We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise”
Review of Casale Sodini

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casale Sodini
Ranked #43 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was fortunate to be a week-long guest of a friend who rented Casale Sodini for our "girlfriend trip" to Italy. How lucky we were, for the villa was a perfect home away from home. That is,if your home includes breathtaking vistas, beautiful grounds, a resort-worthy pool and cabana, five spacious bedrooms with ensuite baths, charming gathering rooms, a beautiful housekeeper/cook, and the world's kindest and most knowledgable driver. Roberta and Attilio took such great care of us we were sad when our time came to leave!

Its location just minutes from Lucca and central to all the favorite attractions of Tuscany was perfect and made it a great home base from which to make daily side trips. We looked forward to the arrival of Attilio each morning, ready to take us on our next adventure. His English was quite good so we found ourselves competing for a front seat to better hear all his great stories of what we were about to see. They invariably added to the enjoyment when we arrived.

And on those evenings when we stayed in for dinner, Roberta revealed herself to be an excellent cook. So much so that (thanks to Google Translate - Roberta understands but is not conversant in English) I was able to collect some of her recipes and methods. We also had the good fortune to meet Casale's owner, Samuel, who was gracious and charming, and therefore able to tell him that our stay there was the absolute highlight of our trip to Italy!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

I was lucky enough to rent the Casale Sodini a couple of times, once with my family and once with a group of girlfriends. It's located a few minutes from the center of Lucca, from all the stores, post office and banks, but still tucked-in the beautiful hills where only birds and the church bell can be heard.

All bedrooms are uniquely furnished with different pastel color walls and matching drapery and linens. Every detail has been carefully thought and planned.
The kitchen is an authentic Tuscany kitchen and and both the living room and dining room are welcoming. We had several dinner parties and we cooked up a storm, true and authentic Italian food with Tuscan Wine.
The pool area is a dream-come-true and so private.

Both the owner and the staff are just gems, the nicest people.

I highly recommend it both for families and for a group of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larapirazzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My family and I visited and stayed at Casale Sodini the past week. It was just so beautiful! The weather was perfect and the scenery was relaxing and pretty. It was a great stay. We really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were curious, attentive and friendly. We felt paradise and the warmth while staying there. It is the perfect little vacation right in Tuscany and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you make reservations in advance ... It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I can honestly say I did not want to leave! The staff went above and beyond to make us beyond more than comfortable. They treated us like family. The villa is absolutely breathtaking, it's like taking a trip to paradise. It is so wonderful, when you enter the grounds, it's like walking into a whole other world. I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndicaLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

As soon as you walk into Casale Sodini you know it is one of a kind. Besides bathing in beauty and splendor, this house is special. You can feel the owners attention to detail when restoring this old Casale. Everything from the floors, to the walls, to the magnificent bedrooms and kitchen, gives off a feeling of elegance and at the same time makes you feel welcome. The grounds are equally as breathtaking: beautiful gardens and a gorgeous pool that just begs to be lounged around. On top of all this, the location is perfect. Casale Sodini is in the quaint village of Vorno that offers the ultimate privacy one wants with a villa, but is less than ten minutes from the amazing walled city of Lucca. Truly the best of both worlds. AND on top of all this, the owner is amazing and really adds to the full experience of staying at this marvelous villa. If only I could live here!! Planning my next trip already!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurudaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
11.9 km away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
105 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
181 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 47 in Lucca
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Affittacamere La Camelia
Affittacamere La Camelia
#59 of 176 in Lucca
56 reviews
12.3 km away
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
La Pieve di Sant'Andrea
#1 of 2 in Maggiano
59 reviews
8.2 km away
No photo provided
L'Orto delle Palme
#139 of 176 in Lucca
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Sodini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Sodini

Address: Via di Vorno 65 | Capannori, 55060, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Lucca
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Sodini rents in Vorno, a small Tuscany village, just outside Lucca, Italy. Though the mill wheel no longer turns, the absolute simplicity of the timeless atmosphere remains today. Serenity is the philosophy of life offered here, as Villa Casale Sodini is brought back to life for your enjoyment. Here in the warm golden afternoons you can breath in the simple pleasures of the past. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing