We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
US$238
US$206
View deal
Booking.comUS$238
Expedia.comUS$228
Hotels.comUS$228
eDreamsUS$238
TravelocityUS$228
Trip.comUS$237
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
1,070
436
93
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,070
436
93
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel san gimigiano sun loungers beautiful property wonderful place short drive tuscan countryside florence volterra relaxation wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2021

Beautiful family run hotel in the Tuscan countryside only a stones throw from San Gimigiano. Great food from the on-sight restaurant that uses local cooks to prepare true Tuscan food. The local wine from the surrounding village of San Donato should also be enjoyed. Great for peace and relaxation.

Date of stay: May 2020
1  Thank John W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Sirs,

we thank you very much for your review and for being our guests.
The Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse is built and run by our family.
We take care of this place with great passion and attention and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our structure and our restaurant. For us the quality of the ingredients and the sustainability of our territory are the basis of our philosophy.

We do hope to have you again as our guests soon.

Kindest Regards,

Famiglia Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020

I liked this hotel, the pool, the surroundings, the friendly staff. However, our stay was let down by the room they put us in at the start, room 62. This is directly above the kitchen and at night there was a lot of noise. Complained several times, and it did improve after midnight, but we had to request a room change the next day, for which the staff were very willing to accommodate. I don't think the hotel should make this room available, you hear the pot wash, bottles being stacked, etc, etc. It's very noisy. It started us off on the wrong foot.

Otherwise, the pool area is lovely. We enjoyed spending some time on the sun loungers overlooking the Tuscan scenery. The food is good - a solid performance for the breakfast, although please make sufficient pancakes, I only managed to snag them one morning, the rest of the time, other guests managed to gobble several, but by the time we'd arrived (not particularly late), the pancakes had all gone. The lunch and dinner offered in the restaurant was good, although perhaps on the slightly expensive side.

This is situated close to San Gimigiano (a tourist trap) and a short drive to (the much nicer Volterra), but don't expect to walk there, you need a car to stay here.

I get the impression this is the kind of hotel that some customers come back year after year, and I can see why, especially with the lovely pool area. But please get rid of that room above the kitchen, it does you an ill service.

Room tip: Don't stay in room 62
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 629danielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We are sorry you did not like the room which we gave to you at your arrival, we are glad that you noticed and appreciated that we gave you another room as soon as you asked for another accomodation.

About the food at lunch and dinner, we are proud to say that the ingredients which we daily buy are always of high quality: we always buy them fresh from local companies and farms.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2020

It is a very nice hotel in a serene place . The staff is very nice and helpful with all the request especially the staff worked in the check in area. Thank you for all your help.

We asked if we could check out a bit late and the staff was very accommodating. Thank you for all your help.

The only issue we had when my wife tried to take a tissue from the breakfast area , the staff there kind of jumped her saying that she is not allowed to touch anything and her manager will kill her if she knew. I believe the staff was being really careful because of the covid regulations ,but she could have told her a bit more calmly as you know taking a tissue is something you don't put back and I believe it is not a breach. She was otherwise nice and careful.

All in all a great place to stay if you are coming to Tuscany with your family and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a stay in Tuscany.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lijo-George-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa Niccolini, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you have appreciated your stay at our hotel.
Thank you also for your compliments about staff, we always do our best to make feel our guests comfortable and relaxed, we do consider us satisfied by your kind words.

We care a lot about covid regulation, we cannot make any exception for anybody, we are sorry about the manner we talked, we could have been more calm.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

Ok Im difficult with hotels and service is important when on holiday. If you’re like me keep reading.

We booked this place based on the website photos and text. On arrival it is certainly a beautiful property however that changes as you enter where it’s more basic and then in the case of our family room it was far from what the photos on the website would have led us to believe. Check out the photos and I’ll let you judge if that’s what you expect after visiting the website :-)

After checkin I notice the safe in the room needs a key so back to reception and I’m told they need a €20 euro deposit in cash, they can’t take it off my credit card. Back to the room to get cash and back to the reception to get the key. Then back to the room to use the safe. It would have been great if we are asked if we need the safe when we arrived.

Very clean and high hygiene standards though. Nice pool area wish saved the property.

Service by the pool didn’t appear to be on offer, you have to walk over to the restaurant wait and carry it over. What a shame as we would have spent much more if a member of staff would have done the rounds around the pool.

We weren’t asked if we needed help with things to do locally so we walked out and made some great discoveries ourselves including alternative accommodation a 4 minute walk away with much more loving service.

The dinner at the restaurant showed promise but slow service, €17 for a burger and an extra €6 for fries, well if it’s any good then that’s ok but in this case we left half. The waiter had to run around to find us ketchup, mayonnaise after we flagged him down. Wine mixup due to one waiter taking the order and another bringing the wine. A cup of tea after dinner was not possible, they don’t have any. The next morning there was plenty of teabags at breakfast so do you picture our experience?

I can’t figure out the high rating on trip advisor unless it’s from people who just need a bed and pool.

The price point is way above the local competition.

Oh and despite us booking pre-COVID and juggling with flights, refunds where never offered and neither was any flexibility, I.e refunding the last night as flight timetables were changes. Some effort following our commitment to visiting Italy despite a pandemic would have really been appreciated. Our hotel in Florence was much more understanding.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank fshahV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casolare Terrerosse, Direttore generale at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2020

Thank you for reporting your experience.

As soon as you have arrived in our hotel, we understood that something was not good for you, so we have tried to satisfy your request of changing the room because we understood that you were not so happy for the room, so we proposed you a special price for the upgrade, trying to meet your expectations. After, we have asked you if everything was ok, and you said yes.

Referring to your complaints about the style of your rooms, actually Family Rooms can be in Tuscan Style or Modern Style. You did not mentioned anything about a particular style during reservation, so we decided to give you the family room in modern style, thinking you could have appreciated it, considering that this room is a little bit bigger than the other one. Photos are exactly the same as reality, we are sorry you do not think so.

About the key for the safe, we do not ask about it at the moment of check-in because this is a thing that not so many people request. Your room was very close to reception, it does not seem so difficult to reach it and coming back to the room.
We are sorry you did expect a service by the pool, our hotel does not include this kind of service, and if you have read the details of our services you could have known it. Maybe you needed another typology of hotel.

Moreover, we are surprised about your words referring to our lackness of help for you: at the moment of arrival we always tell to our guests that if they have some question or curiosity we would be glad to help them. We did not think that was necessary to ask you it every single day.

In our restaurant food is always prepared at the moment, with local and fresh ingredients, so our chef takes all the necessary time to prepare a good product, genuine and tasty. The price is motivated simply by the weight of the hamburger, which is a very big one, and you will surely find this produc tat the same price in another restaurant. Moreover, in our restaurant our waiters usually do service in cooperation, to make service as better as possible. We are sorry you misanderstood the fact you have been served by more that one waiter.

The last thing to say is about our flexibility regarding your reservation: we would like to make you notice that your reservation was a not refoundable one, and even if we could not do anything due to your typology of reservation (penalty in case of anticipated departure is the 100% of the final price) we tryed to find a compromise, trying to sell the room for the day of you departure but unfortunately nobody booked your room. Apparently it seems that we have tried to meet your needs.

We are sorry you did not like your stay here so much… perhaps this is not the right hotel for your necessities.

Best Regards,

Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Excellent Hotel located in the hills of the Tuscany Region. Very close to San Gimigiano which was one of my favorite towns in Tuscany. If you leave the hotel and go left, there are two family run winieries on the left with excellent wine and great views. We were also able to visit Montepuliciano and Sienna. Hotel serves a great breakfeast and the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home. I highly recommend Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse.

Room tip: Get a room on the 1st floor with an outside sitting area
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CTR_8, Proprietario at Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you for your nice review and for being our guest.

As you already kindly wrote, our hotel is located in a lucky position because it is close to some famous cities in Tuscany, such as Volterra, Monteriggioni, Siena and Firenze.

We hope to have you as our guests again.

Best Regards,
Fam. Niccolini & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews