We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Cuccagna”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #3 of 36 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We have just spent an amazing week at La Cuccagna with my son, daughter-in-law, her parents, grandson and husband. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Sarah and Salvatore are the best hosts and made the holiday one of the best we have had. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the pizza night is definitely not to be missed.
Thank you Sarah and Salatore for a lovely holiday and a hug for your lovely daughter, Rosa.
Bob and Glenda Oxley

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It was lovely to meet more of the family and we are so glad you all enjoyed your stay so much - we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to La Cuccagna with Sal & Sarah!

We flew to Rome which was a much better journey than Bologna with beautiful scenery for the entire trip &it was so easy!

We arrived at La Cuccagna with both sets of Parents (one of which came with us last year) & our toddler! Upon arriving we were greeted by Sal & Sarah as if we had only seen them last week & not that a whole year had passed since our last visit, hugs & kisses were exchanged like old friends!

The parents were taken to the main house for tea & coffee whilst checking in whilst my husband & I bundled into La Stalletta & made ourselves completely at home! The fridge was stocked with fruit, apple juice, coffee & milk & the shelves were full of tea, sugar, salt & pepper. We had stopped at Mary's store in Casa Del Diavolo on our way so were we perfectly prepared for our first few evenings.

The pool & views were just as amazing & beautiful as we remembered last year & my MIL was silenced by how wonderful it was, especially as they wanted a calm & tranquil holiday!

Sarah is still a wonderful source of information & nothing is too much trouble. She arranged for us to visit many restaurants during our stay & gave us perfect directions each time. Sal's home made Pizza night was excellent & very enjoyable with the other guests who were all so very nice.

We had some wonderful weather however going to La Cuccagna is not about weather for us, it is about the relaxation, the food, the wine & the company!

I can't recommend La Cuccagna enough, it truly is a beautiful place, with gorgeous views, a fantastic family to welcome & look after you & who want you to enjoy every minute of your time there & experience the Umbrian way of life!

Needless to say we have already booked our return visit for 2014! Let the countdown begin! Only 365 days to go, which is far too long!

Thank you Sal & Sarah for such a lovely week xxxxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again - and for bringing more of the family with you this time!

We're so pleased you enjoyed your days out but it was also lovely to see you all enjoying the grounds and having relaxing days by the pool at La Cuccagna.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from our second visit to la Cuccagna - already planning our third! Excellent rustic accommodation. Amazing location. Fantastic local restaurants. Welcoming and helpful hosts. Feel very at home here. Only wish that you could fly there from Birmingham and then would be able to go at the weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Many thanks for your nice review and for choosing us for a return visit. It was an absolute pleasure - again!

We look forward to your next visit and making more recommendations for beautiful places to see, things to do and wonderful restaurants for local dining experiences.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just spent the most enjoyable week at La Cuccagna. This simple B& B, situated on an Umbrian hillside, boasts wonderful veiws of the surrounding countryside and is ideally placed for an assortment of day trips or a lazy day by the well -maintained pool.

Sarah and Sal are most welcoming and made our wellbeing their priority, advising on places to visit ,with directions and even maps provided,and places to eat , with reservations made for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the festival at Gubbio and the car rally in Assisi and all our meals out were superb.

The continental breakfast was notable for the homemade preserves, especially the apricot. I'm afaid their stocks of the latter are rather depleted but the apricot season is not far off and more will be made to add to the strawberry, plum, fig and citrus - all delicious!

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable and the peace and tranquility made La Cuccagna the perfect place to recharge our batteries after the longl winter.

Room Tip: All the rooms have small differences, but are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole_RSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.

It was lovely to meet you both, you were such a pleasure to host and the other guests really enjoyed your company.

You will be pleased to know that we made a fresh batch of apricot jam a few days ago so there will be plenty waiting for you for a return visit! (We also made a batch of delicious cherry jam yesterday using cherries freshly picked from our trees and a local recipe passed down through several generations).

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband booked La Caccagna for the first part of our honeymoon a year and half ago. I desperately wanted to go to Italy and was hoping for a truly amazing honeymoon. It was only a half hour drive from Perugia airport and Sarah and Sal had provided us with directions to La Caccagna before we left, which were spot on and the drive was very pleasant. We arrived to a very warm welcome and the place just took my breath away, I couldn't have wish for a more picturesque location! Their attentiveness and local knowledge truly enhanced our experience as we took their the advise on which surrounding cities to visit, which churches to see and most importantly where to eat!! Not only did they advise on where to eat but happily made the reservations too. We were not disappointed and couldn't wished for a more perfect week. We truly had a wonderful time, so much so that we returned with our parents this May 2013. Once again we were not disappointed, the weather this time round was not so perfect but for us the well deserved break was! We truly felt at home and comfortable, it was more like staying with close friends than at a B&B. We cannot wait to return to this 'little piece of paradise'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon at La Cuccagna and so pleased to see you both again this Spring.

It is always a pleasure to help our guests with suggestions and recommendations which hopefully add to the experience of being in this special part of Umbria.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
14.8 km away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
18.4 km away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 36 in Gubbio
339 reviews
22.3 km away
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
Bed & Breakfast Il Rivo
#19 of 36 in Gubbio
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bed & Breakfast Casa La Valle
7.1 km away
Tenuta Borgo Santa Cecilia
8.9 km away
B&B Puntabella
B&B Puntabella
#25 of 36 in Gubbio
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range: €70 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing