We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two best meals in Siena”

La Taverna di San Giuseppe
Ranked #1 of 521 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$58 - US$104
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to have your two best dining adventures in Siena, go twice to this gem. Proprietor Matteo has the magical gift of making each table in this 12 table restaurant feel special. The quality of the food, the spot on service and warm charm of this small eatery complete the package. Great wine list where Matteo guided us to unique choices. Believe the hype - this restaurant is that very special!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Direttore generale at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Grazie Barry, ogni parola un’emozione. Siete la forza del nostro ristorante e la passione che ci trasmettete si sente nell’atmosfera della Taverna. Un forte abbraccio da tutti noi e alla prossima. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (7,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 7,926 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loves everything about dinner. Staff food and atmosphere. The pappardelle was beyond good. A must!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank robweb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Direttore generale at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Grazie Rob, un sogno leggervi. A presto, un caldo abbraccio da tutti noi. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

This place was awesome! The experience from start to finish was so great. The menu has a wide selection of food and you can tell the servers and staff know the menu well. I ordered and they actually recommended I add another dish to balance it out. We finished with dessert and it did not let down. Even the house wine was amazing. The inside is cute and strung with lights in an old brick building and it’s not far from the main piazza. Highly recommend this place for families, date night, or even a solo trip.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Alyssa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Direttore generale at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2021
Google Translation

Grazie Alyssa per i bellissimi complimenti. Il vostro affetto c8 avvolge e ci fa lavorare bene con passione. Un grande abbraccio e a presto. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

Best Wild Boar Dish I've ever tried, Dumbings for Primi also very tasty. Nice cellar inside, very friendly waiters and owners

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 304lukase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Direttore generale at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2021
Google Translation

Grazie 304lukase, bellissimi complimenti. Vi aspettiamo presto e vi salutiamo con calore. Lorella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2021

Where do we begin? I'll be totally honest, I can't recall how or why I learned about this restaurant but we are SO GLAD we did. This was our favorite meal of our trip after almost 2 weeks in Italy.

Luca is an absolute gem and took the best care of us. We had the burrata, truffle gnocchi, lardo steak, and grilled veggies. Do not skip any of these and you MUST leave room for tiramisu. Yes, the food was amazing but the service and Luca's incredible personality made today such a memorable experience.

At one point we went down into the wine and cheese cellar to enjoy aged parm and pecorino and it really took what was already a wonderful experience to the next level!

Highly recommend making a reservation!!!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ericar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marconeri, Direttore generale at La Taverna di San Giuseppe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021
Google Translation

Grazie Erica, complimenti come i vostri ci fanno gioire e ci arrivano dritti al cuore. Luca vi ricorda e vi saluta, come tutti noi vi aspettiamo presto e vi ringraziamo per aver colto l’atmosfera di amicizia che si respira alla Taverna. Un forte abbraccio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna di San Giuseppe also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Taverna di San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.