We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
237
124
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
124
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short journey swimming pool original charm pisa airport spent a week here romantic hotel gorgeous hotel helpful in every way minutes by car lovely pool old world visiting lucca gelato breakfast is served old building tuscany napoleon
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

An elegant building. Spacious rooms. Very attentive and friendly personnel. The buffet breakfast is good and one mostly can sit outside al fresco. The same area is available should one wish to dine at the Hotel in the evening. I think the menu doesn’t change as most guests don’t stay excessively long. The food was good and prices are normal. It’s a very relaxing place. Very short drive to Lucca. The one negative is that the WiFi didn’t work. One signs in and then is dropped out pretty much within minutes. I hope for the future they address that. One does so much research these days that it will be super important.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Tolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located on the outskirts of Lucca and it’s less than 10 minutes by car to reach the city centre. The hotel settings are lovely and the rooms really elegant. The hotel is an old Villa and the rooms reflect the historic nature of the building. We had a really spacious and romantic room with a really comfortable bed and a lovely sofa in an alcove. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath and a separate shower. The hotel has a lovely park and outside swimming pool. Breakfast is served outside if the weather permits and the food is excellent quality (both sweet and savoury palates are well covered). It’s not a cheap hotel but it’s well worth the money if you are after a special stay in romantic settings.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gaia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, and wonderful history, but a little “stuffy” for our taste. We just never felt comfortable here. Staff was pleasant enough, but not overly friendly, and the rooms were interesting. A fair amount of guests at the pool, but nobody working at the pool bar, and it was so quite! No talking, and definitely no music here. A shuttle to/from town would have been nice, about $20 cab each way. Breakfast was lovely, but our dinner was not worth the money. Probably a gem for many, just not our cup of tea.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

A true step back in time, to a by gone era... Not many people know that the area around Luca is a true multi millionaires Mecca of Fab Villas, Gardens, Fountains m, and canals.
This property still keeps its original charm and Laura Ashley floral patterns competing with Scottish Plaids and English Wood Paneling... really good dining room with attentive service... this place is NOT modernized do expect a few charming touches that may not be suited to your modern tastes...but, if you are a good traveler, who wants authenticity over mod cons, than this hotel is a gem you will love!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tourmanager61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Tourmanager61,

thanks for your kind words about our hotel!
We hope to see you again very soon.
Warm regards
Ivan Cristofori Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We enjoyed the American Lounge at Villa La Principessa several times during our stay in Lucca. The villa is elegant a beautiful, we love the gardens and staff was quite friendly. It is worth a visit just to see the tapestry walls in the main lounge. Unfortunately we were unable to visit a guest room but understand they are also nice.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear TravelingCraigs,

thanks four your important review , our intent is to offer our guests a pleasant and confortable stay at Villa La Principessa. Looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Lucca
Kind regards
Ivan Cristofori Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews