We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$128
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$128
Hotels.comUS$128
PricelineUS$128
eDreamsUS$128
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
167
135
33
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
135
33
15
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The location is excellent with amazing access to all holy sites and the city-at-large. The hotel itself is nice enough, with decent rooms and a rooftop seating area. Breakfast was plentiful and decent, BUT... after breakfast there is NEVER anyone around at the central desk to ask questions or seek advice for a restaurant or special outing or directions. And, if you dare to come back to your room mid-day BEFORE they have cleaned, they just won't clean and will leave the cleaning cart outside your room. Comfortable, but just strange to not have anyone to communicate with.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone M, Direttore at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Customer, thank you for leaving a review, but .... after breakfast it is impossible that there is nobody in the Hotel, maybe the person from the reception had moved away momentarily, the Hotel has only 7 rooms is almost a big one home. If he has taken advantage of the breakfast someone has served it. If you have seen the cleaning trolley outside the rooms, the person will have left there to go and clean another room, since she has returned to her room. And surely as soon as she has gone out her room has been cleaned. I'm sorry that you were so cruel as to give a score that we certainly do not deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Great one night stay for our family. The views from our room were lovely and we watched a thunderstorm from the roof. The staff was friendly and helpful with our bags up to the upper floors. We didn't realize that if you are sleeping within the city limits you could drive in to drop off bags, but were given better directions for when we left.
Comfortable beds, radio provided, nice shower, and accommodating staff.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sdawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Great location to visit Assisi. Staff was very nice and rooms very clean. Breakfast in the morning was light but all one really needs. Note - the hotel does not have staff on site. When you arrive at the front door there is a note directing you to another hotel around the corner to check in. They were very friendly and able to get us reservations in a local restaurant that evening.

Room tip: Assisi is such a quiet town at night, I can't imagine any room would be noisy!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kckMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We stayed at the Alexander Hotel for 5 nights from 18th May 2017.
The hotel is very well placed to visit everywhere in Assisi by foot,(the terrain is not suitable for people that find walking difficult) it is virtually in the centre of Assisi,and quite quiet,we had a beautiful view from our room looking down the mountain across the olive groves and on to the plains,the view also took in the basilica of St.Clare.
There are no lifts in this hotel so you have to climb stairs to your room,help was offered to carry our cases up,we carried them up ourselves.
The room was large enough and the bathroom clean,there was tea and coffee in the room.
The receptionist Anna was lovely very friendly,very helpful,and really did make our stay a pleasant one.
The breakfast was continental and adequate,there is a roof top terrace which has quite a few tables and chairs and breakfast although we didn't use it would be a fantastic start to the day with a 360 degree view of Assisi.
There are no shortage of cafes,bars and restaurants,within easy reach.
The hotel is only manned from around 8am until 2.0pm you get you own front door key,to come and go at will,if you are checking in after this time you have to check in at their sister hotel which is just round the corner.
The bus stop is right there on the main road,and you can go right round Assisi takes about 40 minutes and costs about 3 euros.Nice way to relax and take in the sights after lunch.
If you want to know how much it costs to get from Perugia airport to the centre of Assisi and the Alexander hotel, it cost me 40 euros one way and it was worth it.
This was just a wonderful trip.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Arrived to find a closed hotel with a note telling us to check in at a nearby hotel. Staff did not appear in the hotel until the next morning so none of the advertised services were available. 3 flights of stairs with bags. A clean simple room with few amenities and a nice view of Assisi. Decent bathroom. An air conditioner that did not cool the room but barely worked by blowing air directly at the bed, with little choice between too hot or too cold. Extremely hard and uncomfortable bed. Minimal breakfast buffet in a cramped and ugly room. Our least favorite hotel in Italy after eight trips and probably 25 hotels.

Room tip: The room for families on the third floor is the biggest and has the best views.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi68, Direttore at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer you.
As reported on the various internet sites for the evening arrivals we need to be warned, we have two hotels close to each other about 20 meters, sometimes we move to the other hotel to check in but our customer service However, it is guaranteed 24 hours a day. If you had warned our staff we would have called for the air conditioning technician, in fact the day after we were reported the problem and we settled in a few hours. The breakfast room is adequate to the rooms of the George, 7 rooms, I'm sorry that breakfast was not suited to its needs but as you will notice there is everything, salty sweet fruit and celiac products, 3 types of juices etc. ... certainly not a 5 star breakfast but also the room rate is different .... Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews