We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
468
214
34
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
214
34
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his son the owner within the walls old world charm breakfast room boutique hotel wonderful hotel small hotel loved this hotel wonderful city large room loved lucca train station central location croissants mario palazzo
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

If you are looking for Old World charm, décor and elegance, this hotel should be at the top of your list when visiting Lucca. Mario, the proprietor, his son and indeed the entire staff could not be more helpful and gracious.
The smallest of details, such as coffee and tea served from ceramic ware at breakfast, will make you feel extra special.
Read the other reviews of this hotel. They speak volumes as to the quality and the attention to detail of this property.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kr0cc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele M, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear kr0cc0 , thank you very much for the attention had for this review, we hope to see you again in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again really soon! Best regards Gabriele Maraviglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We went to lucca for the first time and our travel agent Oroko travel in Dublin picked this hotel.

What a find. Mario and his staff were excellent and recommended restaurants for us to eat each night. This hotel is within the city walls and they looked after us extremely well. Bedrooms were very comfortable . And breakfast was lovely.

We will definitely be back to this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele M, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear hazel s , thank you very much for the attention had for this review, we hope to see you again in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again really soon! Best regards Gabriele Maraviglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us, and if I ever return to Lucca I would definitely stay here again. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. It was very quiet as well. Mario and his son are great hosts and very friendly. The breakfast that was laid out every morning was good as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele M, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Snogrrl , thank you very much for the attention had for this review, we hope to see you again in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again really soon! Best regards Gabriele Maraviglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We fell in love with Lucca (in part) due to our stay at this wonderful hotel! We arrived by car and were attended to promptly- luggage removed & car taken away for parking. Our room was available prior to the check in time and it was both spacious and clean.

What made our stay was how pleasant and accommodating the family was (who owns the hotel) during our stay. We were in Italy and had two of our favorite meals in Lucca - both restaurants were recommend. The bike ride on the city wall was so much fun - bike shop recommended was close/convenient. The hotel location was perfect and the shopping was superb. The Puccini concert was one of the most memorable nights we had in all of Italy - cannot be missed!

Overall, our stay was amazing and Lucca was our favorite (all three of us) city on our 12 day tour of Italy. A huge THANK YOU to the Alexander family!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank susandH6302MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele M, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Susan D , thank you very much for the attention had for this review, we hope to see you again in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again really soon! Best regards Gabriele Maraviglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in November 2017 for 2 nights, and it was lovely. The hotel was easy to find and within walking distance to everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a comfortable suite, with views of the rooftops of Lucca. This hotel is charming, and breakfast in the morning was quite good. I wished we could have stayed longer! Many thanks to the excellent staff for being so helpful.
We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Lucca.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DGajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele M, Proprietario at Hotel Palazzo Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear DGajda , thank you very much for the attention had for this review, we hope to see you again in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again really soon! Best regards Gabriele Maraviglia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews