We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
157
129
24
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
129
24
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace no elevator front door key love hotel flights of stairs perfect location the upper floors checking in degree view room was large basilica of st the bus yogurt valley luggage keys clare
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Great location to visit Assisi. Staff was very nice and rooms very clean. Breakfast in the morning was light but all one really needs. Note - the hotel does not have staff on site. When you arrive at the front door there is a note directing you to another hotel around the corner to check in. They were very friendly and able to get us reservations in a local restaurant that evening.

Room tip: Assisi is such a quiet town at night, I can't imagine any room would be noisy!
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kckMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We stayed at the Alexander Hotel for 5 nights from 18th May 2017.
The hotel is very well placed to visit everywhere in Assisi by foot,(the terrain is not suitable for people that find walking difficult) it is virtually in the centre of Assisi,and quite quiet,we had a beautiful view from our room looking down the mountain across the olive groves and on to the plains,the view also took in the basilica of St.Clare.
There are no lifts in this hotel so you have to climb stairs to your room,help was offered to carry our cases up,we carried them up ourselves.
The room was large enough and the bathroom clean,there was tea and coffee in the room.
The receptionist Anna was lovely very friendly,very helpful,and really did make our stay a pleasant one.
The breakfast was continental and adequate,there is a roof top terrace which has quite a few tables and chairs and breakfast although we didn't use it would be a fantastic start to the day with a 360 degree view of Assisi.
There are no shortage of cafes,bars and restaurants,within easy reach.
The hotel is only manned from around 8am until 2.0pm you get you own front door key,to come and go at will,if you are checking in after this time you have to check in at their sister hotel which is just round the corner.
The bus stop is right there on the main road,and you can go right round Assisi takes about 40 minutes and costs about 3 euros.Nice way to relax and take in the sights after lunch.
If you want to know how much it costs to get from Perugia airport to the centre of Assisi and the Alexander hotel, it cost me 40 euros one way and it was worth it.
This was just a wonderful trip.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Arrived to find a closed hotel with a note telling us to check in at a nearby hotel. Staff did not appear in the hotel until the next morning so none of the advertised services were available. 3 flights of stairs with bags. A clean simple room with few amenities and a nice view of Assisi. Decent bathroom. An air conditioner that did not cool the room but barely worked by blowing air directly at the bed, with little choice between too hot or too cold. Extremely hard and uncomfortable bed. Minimal breakfast buffet in a cramped and ugly room. Our least favorite hotel in Italy after eight trips and probably 25 hotels.

Room tip: The room for families on the third floor is the biggest and has the best views.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simi68, Direttore at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer you.
As reported on the various internet sites for the evening arrivals we need to be warned, we have two hotels close to each other about 20 meters, sometimes we move to the other hotel to check in but our customer service However, it is guaranteed 24 hours a day. If you had warned our staff we would have called for the air conditioning technician, in fact the day after we were reported the problem and we settled in a few hours. The breakfast room is adequate to the rooms of the George, 7 rooms, I'm sorry that breakfast was not suited to its needs but as you will notice there is everything, salty sweet fruit and celiac products, 3 types of juices etc. ... certainly not a 5 star breakfast but also the room rate is different .... Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Only about six rooms but very clean and very friendly. Inside the town walls so save yours legs getting about. Restaurants close by are cosy, family businesses selling really good food at good prices. Also the best patisserie in Italy just round the corner.

Room tip: There is no lift
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Small hotel with a lot stairs, but good size rooms and bath. Friendly staff (part time) and helpful with parking, getting us plain yogurt for breakfast, and moving our room to a lower floor. Still, it seemed a little shabby for the price, but Assisi is expensive. Great location in town, right near main square.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews