We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, clean, accommodating host, and an ideal...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StPaulMN
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, accommodating host, and an ideal base for day trips”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Our group of four couples had a wonderful five-night stay at the Villa Sant'Alessio in June 2015. Located across the river from the historic walled city of Lucca, within 5-10 minutes of the autostrada, and with nearby grocery store and restaurants.

The two-story villa includes two large "master" bedrooms with attached bathrooms (one w/ shower only; one with shower and tub) and two large bedrooms with a shared bath. (There were also two small rooms that would work for child or single.) There was also a large half bath on the first floor, off the kitchen and dining areas. Hairdryers and necessary electrical plugs provided, which was convenient for foreign visitors. All four bedrooms had large windows and armoires for clothing storage (and the small rooms were handy for storing luggage and extra items).

The ground/first floor had a large combined dining room and living room, opening through large sliding doors onto a front terrace. There was plenty of room for our entire group to relax with wine and antipasti, share meals, and plan the next day's excursions. There was also a nicely equipped kitchen, with large refrigerator/freezer, cook top, oven, dishwasher, sink, linens, and prep/serving table. (That floor also includes a breakfast room and large half bath.) Everything was spotless and plenty of linens were provided.

Martina surprised us with a welcome gift of biscotti and Vin Santo from a local shop and was very helpful, explaining how to access the Wi-Fi and offering suggestions for dining, shopping, and sightseeing. The Wi-Fi was a little temperamental, but essential and workable for our very "wired" group, which made heavy use of laptops, tablets, and smartphones. Due to unusually hot weather, we made good use of the clothes washer (accessed through lower level, adjacent to caretaker/gardener couples' apartment), drying racks, and iron. Martina (and her mother) were very responsive, when we had questions about how to operate the washing machine and the dishwasher.

We especially enjoyed Lombardo, an excellent restaurant about 10 minutes' drive up the hill (recommended by Martina), with great food and views. (We returned twice.) We also enjoyed a nearby restaurant featuring fire-roasted meats, in the same area, which had a lovely patio and friendly, English-speaking host. We also used the small Weber grill at the villa (after picking up groceries and supplies at a Conad grocery nearby.

It was wonderful to open the shutters wide, allowing fresh air, sunlight, bird songs, and the sound of church bells to flood in. Plenty of on-site parking space for our two cars. Handy access to disposal receptacles for recycling and garbage just across the road from the property. Easy driving distance to Pisa, Florence, seaside towns, and Cinque Terre for day trips, but try to save a day to explore Lucca (churches, piazzas, towers) and walk or bike along the top of the walls.

The villa was a much better value than the four hotel rooms we would have needed for our group, and it offered superior options for us to gather as a group, but plenty of space for private time, as well. Martina was very responsive to e-mail messages and flexible about scheduling times to pick-up and return the keys. Our deposit was promptly refunded. We would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Spacious common areas and bedrooms
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
227barbar...
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful elegant large Tuscan house set amongst park like grounds and trees”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was a very beautiful house to stay in close to Lucca in St'Alessio. Surrounded by well kept garden & lawns overlooking lovely old trees, a church spire and country lane with more beautiful historic properties. It is close to Lucca but provides peace & tranquility & waking up to birdsong. Martina, and caretakers could not have been more helpful. I would recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M
Gambrills, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing villa, fantastic location.”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We were met by the most charming owner who was only a phone call away if we had any questions. She recommended delightful restaurants and even surprised us with a tray of sweets on more than one occasion. I cannot say enough about the beautiful villa. The place was immaculate inside and out. The atmosphere was magical; stunning marble floors, lovely, comfortable furnishings and a kitchen complete with everything you could possible need. We made day trips from the convenient location and had a wonderful grocery store within a mile of the house. Easy wifi......all the comforts of home and then some. Bright, airy, palatial! What are you waiting for?

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and garden.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing