We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
95
12
4
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
12
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews true tuscan style cooking utensils excellent wine silvia winery cum apartment farm town tuscany views hosts chianti valley countryside
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had such high expectations about this place having spent a considerable amount of time researching properties in the area. We arrived at about 5pm to find that our flat was not ready. We had emailed in advance twice to ask about arrival time but received no response. Sadly, once having gained access, we felt very disappointed with the accommodation. We found it was grubby & in need of a good clean to get rid of the many cobwebs and the bird's nest in the bathroom. When I touched the shower head, the bracket fell off the wall, one of the side lamps was faulty and dangerous, the shower tray overflowed as it needed unblocking, the lead to the fridge was faulty resulting in it intermittently turning off. The cutlery and crockery was grubby and had to be washed - unfortunately by hand as when we used the dish washer, the crockery was just as dirty after the cycle had finished! Some of these issues were resolved when we complained, but we felt that we shouldn't have had these problems in the first place and it put a dampener on the start of our holiday. We appreciate that the property is old and rustic and in true Tuscan style, but there is no excuse for uncleanliness and we felt there was a general lack of care and basic maintenance. The property would greatly benefit from some attention to detail - a bit of a spruce up with some fresh paint, a deep clean & replacement of the sad and faded paintings on the wall

I will not dwell long on the cats except to say they were a permanent fixture & were constantly trying to gain entrance to our accommodation.

The flat would benefit from some sort of information book, usually found in rental properties, giving information on the accommodation, local amenities (location of supermarkets, parking in San Gimignano, recommended restaurants, doctors etc) & suggested places to visit in Tuscany.

On the positive side, the setting itself and the changing vista from dawn to dusk were wonderful, from misty mornings to spectacular sunsets. Each flat had tables & chairs in their allocated area to either sit and enjoy the day or to admire the view over a glass or two during the evening. However, we couldn't live outside 24/7! We made the best of things, but, to be honest, if we hadn't paid for the accommodation, we would have left & found somewhere else. It was such a huge disappointment.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We revisited Tuscany with friends having holidayed in the area 25 years ago.
We chose the accommodation carefully looking for two ensuite rooms and walking distance to SG
The accommodation is certainly not in walking distance to San Gim as suggested by the website.
When we arrived we quickly evaluated that both showers were broken the toilet in the downstairs bathroom didn't flush and the electricity supply to the fridge was faulty.
The owners did quickly rectify the issues, however the accommodation was not very clean and we had to ask for clean sheets and towels even though we paid for cleaning as part of the hire cost.
On the positive, whilst remote the grounds and pool were great, the perfect location to share evenings outside sipping wine and reminiscing with friends.
Not quite the Tuscan dream we imagined

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 281janw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We stayed 5 nights in Podere but we could stay there for ever and ever. Silvie and her family welcomed us like family members and Made our stay a wonderful experience. The whole villa was fantastic, the location superb, our Flat very well equipped and spacious. San Gimignano was 20 minutes far and Siena and Florence very easy to reach by bus. Not to forget: Special wines!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lexie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

My dear Lexie G it was a great pleasure for us too, to have you with us at Podere la Marronaia. I want to thank you for our kindness and your enthusiasm in describing our home. I hope you'll be with us again in the future. Till then please receive our warmest greatings and thoughts. Silvia Luigi Pietro and Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Tuscany never disappoints our expectations . La Marronaia fully responded to everything we were looking for, in a vacation and we always try to have: a nice place , comfortable and clean Flat , relaxing atmosphere , peace and exquisite hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank Mary Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Dear Mary Ann thanks a lot for your review. It was great to have you here with us and have the chance to share time with you. I hope we'll have the chance to meet again and till then we'll be in touch ! A big hug Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I can't believe I am in Tuscany in the Chanti region and stumbled on the worst winery and olive oil producer. The new olive oil for 2016 just came out. Zero flavor, zero body. The wines are awful, awful and worse. Ripple, Boonesfarm and Thunderbird will have no competition from them. This place makes me wonder where Carlo Rossi is, as that has to be a better tour stop. The cheap e4/ glass in the main square of Florence is much better.

We had a lunch which was road-stop diner quality. The biscotti was good, but I doubt that was made there. I came here on a tour. Worst tour ever.

Use the restroom when everyone is eating. It is a one person at a time and when there is a bus load, it's a 20 minute wait.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bradford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Direttore at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015
Google Translation

Caro Bradford, rimaniamo molto sorpresi dalla sua recensione anche perchè completamente discordante con le tante altre che abbiamo avuto per la nostra winery. Mi dispiace che non si sia trovato bene, probabilmente il suo disappunto deriva dal far parte di un grande gruppo e non essere un cliente individuale. Le assicuro comunque che il nostro livello di prodotti e servizio è alto anche quando si tratta di ospitare gruppi numerosi, quindi mi sorprende e dispiace. Se si trovasse ancora in Toscana o dovesse ritornare, la invito a contattarci e saremo lieti di averla nostro gradito ospite per un tour privato e una degustazione dei nostri prodotti.Saluti, Silvia, famiglia e staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews