We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
70
40
13
10
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
40
13
10
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerlounge areacakesstayed for nightsair conditioningcomfortable bedgood sizeapartmentpisa
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Our family and friends had a lovely time at this B&B. We stayed in a two bedroom villa at the top. Though the stairs were a little steep when dragging suitcases up, it was well air-conditioned with all amenities required for a relaxing and restful stay. The pool was great and the garden was a lovely place for drinks and nibbles after a big day out. The owner was very helpful and her breakfasts were delicious. We didn't have a car, so had to walk quite a distance to the bus that took us into Lucca and to the local supermarket, but we loved doing that and found a fabulous gelato shop in the middle of nowhere on the way to the bustop. I would reccomend this charming place for a great summer holiday.

Room Tip: The room at the top was spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julijana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, great location, fantastic house, nice garden with lounge area and pool. Easy access to Lucca city centre. Great and friendly host. Easy parking just outside the house. Nice breakfast as well!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank klst0500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Our family of four stayed in the Lavinia 2 bed apartment and it was great value. The kids had a single bed each - hugely important to us to prevent squabbles!
We loved the pretty garden most of all - the pool was a good size and we enjoyed the character of this large villa. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Very relaxing to have breakfast with china cups and homemade cakes.
It's a shame there was no bus service into the historic centre as it would have been a half hour, uninteresting walk to get there, and we didn't see any taxis available nor are there any neighbourhood restaurants nearby. So we used our car. I'm pretty sure there are no hotels in the historic centre with a pool so I would book this hotel for Lucca again however.
Feedback would be to improve the weak shower, have clearer signs outside (a hanging sign would be good), give us instructions beforehand about where to park, and have a bed without a panel at the end as my husband is tall (6ft 2) and the bed wasn't long enough for him!!
We loved our stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Lavinia was quieter than some others, as not next to the road. But has low ceilings in places.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kwrightwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We stayed at the Casa Biancalana for four nights during Aug. We booked via bookings.com who said we paid the B&B direct. We emailed the B&B before we arrived, as we travel with our two young daughters so we wanted to get some information before we arrived. But this email was never responded to. We arrived at night and the B&B and parking is not well highlighted but we found it in the end. We were greeted and showed to the apartment and given a key then shown where we could park. I think we would have benefited from some information in our apartment, like where to change currency, bank, supermarket, doctor, places to eat just some basic info, wifi code, but no information is given. As it happened we all ended up with food poisoning while in Italy (nothing to do with the B&B in should add) so we could have done with the doctor information. The B&B it self is a lovely building and the garden is just fab and the pool a delight. The B&B is owned by a woman and she only seems to have one staff member who cleans the rooms, the pool, makes the breckfast, does the maintenance and basically everything else. The Casa Biancalana does have the lovely Tuscan charm. It's mainly very quiet and not too far away from Lucca or the leaning tower. We hired a car so it made things a lot easier. I wouldn't recommend walking it all, if you have children or are of older age. The supermarket is close.
We were disturbed four times while trying to enjoy some rest the first was the staff member letting herself in the apartment while we slept (to get a spare bed out cupboard for new guest) my husband had to end up helping carry a single bed and mattress down stairs. The second we were woken late by shouting it turned out a stray cat had come in to the main house and the owner was screaming at it to get out. The third the owner had left her mobile in our room when she was in it? So she had to come back in and get it out and Lastly the last morning we were told check out was at 11 by 9:00am French man tried to come in the apartment while we where having breakfast as he was moving in when we left but we were not even close to leaving. We never really felt alone or like we could relax as we didn't know when someone else would be popping by. I would recommend it for adults and for families with older children. For families with younger children I am not sure how appropriate it is as the building are old, some of the stair rails move and may not be stable, some of the light fittings crackle when you turn them on, some of the power points don't work, same as the lights. Plus over all it could do with more light. Being old you expect it to be dark but we couldn't see in our wardrobe to pick clothes. I am making it sound bad it wasn't and I would go back. But I just want everyone to know what to expect at least that way you can decide if it's for you. We did enjoy our visit it was mainly quiet and peaceful, it does have charm and it is close enough to everything.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

just before we had to arrive at this place we were contacted that there apparently was an issue with the plumbing in the batthroom.
on our arrival we were offered a very tiny room in the basement as compensation only accessible with a very steep staircase.
this room absolutely was not what we booked and definitely not compatible with the prices of this B&B.

during the discussion we however found that there was NO issue with the plumbing but our RESERVED room was allocated to a different guest.

after we protested against this with the very friendly cleaning girl showing us the room, she contacted the owner who then decided to cancel our reservation.

a very unprofessional and awkward attitude towards your guests in my opinion.

Unreliable places like this shoulod not be allowed on booking sites! and I strongly advise against booking here!

Room Tip: simply do not go there
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Henri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews