We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had such high expectations about this place having spent a considerable amount of time researching properties in the area. We arrived at about 5pm to find that our flat was not ready. We had emailed in advance twice to ask about arrival time but received no response. Sadly, once having gained access, we felt very disappointed with the accommodation. We found it was grubby & in need of a good clean to get rid of the many cobwebs and the bird's nest in the bathroom. When I touched the shower head, the bracket fell off the wall, one of the side lamps was faulty and dangerous, the shower tray overflowed as it needed unblocking, the lead to the fridge was faulty resulting in it intermittently turning off. The cutlery and crockery was grubby and had to be washed - unfortunately by hand as when we used the dish washer, the crockery was just as dirty after the cycle had finished! Some of these issues were resolved when we complained, but we felt that we shouldn't have had these problems in the first place and it put a dampener on the start of our holiday. We appreciate that the property is old and rustic and in true Tuscan style, but there is no excuse for uncleanliness and we felt there was a general lack of care and basic maintenance. The property would greatly benefit from some attention to detail - a bit of a spruce up with some fresh paint, a deep clean & replacement of the sad and faded paintings on the wall


I will not dwell long on the cats except to say they were a permanent fixture & were constantly trying to gain entrance to our accommodation.


The flat would benefit from some sort of information book, usually found in rental properties, giving information on the accommodation, local amenities (location of supermarkets, parking in San Gimignano, recommended restaurants, doctors etc) & suggested places to visit in Tuscany.


On the positive side, the setting itself and the changing vista from dawn to dusk were wonderful, from misty mornings to spectacular sunsets. Each flat had tables & chairs in their allocated area to either sit and enjoy the day or to admire the view over a glass or two during the evening. However, we couldn't live outside 24/7! We made the best of things, but, to be honest, if we hadn't paid for the accommodation, we would have left & found somewhere else. It was such a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

We revisited Tuscany with friends having holidayed in the area 25 years ago.
We chose the accommodation carefully looking for two ensuite rooms and walking distance to SG
The accommodation is certainly not in walking distance to San Gim as suggested by the website.
When we arrived we quickly evaluated that both showers were broken the toilet in the downstairs bathroom didn't flush and the electricity supply to the fridge was faulty.
The owners did quickly rectify the issues, however the accommodation was not very clean and we had to ask for clean sheets and towels even though we paid for cleaning as part of the hire cost.
On the positive, whilst remote the grounds and pool were great, the perfect location to share evenings outside sipping wine and reminiscing with friends.
Not quite the Tuscan dream we imagined

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 281janw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We stayed 5 nights in Podere but we could stay there for ever and ever. Silvie and her family welcomed us like family members and Made our stay a wonderful experience. The whole villa was fantastic, the location superb, our Flat very well equipped and spacious. San Gimignano was 20 minutes far and Siena and Florence very easy to reach by bus. Not to forget: Special wines!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lexie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

My dear Lexie G it was a great pleasure for us too, to have you with us at Podere la Marronaia. I want to thank you for our kindness and your enthusiasm in describing our home. I hope you'll be with us again in the future. Till then please receive our warmest greatings and thoughts. Silvia Luigi Pietro and Corrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

Tuscany never disappoints our expectations . La Marronaia fully responded to everything we were looking for, in a vacation and we always try to have: a nice place , comfortable and clean Flat , relaxing atmosphere , peace and exquisite hospitality.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Mary Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Proprietario at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2015

Dear Mary Ann thanks a lot for your review. It was great to have you here with us and have the chance to share time with you. I hope we'll have the chance to meet again and till then we'll be in touch ! A big hug Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I can't believe I am in Tuscany in the Chanti region and stumbled on the worst winery and olive oil producer. The new olive oil for 2016 just came out. Zero flavor, zero body. The wines are awful, awful and worse. Ripple, Boonesfarm and Thunderbird will have no competition from them. This place makes me wonder where Carlo Rossi is, as that has to be a better tour stop. The cheap e4/ glass in the main square of Florence is much better.

We had a lunch which was road-stop diner quality. The biscotti was good, but I doubt that was made there. I came here on a tour. Worst tour ever.

Use the restroom when everyone is eating. It is a one person at a time and when there is a bus load, it's a 20 minute wait.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Bradford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marronaia, Direttore at Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015
Google Translation

Caro Bradford, rimaniamo molto sorpresi dalla sua recensione anche perchè completamente discordante con le tante altre che abbiamo avuto per la nostra winery. Mi dispiace che non si sia trovato bene, probabilmente il suo disappunto deriva dal far parte di un grande gruppo e non essere un cliente individuale. Le assicuro comunque che il nostro livello di prodotti e servizio è alto anche quando si tratta di ospitare gruppi numerosi, quindi mi sorprende e dispiace. Se si trovasse ancora in Toscana o dovesse ritornare, la invito a contattarci e saremo lieti di averla nostro gradito ospite per un tour privato e una degustazione dei nostri prodotti.Saluti, Silvia, famiglia e staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
0.8 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#1 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,394 reviews
3 km away
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
Agriturismo Macinatico 1
#33 of 109 in San Gimignano
51 reviews
4.8 km away
Agriturismo Il Segreto di Pietrafitta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Farmhouse
Poderi Arcangelo Agriturismo Far...
#11 of 109 in San Gimignano
803 reviews
4.6 km away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#5 of 109 in San Gimignano
435 reviews
4.8 km away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo

Address: Podere Marronaia 14, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: €473 - €511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere la Marronaia is a small and welcoming farmhouse situated on a small hill amongst vineyards and olive groves, close to the historical centre of San Gimignano (2km). The central part of this historical building is the watching tower built in 1200 ad as part of the city wall defence. In the year 2000 the Dei family, in love with this area, bought the property to make of it our residence and actual business activity. Today the Podere la Marronaia Farmhouse is a family runned farm, dedicated to tourist accommodation with flats to rent, and farming activity with biological production of wine and extra virgin olive oil with direct sale in the farmhouse.We offer flat accomodations. Each flat is fully equipped with: oven, dishwasher machine, 4 fires, fridge+ freezer, crockery, tv sat, iron, hairdryer, little house appliances, free internet wireless connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere La Marronaia Agriturismo San Gimignano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing