We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gracious and serene facility”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Katoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a gracious and serene facility”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This 12th century Rennaissance Antique Mansion, the former home of a nobleman, is now a 2 storey restored hotel on a cobbled street in the historical town centre.The rooms as very spacious and fitted with modern furniture. Bathrooms are large, well ventilated, light and bright..
In an end room on the 2nd floor, the room opened with french doors onto a balconey with expansive views of the Cathedral (Duomo) and Siennese hills. Such a romantic atmosphere sitting on the balconey at sunset sipping a red wine! A hearty breakfast is served in room on the the lower level which has exposed brick work and wooden beams. Reception staff were most welcoming and helpful. The free WIFI was not so efficient with some difficulty with connection. This is a conveneint location for walking to all the major places of interest and in close proximity to wonderful retail leather, silk and ceramic outlets. There many interesting eating places around plus small deli's for those gourmet treats.The Hotel Duomo is the perfect site from which to explore Sienna.

Room Tip: I would suggest that all 20 rooms would be quiet in this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    553
    172
    31
    13
See reviews for
307
522
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I spent 3 night at this very unique hotel. We had a room on the top floor which opened up on to a balcony. For what we paid the value was tremendous...very affordable! Oh yes a terrific view. The owner, Alejandro, was so friendly and appreciative. We made the reservations from the US. Everything was as promised!

Warning: There is a beautiful church nearby which was quite confusing when looking for the hotel. Same name...Duomo! Take a cab! Do not take a rental car to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night while on a business trip to the city. The staff were very friendly and made checking in and out very easy. The breakfast was very good and the service at breakfast was excellent.

The room was good nice big tv (shame no english channels), nice bathroom. comfortable bed, lots of room and two windows (corner room of building. Views from windows included the tower and the cathedral and the Tuscan countryside.

Had a very comfortable stay. Only downside was some noise from adjoining rooms but this is down to loud occupants not anything else.

Would recommend to anybody.

Room Tip: Corner room was very good (room 51)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian3Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Simply the worst. It looks like in Italy, the hotel are having different Star in the same hotel.
If you are looking for tranquility and nice rooms dont go there. At least we had most probably the worst rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Customer,
We do not understand your criticism, and we think it's due more to personal problem rather than a real one. As can be seen from other reviews on this page, Hotel Duomo offers maximum comfort and relaxation for guests.
In this case, however, I cannot really see eventual deficiencies in the provision of comfort and quality, distinctive features of the Hotel Duomo.
If the room not responded to your needs, we would have proceeded immediately to replace it according to demands. Our priority, in fact, is to offer an excellent service to ensure a pleasant journey to our visitors, as the opinions of other customers, on this same page, evidence of such behavior.
We hope to be able to welcome back to our hotel, to give you an unforgettable vacation in Siena.
Greetings from Hotel Duomo
Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel Duomo is close to the Il Campo parking lot, which came in handy since we arrived by rental car. They were very courteous and the room was clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We stayed in room 52 and it had a good view of the Duomo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbbutler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,225 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,418 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,262 reviews
1.4 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
657 reviews
0.8 km away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing