We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot ”

Cappella Sant'Andrea
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Loved this little vineyard. Awesome generational mom and pop stop. Had great wine, cheese, and most importantly, very personal experience! Loved it for both parents and kids.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 79kenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"terra cotta"
in 5 reviews
"sant andrea"
in 2 reviews
"wine tour"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 4 reviews
"red wine"
in 3 reviews
"shipped home"
in 4 reviews
"the owner"
in 5 reviews
"tour of the property"
in 2 reviews
"delicious olive oil"
in 2 reviews
"our entire trip"
in 2 reviews
"family winery"
in 3 reviews
"cooking class"
in 4 reviews
"highly recommend a visit"
in 2 reviews
"capella"
in 24 reviews
"rialto"
in 3 reviews
"grapes"
in 12 reviews
"wines"
in 37 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We visited the farm/winery for a tour and pizza making class. Filipo taught our kids how to make home made pizza dough and cook it in the wood fired oven. They loved it! And we loved sitting and relaxing and tasting their small batch wines. Amazing. You should definitely put this stop on your itinerary!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We love our visit to Cappella Sant' Andrea. The owners are a typical Italian family very nice and charming. Wine was delicious and the property is really amazing. If you go to Tuscany you must go and see how the wine is done and this place is just perfect !

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Magarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We scheduled a wine tasting at Cappella Sant'Andrea, in part because we were staying in San Gimignano and it was very close to the town. It was a tremendous experience, even for a self-confessed wine snob like me. We tasted three versions of their white wine, all made from the same grape, but aged differently and for different periods of time, as well as one red super-Tuscan which they also make. The differences between the three whites were striking, and we found we especially liked the youngest and the oldest (which was aged in terra cotta, then in relatively small wooden barriques). The super-Tuscan obviously needs more age, even though it was already about two or three years old. There was also a selection of breads, cold cuts, and cheeses, so we could see how each wine stood up to the various foods; these seemed to be top shelf items too, which enhanced our experience.
But most of all, it was the people at Cappella Sant'Andrea who made this so enjoyable. Communication before, during, and after the event was excellent, and the tour of the property (showing us some of the vineyards as well as the cellars) was a great addition.
We liked the wines so much that we decided to purchase an assorted case to be shipped home for us. They made this very easy for us, and even helped us choose a couple of bottles from among wines which we hadn't tasted, based on our preferences during the tasting.
This visit/tour/wine tasting (a bit of all, actually) was one of the highlights of our whole European vacation.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank MacThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Me, my husband and my friend went to a cooking class at this family owned vineyard/farmhouse. It was THE BEST experience of our entire trip to Italy! We were driven by the lovely Claudia from Special Days Travel Agency to the country house. Fernando (the chef) gave us a tour of the vineyard and told us about how they make their wines. We then picked our own vegetables from the organic garden and made ravioli, gnudi and tagliatelle with the most delicious sauces I have ever eaten! We enjoyed them at the end with some of their delicious wines. Fernando was so patient and lovely with us. We aren't great at cooking so were worried before going to the class but we needn't have been as it was actually fairly simple when you cook with delicious, simple organic Italian ingredients! We enjoyed great company in Claudia and Felipo with the dinner after. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank BridgetM263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cappella Sant'Andrea also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Cappella Sant'Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing