We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Italian dream come true.”
other traveller has booked this property
Montecastelli Aerial View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready Swimming Pooll
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Montecastelli Aerial View
Dinner is ready
Swimming Pooll
Cortyard
Frantoio Room 1
Bathroom Frantoio Suite
Frantoio Kitchen
Suite Frantoio
Moraiolo1 or Frantoio 3
Bathroom Leccino
Kitchen Leccino
Leccino Bedroom
Your Host
Our own organic Primo Olio
Our own Lardo al Rosmarino
Wine Cellar
Lavender
Admiral Butterfly in Montecastelli
Serving meal
Cooking Class
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Siena, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Donna C
Madisonville, LA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Italian dream come true.”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely perfect!
Villa Montecastello lived up to every dream I ever had of staying in a Italian villa.
The place is beautiful. Perfect in everyway.
Jens was so knowledgeable. Extremely helpful and such a wonderful chef.
I would certainly recommend staying here and would stay here again on future returns to IT.
Thanks Jens and his wonderful staff!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjodyp
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We called it "perfect" in our calendar - and it lived up to expectations”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Villa Montecastello is a superlative experience. It is an amazing cross between luxury and family - on the one hand, you arrive into a perfectly appointed suite, complete with fresh flowers from the garden and linens that I wanted to bring home with me - and on the other, you immediately feel a part of Jens's and Barbara's family. The views are spectacular, the food impressive (for a small additional fee, you can arrange meals at the Villa), and the service impeccable. Particular thanks to Antonella, who runs the inn, who could not have done a better job at making this a special stay. I am already trying to figure out how I can get back for my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickyflor...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect tuscan vacation and wedding”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a week at Villa Montecastello in early September with both of our families to celebrate our wedding.We found it online and didn't have the chance to see it before the wedding but it was just as perfect as on the pictures and in the other reviews. The villa is so beautiful, everybody loved it. And Jens and Barbara were really welcoming and helpful. They made it so easy for us, we didn't have to worry about anything. The wedding dinner and the flowers provided by them were amazing. They also recommended a wedding planner and a band that were really great. We had the best time and all our guests were really happy and relaxed. We have the best memories of that week and want to go back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area, the villa, the food, the personal service
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPerini
Rockville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Second Visit - Just as fantastic as the First”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second trip to Montecastelli - and Jens and Barbara were wonderful hosts again. I just can't think of a better location in Tuscany. It's central location in Monteriggioni gave us easy access to Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Cortona, the entire Chianti region, San Gimignano, Volterra, etc.

The villa is simply spectacular. Well appointed rooms and sitting areas, dining options in the courtyard, beautiful views from its location on top of a large hill, pool... it literally is a perfect location for family reunions, bike trips or just touring Tuscany.

One of our favorite things is - despite all of the great food and wine throughout Tuscany - having one or more dinners prepared by Jens and his staff. Jens is an incredible chef. We've had four dinners there - each different and each leaving a lasting memory. We also got a tour of Jens' olive processing operation (he has the BEST olive oil in Tuscany), his meat curing room (it smelled so fantastic that I had to ask if I could sleep in there but he wouldn't let me) and his extensive vegetable gardens.

The villa is air-conditioned throughout - and that is a wonderful thing as many villas in Tuscany do not have air conditioning. The group on this trip was comprised of 7 of us who were touring Tuscany on bike. The A/C was very nice indeed.

All in all, perfect location, perfect villa and wonderful hosts. Thank you Jens and Barbara!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jens, Barbara and his staff are simply fantatsic hosts.
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljbecker
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular way to rejuvinate your soul!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were incredibly astounded when we walked into our apartment. It was beautifully decorated and charming. We arrived late in the evening and did not shop for food for the stay. Jen was so kind to share his homemade ravioli and olive oil. What a tasty surprise. The kitchen had all the amenities and appliances needed.
Jen and his family were very gracious and accommodating and we are already planning our next trip. We only stayed for 3 nights but will definitely plan a full week or more next visit. The Villa is in the country and the views are outstanding and within driving distance for day trips anywhere.

Thank you Jen and Barbara for making my 50th so memorable. We will be back soon!

Jeff and Lana

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, beautiful scenery, easy day trips, large and exquisite apartments
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing