We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,819)
Filter reviews
3,819 results
Traveller rating
2,228
1,171
297
67
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,228
1,171
297
67
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace bar free parking seventh floor great hotel inside the city walls deluxe room economy room tuscan countryside front desk staff hotel restaurant piazza del campo within the walls minute walk beautiful view old city loved this hotel bottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 3,819 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful four night stay at Hotel Athena in mid-September

We chose the Athena because of a combination of very good guests reviews, its location (at edge of city center and within pleasant walking distance of all attractions), and the availability of free parking without worry of straying into the ZTL limited traffic area.

We followed the Hotel’s recommendation to BOOK DIRECTLY with them for best rates and also LIKED their Facebook page. Following their occasional FB postings in the few months leading up to our arrival, gave us a nice feel as if we were return guests vs complete strangers.

Our booking, on line, had included a reservation for both a Deluxe with view room and an Executive room…..the four nights had been split like that, simply because of availability that showed at the time. I followed that up with an email asking to stay in the same room all four nights and got a prompt reply back that we would.

Our wedding anniversary was the first night of arrival at the Hotel Athena. I mentioned that in the booking and we ordered a bottle of Prosecco for that day as part of our reservation request.
Not only was the chilled bottle waiting but so was a special romantic display of swans (special towels) and chocolates on the bed. Very nice. We were given an Executive room (large) with a fabulous view…..room 710 (even number rooms 708 and higher are great….below 708 you might have the 7th floor terrace bar close to you).

The room had floor to ceiling french style windows that could be fully swung open with railings protecting you so it looked and felt just as if you we on a balcony. We could never grow tired of the view since you could see for miles over the Tuscan countryside if you looked just to the right, or a view to the old city wall and skyline jut to your left.

This Executive room was very spacious with lots of storage. We also enjoyed the small but fine features like the LED lighting strips within the wardrobe….great idea. The front desk personnel were very kind, for us most especially Beatrice, and would take time to suggest restaurants to match your wants and to call for reservations for you (very important is some cases) .

Breakfast was fine with lots of selection. Some things would be a matter of personal taste as to whether you were a fan of how the eggs were prepared (for example....and there were always hard boiled eggs too) so some people may like the breakfast more or less than at other hotels...but there is a lot of choice. The breakfast room could be a little chaotic if you arrived just when it was a full house such as when a bus group was there and everyone tended to have to come at the same time since they were on a schedule. However, with a little patience as you queued, especially for one of the two coffee machines, you were fine. My husband thought the coffee the best of our trip…..it takes a bit of time to deliver the custom product you order by pushing the button for such things as Cappuccino or Espresso or Caffe Americano…and more, so expect to wait.

We enjoyed the ten to fifteen minute walk to get to different attractions……several restaurants start already within a five minute walk and they are some good ones. The CAMPO area is a MUST for people watching and perhaps an Aperol Spritz in early evening. DO take a guided walking tour organized by the Tourist Office near the Duomo……our eleven am walking tour included one hour INSIDE the Duomo and one hour walking the area and learning all about the traditions of the PALIO races and the rivalry amongst the CONTRADE neighborhoods.

We spent two other days with excursions using our car…..one day to the old hill towns of VOLTERRA and SAN GIMIGIANO……another visiting the wine towns of Montepulciano and Montalcino, along with Pienza in between to taste its famous Pecorino cheese. Both days easily done out of Siena and another reason we were happy to have parking at Athena for our rental car.

Hotel Athena is a perfect choice for you to enjoy Siena and fine comfort when it is time for you to relax.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms on high floors have the view....lobby is on level 5 so you really want to be higher than that. Our Exec 710 was terrific
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEDISKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you MEDISKIS for having choosen us to celebrate your wedding anniversary! We all are positively impressed by your long and detailed review! Your really made our day! We are very grateful you booked your executive room directly and for having followed us on Facebook before your arrival!
We hope you will have the chance to visit us again for your next year's anniversy or even earlier!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Italy for one month in September and stayed in 12 hotels (rated 3 and 4 stars). Of the 12 there were 4 that I rated a 5 but Hotel Athena was the best of all 12.
We only booked for one night (wish we could have stayed longer) and booked an Economy double room. This room was very comfortable and had tea/coffee facilities, free soft drink and water in the mini bar, a comfortable bed, air-con, an iron and ironing board on request, a compendium/hotel services guide, hairdryer and good shower.
Check in was extremely friendly and professional with everything properly explained. Parking is free and was very easy.
The hotel is located just inside the city walls and a short, beautiful 10 minute walk to Piazza Del Campo (the main square).
The breakfast (included in our room rate) was also the best that we had in Italy.
We didn't try the restaurant for dinner but we did watch the sunset with a Negroni each and free snacks up on the rooftop terrace. Fantastic views over the countryside and a must-do if staying at the hotel. In good weather they serve dinner up there from 7:30. They were just setting up as we left.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. Great value for money, great facilities and fantastic staff.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExplorerGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Guests,
it is a great pleasure learning from you that the Athena is the best hotel of the 12 you stayed in! We are so proud and we thank you for your excellent review!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel as part of Italian Adventure Honeymoon and overall, we were not disappointed! I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's one of the best I have stayed in.

Pro's

Great location. Only 2 minites walk into the centre of Siena which is beautiful.

Fabulous views of Siena countryside. This was the best view i have ever had from a hotel room. The hotel had given us  a free upgrade to a  7th floor executive room with a view as part of our honeymoon, which was very good of them.

Fantastic staff who are very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Con's

The breakfast was disappointing. There is the usual selection of cereal, pastry and fruit plus scrambled egg and bacon. We stayed in four different locations during the week and this breakfast ranked 3/4. The scrambled egg was very average at best. For a hotel that has it all, we expected better of the breakfast. 

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cmspkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear honeymooners,
thank you for your review and for writing nice words about us! We are sorry you did not like the breakfast even if the buffet is very rich, pleanty of homemade items and 0 km products. Do not hesitate to write us in private to inform us which is the perfect breakfast for you!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

GOOD Location. On site car parking clean rooms and roof terrace for a drink.

BAD A lot of sound coming from other people rooms ie bathrooms runnig water all night .walking around as rooms have tiled flooring and corridors as very thin carpet so do sent deaden the sound .so if you are a light sleep don't stay here.

Breakfast is very poor cold eggs and tasteless food and no service.Also want to charge you for them cooking you a egg or fresh juice
Would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dorisdog2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback even if we are sorry you had some bad impressions. Probably you were a little bit unlucky with your sleepless neighbors, however as regards the breakfast, other reviews speak about an excellent and rich buffet, probably your tastes are different...
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We can only give a 10 out of 10 recommendation for the Athena Hotel in all aspects regarding our stay. The room was quiet and peaceful and very comfortable with everything we needed ... and more. We loved the tea, coffee, biscotti, chocolate on the bed, special toiletries and bottle of complimentary red wine (which was excellent). The breakfasts were a culinary delight and of the highest quality. The staff was highly professional, helpful at all times and very friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend the Athena Hotel which was definitely the best of the four hotels we stayed in during our cycling trip around Tuscany (and they were also of a very high standard). Thank you for making our stay in your beautiful city of Siena such a memorable one.

Room Tip: All you could ever wish for!
Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAthenaSiena, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Athena, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Gail,
let us thank you for your excellent review! You really made our day and made us very proud! We are always glad when cyclists and trekkers come to visit our beautiful city, because we really believe in a sustainable and original turism, especially in a region as the Tuscany and in small towns like Siena!
Therefore, do not miss the the Gran Fondo Strade Bianche at the beginning of March (3rd , 4th and 5th) with departure and finish line to Siena. It is a great event a cyclist as you are cannot miss!
Regards,
Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews