We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$150
View deal
Hotels.com
Trip.com
US$145
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.comUS$178
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
256
193
39
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
193
39
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on 22-24 August 2019. We booked the suite a month ago from the hotel webpage at €145/night.
The hotel is located just 5 mins walk under trees shaded road to basilica Di Santa Chiara, 10mins to Chiesa Nuova Casa di San Francesco (house of st Francis) and 20mins to basilica di San Francesco. Lots of restaurants and some convenient stores near by Porta Nuova gate.
Not sure how many suites the hotel has but we we given room 9, a hidden room down the corridor. The suite was huge! A living room, a sinking room, a pantry (no cooking allow), a quite reading corner, a huge 5x4 meters bathroom and a bed room good to accommodate 3 single beds, and a balcony with stunning 240 degree view of the valley and hills!
The shower was absolutely wonderful with strong water pressure with a sun roof window too! What’s more, you can have a waterfall experience in the shower! Oh, not to forget there’s a tv in the bathroom too.
Breakfast was sufficient with some home made cakes and cookies aside.
There’s near by pay car Parks around the hotel. But would strongly recommend to pay €15 a day to park in the hotel itself, which includes all consumption of the mini bar.
Amenities available: electric kettle, a huge fridge as mini bar, hair dryer and basic toiletries. Wifi available.
Susanna who checked us in was wonderful and knowledgeable in giving an overall guide to Assisi.
Would definitely return to this hotel if I come back to this corner of the world.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank noelloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaffPortaNuova, Reception at Hotel Porta Nuova, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Dear Mr Noel, Thank you for your fantastic review!
Your review makes us very happy, thank you for choosing our Hotel Porta Nuova. We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel
Best regards,
Hotel Porta Nuova Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and found it to be a good value.

We at first were taken to a room on the left side of the hotel. It was small and dated. We were fortunately immediately upgraded to a room on the right side of the hotel which was spacious and recently renovated. Apparently the rooms on the right side of the hotel are the renovated ones. Best get one of the renovated rooms when booking.

Breakfast was adequate with standard cereal, pastries, and sweets. There is a coffee machine for coffee or tea.

The location is excellent within easy walking distance to the historic center. Some attractions are, however, distant and require taking a bus or taxi.

Overall, we would recommend the Porta Nuova especially if you get one of the renovated rooms. The staff is attentive and helpful and we would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 598vancez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

very confortable and warm bedrooms; the local is excelent - just near the portal to the old city; the breakfast is wonderful and all the team working in the hotel treats you as if you are a princess/prince

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We liked the reviews for the Porta Nuova because of several things and we were pleased with it in all areas. We’d come from Rome, having rented a car at the airport, and since it was our first time driving in Italy we wanted to, 1) avoid driving in Rome, and 2) have a guaranteed secure parking space for the car. The Porta Nuova was easily accessed with parking right outside the door, located just outside the gates of Assisi. Our remodeled main floor room was quiet, clean, air conditioned, comfortably furnished and the valley view was incredible. Breakfast was good but a bit limited. We were given helpful information about sites, churches and mass times at the front desk. We walked. Uphill and down. A lot. We aren’t in great shape but we walked to churches, the basilica of St Francis, the Éremo delle Cárceri- big uphill climb- and restaurants, as well as the castle, the Rocco Maggiore. As we hiked uphill each new view seemed to surpass the last. We were there for 3 nights which was a good length of time to spend in Assisi; overall we were awed by the history, and the peace and spiritual tranquility of Assisi itself as well as in the surrounding region. We left San Damiano and the basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli (and the Poziuncula) for the day we left.

Room tip: We requested a superior remodeled room with a view and we were very happy with room 44!
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JMarie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 October 2018

GPS in Europe often has trouble finding places on hills so beware that it may require talking to the locals to find. But once you do you are treated to a nice accommodation with clean rooms run by a friendly staff that is just a short walk to the Assisi city gates. Parking and breakfast are extra but well worth the expense. They are flexible on leaving your car beyond check out time to afford more touring of the city. Assisi itself is a peaceful, medieval fortress city that is both deeply religious and romantic with many great restaurants hidden among the crannies of the city. A bit hilly, the walk throughout the city can be a challenge for some, but cars need a special permit to enter for any length of time.

Room tip: no elevator and two flights of steps to the second floor
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews