We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Long Awaited Tuscan Holiday”
other traveller has booked this property
villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa
pool living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
villa
pool
living room
terrace
'Tosca' room
bathroom n.3
'Butterfly' room
bathroom n.2
balcony
pool
kitchen
'Traviata' room
bathroom n.1
'Aida' room
bathroom n. 4
dining room
living and outdoor area n.2
outdoor area n. 3
outdoor
tv room
panorama
'al fresco' meals
pool
villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
David P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Long Awaited Tuscan Holiday”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have been planning an extended family holiday to Tuscany for a couple of years so there was a lot riding on Villa La Porticciola.

The villa exceeded our expectations. It was welcoming and comfortable with amazing views of San Gimignano and the surrounding Tuscan countryside. It was originally a fort and converted into a home in the 14th century.

Our party included two children (10 and 7), two parents and 3 grandparents and there was plenty of space for everyone to either be together or have their own space depending on the mood. All the bedrooms were spacious with clean modern bathrooms.

We ate every meal on the sun soaked terrace outside the kitchen, watched the sun go down and the stars appearing - and there were even magical fire flies in the garden in the evenings.

The swimming pool was spotless and perfect for the children. You can buy masks and flippers in the shops in San Gimignano.

There is a wonderful ice cream shop in Piazza Cisterna. It is well worth an evening walk up the cobbled streets of San Gimignano to buy an ice cream. You can sit on the steps of the Duomo to eat it, listening to the swifts and watching children play football in the balmy evening air as the sun goes down.

The villa is well located for visiting the area although, as it was so hot when we were there, we didn't do as much as we hoped to. We did visit Siena which was about 45 minutes away and we booked a late flight home so that we would have time to visit Pisa on the way back to the airport. We got great take away pizza from La Taverna Del Granducato on our first night and fantastic Bistecca Fiorentina from the same restaurant later in the week. Despite the soaring temperatures, the villa was coolly comfortable throughout our stay.

The owner, Alessandro is friendly and professional and happy to help but never in the way. He gave us a map of the town and marked the supermarkets and restaurants and the local wine cooperative on it. The wine coop is worth visiting early in your stay rather than later as we did and stocks lots of local wines. We do like to cook a bit and the kitchen is adequately equipped for this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the terrace
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting of the house was perfect. Walking distance via a gravel track to the town was easily accessible to all amenities
Liked least: Nothing, there was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LambieJon...
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Best vacation ever, and I don't say that lightly. Within walking distance to the entrance to San Gimignano, and the most beautiful views of the town both at night and during the day, my family and two others shared the villa for a week and it was everything we hoped for. The owner was amazing, the house was comfortable with a bathroom in each room, and the terraces were fantastic gathering spots for the kids and adults alike. Kitchen was eh, but who wants to cook when you are in Italy! Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussieidl...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So Italian, so Tuscany. Amazing!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa La Porticciola for a week with family. The house was exactly what we wanted and hoped it would be. Four large bedrooms each with its own bathroom. Views in every direction of the Tuscan countryside and the San Gimignano towers. The town is about one kilometre away.
There is a choice of terraces for outdoor dining and a large indoor dining room. We cooked up a storm in the kitchen, barbequed outside and ate in town and at the nearby farms. We totally supported the local Chianti industry!
The owner, Alessandro Martini, could not have been more helpful. He communicated flawlessly and did everything he said he would do. We said we all liked espresso coffee so he went out and bought a larger pot! I (temporarily) misplaced the door key locking us out. Alessandro was there within 15 minutes with a spare key.
The house is an ideal base for exploring Tuscany. We visited Florence, Pisa and Siena before we ran out time. We loved the house and were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total package
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gh07
Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing