We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
200
13
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sarah and sal infinity pool wonderful hosts self catering umbrian hills local knowledge places to visit cow shed a wonderful holiday other guests amazing views indoor dining area highly recommend a stay half hour drive perfect italian excellent advice lovely daughter
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to La Cuccagna with Sal & Sarah!

We flew to Rome which was a much better journey than Bologna with beautiful scenery for the entire trip &it was so easy!

We arrived at La Cuccagna with both sets of Parents (one of which came with us last year) & our toddler! Upon arriving we were greeted by Sal & Sarah as if we had only seen them last week & not that a whole year had passed since our last visit, hugs & kisses were exchanged like old friends!

The parents were taken to the main house for tea & coffee whilst checking in whilst my husband & I bundled into La Stalletta & made ourselves completely at home! The fridge was stocked with fruit, apple juice, coffee & milk & the shelves were full of tea, sugar, salt & pepper. We had stopped at Mary's store in Casa Del Diavolo on our way so were we perfectly prepared for our first few evenings.

The pool & views were just as amazing & beautiful as we remembered last year & my MIL was silenced by how wonderful it was, especially as they wanted a calm & tranquil holiday!

Sarah is still a wonderful source of information & nothing is too much trouble. She arranged for us to visit many restaurants during our stay & gave us perfect directions each time. Sal's home made Pizza night was excellent & very enjoyable with the other guests who were all so very nice.

We had some wonderful weather however going to La Cuccagna is not about weather for us, it is about the relaxation, the food, the wine & the company!

I can't recommend La Cuccagna enough, it truly is a beautiful place, with gorgeous views, a fantastic family to welcome & look after you & who want you to enjoy every minute of your time there & experience the Umbrian way of life!

Needless to say we have already booked our return visit for 2014! Let the countdown begin! Only 365 days to go, which is far too long!

Thank you Sal & Sarah for such a lovely week xxxxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and for coming back to stay with us again - and for bringing more of the family with you this time!

We're so pleased you enjoyed your days out but it was also lovely to see you all enjoying the grounds and having relaxing days by the pool at La Cuccagna.

We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just returned from our second visit to la Cuccagna - already planning our third! Excellent rustic accommodation. Amazing location. Fantastic local restaurants. Welcoming and helpful hosts. Feel very at home here. Only wish that you could fly there from Birmingham and then would be able to go at the weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benj_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Many thanks for your nice review and for choosing us for a return visit. It was an absolute pleasure - again!

We look forward to your next visit and making more recommendations for beautiful places to see, things to do and wonderful restaurants for local dining experiences.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just spent the most enjoyable week at La Cuccagna. This simple B& B, situated on an Umbrian hillside, boasts wonderful veiws of the surrounding countryside and is ideally placed for an assortment of day trips or a lazy day by the well -maintained pool.

Sarah and Sal are most welcoming and made our wellbeing their priority, advising on places to visit ,with directions and even maps provided,and places to eat , with reservations made for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the festival at Gubbio and the car rally in Assisi and all our meals out were superb.

The continental breakfast was notable for the homemade preserves, especially the apricot. I'm afaid their stocks of the latter are rather depleted but the apricot season is not far off and more will be made to add to the strawberry, plum, fig and citrus - all delicious!

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable and the peace and tranquility made La Cuccagna the perfect place to recharge our batteries after the longl winter.

Room Tip: All the rooms have small differences, but are equally attractive.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole_RSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.

It was lovely to meet you both, you were such a pleasure to host and the other guests really enjoyed your company.

You will be pleased to know that we made a fresh batch of apricot jam a few days ago so there will be plenty waiting for you for a return visit! (We also made a batch of delicious cherry jam yesterday using cherries freshly picked from our trees and a local recipe passed down through several generations).

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband booked La Caccagna for the first part of our honeymoon a year and half ago. I desperately wanted to go to Italy and was hoping for a truly amazing honeymoon. It was only a half hour drive from Perugia airport and Sarah and Sal had provided us with directions to La Caccagna before we left, which were spot on and the drive was very pleasant. We arrived to a very warm welcome and the place just took my breath away, I couldn't have wish for a more picturesque location! Their attentiveness and local knowledge truly enhanced our experience as we took their the advise on which surrounding cities to visit, which churches to see and most importantly where to eat!! Not only did they advise on where to eat but happily made the reservations too. We were not disappointed and couldn't wished for a more perfect week. We truly had a wonderful time, so much so that we returned with our parents this May 2013. Once again we were not disappointed, the weather this time round was not so perfect but for us the well deserved break was! We truly felt at home and comfortable, it was more like staying with close friends than at a B&B. We cannot wait to return to this 'little piece of paradise'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebony143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We were thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon at La Cuccagna and so pleased to see you both again this Spring.

It is always a pleasure to help our guests with suggestions and recommendations which hopefully add to the experience of being in this special part of Umbria.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed for a long weekend with a friend in October 2012. We flew into Rome and travelled up for another long weekend at La Cuccagna. The welcome was fabulous and our hosts couldn't do enough for us. The weather was not fabulous with quite a lot of rain, but we had some wonderful trips to the local old monastery and Gubbio. All in all a relaxing weekend and we'll be heading back this year - perhaps a little earlier in the season.

Room Tip: I've only tried the rooms on the pool side, but both are very good. The room with a door to the patio is perhaps my favourite.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlSpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We were so pleased to have you with us again last October, you are always such delighted guests and a pleasure to host.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews