We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location is all”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If you want somewhere reasonably priced and perfectly located in the old part of Siena, then this is the place for you. It is near the bus station and shops, restaurants and a very good supermarket.

Plain white walls and simple rooms are quite a basic decor. The breakfast room is difficult to find and has no windows. Breakfasts are just about adequate. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms seemed to be quite large and clean but there are no baths, only showers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    184
    171
    61
    20
See reviews for
81
201
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a two star hotel, and with that in mind, I guess it was okay. The staff were making an effort to make the stay pleasant, the room was clean and the staff were helpful. But there is no AC, which was dreadful (30+ degrees outside), no sound proofing, so it was very noisy, and the breakfast was very simple. The location is central though, and the staff showed us were to park for free (15 minutes to walk from the hotel). We would not stay here again, and learned to keep away from two-star hotels. But if you are in Siena at a cooler time of year, and don't mind a bit of noise, it is okay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The good thing about this place is definitely the location - right in the heart of the historic centre, just a heartbeat from the sightseeing delights of Siena. Everything else is pretty ordinary, even by 2 star standards. The building is obviously very old, and maintenance has not been high on the agenda. Rather than old world charm it exuded old world decay. Single beds pushed together (like a lot of Italy) rather than a double/queen. No hairdryer, but sockets so antiquated that our European-purchased travel dryer plug did not fit. The normally uninspiring Italian breakfast was even more dreary here and, oddly, a lot of the 'crockery' and 'cutlery' were plastic. Could not work out what that was about. Overall the price was high for very little.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kathryn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had no problems with my stay here--the staff was helpful, my room was very spacious, everything was clean, and the hotel itself has a quite a bit of charm, as it is quite old (dressed up with rustic lace curtains, dark wood furniture, etc.) No AC, but there was a ceiling fan. No elevator, but it's doable, and the staff will help you out. Overall, it's a very good two-star hotel, excellent for the value. The location is ideal--it's easily walkable from the train station, and Piazza del Campo is just a few minutes away on foot.

I found this hotel to meet all of my needs, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I will be returning with a friend in a few weeks for my second stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USofArugula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I understand prices are high for Il Palio. This hotel is clean, safe, and the staff are pleasant & helpful. Personally, though, I wish I had paid more to have AirCon, more sound insulation and a shower that didn't leak water into the room and hallway. We were also in one of the smallest rooms they had. I chose poorly for my expectations. For less demanding folk, it's a great budget option.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfaMikeTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 km away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#31 of 40 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#30 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Cannon d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Cannon d'Oro

Property: Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Address: Via Dei Montanini 28, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Cannon d'Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Cannon d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Cannon d`Oro Hotel Siena
Albergo Cannon d Oro Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing