so pleased you had a fabulous holiday and enjoyed La Cuccagna so much, it was a pleasure hosting your family. We enjoy giving tips so that guests can make the most of their stay and we're pleased you saw so much of Umbria. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have just had a wonderful stay at La Cuccagna, Sarah and Sal are amazing hosts and the property and surrounding villages and towns truly beautiful. We traveled with our 4 month old baby and they were so kind, helpful and knowledgeable. Which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable trip. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loobylu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totom6, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your gorgeous little girl was such a delight. You always seemed so relaxed and you proved that having a 4 month old doesn't stop you from enjoying all that Umbria has to offer. We are so lucky that we enjoy guests of all ages here, each and every one of whom adds to our ever growing and thoroughly enjoyable experience of running La Cuccagna.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
14.8 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
6.5 km away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
566 reviews
18.4 km away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 36 in Gubbio
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bed & Breakfast Casa La Valle
22.3 km away
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
#19 of 36 in Gubbio
67 reviews
8.9 km away
B&B Puntabella
B&B Puntabella
#26 of 36 in Gubbio
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range: €70 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing