We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
159
55
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
55
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorgeous swimming pooldouble roomwonderful locationstayed for nightsvirginiahostaccommodationterracepropertyviewswinetuscanybeautykmtrips
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Maybe it is a nice country house and maybe the other rooms are great, BUT the room we stayed was not good at all. It was a room that stood alone away from the main buildings and I think that it was not suppose to be rent. We had a small, miserable balcony and a view towards San Gimigiano but also to the laundry and the yard. It was "cheap". We would never have stayed there if we know! Breakfast was OK and Mrs Virginia very polite but nothing could make up for the room which ruined our trip to San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Don't book the double room with view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaryTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As we arrived at the villa, we were stunned by the beauty of the place: the view of San Gimignano especially during sunset is amazing, the pool, our appartement «Rita», was cute, spacious, very functionnal and cozy. We had a warm welcome by Virginia who was very nice and helpful.. and Dante, her funny cat!
The location is perfect : a 15-20 walk to the city through a nice cedar path or 5 minute drive to the multiple parkings just outside the city. It is also close to the Chianti region which we visited.
We had one breakfast and one dinner there, both were delicious, especially the homemade lasagna. We had the chance to taste their wine (white and red) and their olive oil.
Our only wish: staying there longer! We'll have to come back! Thank you for your hospitality, it was the highlight of our trip in Italy. Grazie mille Virginia!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in Alice cottage. We didn't opt for the kitchen area. Just room , bathroom.
Things to note with this...
There is no air con. Only a standing fan which is noisy .
There was no where to hang wet clothes outside your room like the other cottages had.
There was no view from the room when you sat outside.
There was a fridge. It would have been nice to have had a bottle of water in it for when you arrive after a long journey.
There was a kettle and tea and coffee but no mugs.
There was no shower gel or shampoo. We did ask but got none. My husband said we wouldn't need to take any,!
It is a long walk into town on a very uneven path way. We walked back In the dark in a thunder storm .fortunately we had a torch.

The pool and setting is truly beautiful.
Lovely hammock to have a doze.
If you drive into town. Park in the P1 car park. I think it is the cheapest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What more can I add to my previous review. The accommodation/views/hospitality/weather and of course Dante (the cat) were again fantastic. Perhaps we could have done without the odd thunder storm but when the sun shined boy did it shine. We stayed in the cottage Alice, what a setting with breakfast overlooking the valley towards San Gimignano, you have to see for yourselves because words cannot really describe the views that you have. Over the past few years Virginia has been putting her own individual stamp on upgrading the apartments. The changes have been superb with all apts/cotts having flat screen TV`s and Wi-Fi. Added to that you can help yourselves to Virginia`s own Extra Virgin Olive Oil/Red & White wine plus on request her superb Grappa`s both white and amber. The pool is unbelieveable so quiet like you are the only people staying there, again with views overlooking San Gim. + a small children`s section and the addition of a new hot/cold shower. Lastly I must repeat my thanks to Virginia and her team of helpers which again made are stay so wonderful. Look forward to seeing you in October 14.

Room Tip: My only tip is enjoy every room/cottage as they are all individual and equally fantastic. For 4/6 Villa Alice. 2/4 Apt Maria
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Podere Bellavista is a fantastic place to stay while in Tuscany!
The property is beautiful. The main house along with the rooms is beautiful, and everything is very well maintained. If you enjoy relaxing in the country side with only the sounds of birds chirping while looking out to gently rolling hills lined with grapes & olive trees = this is the place. I fell in love with Tuscany many years ago. When I think of the countryside around San Gimignano, it is paradise, the place I want to live!
Virginia is a wonderful person, takes great care of her guests & always has a pleasant smile. She along with the rest of the family & staff, including Dante, do a great job in making sure that you will never forget your experience here!
I hope that as many of you as possible can experience this beautiful part of the world. Staying at Podere Bellavista is worth every penny.

Domenico V.
Stati Uniti

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Domenico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews