We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
812
350
58
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
812
350
58
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel free prosecco free buffet great hotel snack area free bikes hot tub lovely terrace within the walls inside the city walls the hotel staff superior room annex building strawberries loved this hotel coffee machine old town
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Myself and two friends have just recently returned from a 4 night trip to Lucca and stayed this hotel. This hotel is perfectly located just a few minutes walk along the quaint streets into the centre of Lucca. We stayed in a triple room in the annex ( just over the road from the main hotel) and it was perfect. Lovely big bathroom too and quiet. We heard noise from streets during our stay. Good air conditioning too and we needed it as temperatures were in the 30’s. breakfast was a good choice of hot and cold items as well as hot and cold drinks. The cafe area just along from reception was a lovely extra with cold beer, tea/coffee and cakes and snacks available each day and from 5.00 until 7.00 prosecco too! It was so nice after a busy day to take a drink up to the rooftop terrace and have a drink and relax. The staff were all so friendly and professional and even arranged airport transfers for us. Can’t wait to return to stay again at this wonderful little gem of a hotel and of course Lucca - one of my favourite Italian cities!

Room Tip: Annex is fine rooms large
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank pattiNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear patti,
thank you for your nice review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you again for the third time ;)
Our prosecco is waiting!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This is always our hotel of choice when staying in Lucca, it has well appointed superior rooms in the annexe, they are quiet and roomy.
The free bikes, snacks and prossecco hour are always a big positive, the breakfast is plentiful and fresh.
We cannot wait to return again, next time we need to stay longer than 3 nights!

Room Tip: Superior room in annexe
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Ceilings,
thank you for Always being our guests!
We are so happy to welcome you everytime!
Cannot wait for your next visit :)
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We stayed a week at this hotel in room 208.
The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We loved having our breakfast on the terrace.At 8.30 am it was fairly quiet and so peace full and relaxed,a wonderful start to the day .
We stayed about a week ago when the afternoon temperature was about 36 centigrade but being in a medieval city with lots of tall buildings in narrow streets you were protected from the sun.
The hotel is ideally situated to get onto the walls or to venture through the archway opposite into the city.
We also walked to the railway station about 15 minutes to go to Montecatini Terme then Montecatini Alto by funicular.
After a day out in Lucca it was great to get back to the hotel to have a cold beer,or a can of coke or a coffee or tea and a biscuit,all free and just help yourself.
In the evening you could help yourself to a prosecco on ice again complementary.
We also made use of the hotel bikes to ride round the walls about two and a half miles.
In our room everything worked as it should and the air conditioning kept the room at a perfect temperature.
We can’t fault this hotel and would not hesitate to return if we came to Lucca again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear JM,
thank you so much for your nice review!
We are so happy to read that you were happy with our Hotel, services and staff!
This is so great!
We really hope to welcome you soon again, do not hesitate to contact us!
Best regards and have a wonderful day!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We were staying in Lucca as part of a package relating to the Puccini Opera Festival. We were assigned this hotel. It was very good in every respect. Although only B&B as are lot of hotels in Lucca, there were snacks available all day free of charge and from 17.00 there was free Prosecco and cakes for two hours or more. The rooms were smart and well-facilitated with minibar and hot drinks facilities. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There was an outside terrace with sunbeds and chairs and a jacuzzi.
The surroundings in the hotel were smart and chic. There were paintings (which you could buy) displayed in the foyer. These enhanced the whole atmosphere of the environment.
The hotel was well placed for the city within the city walls.
I can totally recommend this hotel and if we were returning to Lucca off our own steam we would book into this hotel.

Room Tip: No particular recommendations. There were only 41 rooms and I suspect all were similar.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilW382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Neil,
thank you!
We are glad you liked to stay with us!
Come back soon to enjoy again our Prosecco time!
Actually,our hotel has 4 types of rooms:
-smaller double room
-classic double room
-superior room
-suite room
For your next stay, we will be more than happy to advise you the best options :)
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

This great little hotel also offers free snacks and drinks including beer and wine. You can eat breakfast in the glass covered room or in the courtyard. This is probably one of the best breakfasts we have had in Europe. The The hotel is also in a great location just inside the city walls and just down from one of the historic gates, Porta San Gervasio. From the staff at the desk to the breakfast staff, all were excellent and friendly. We had a triple standard room with a queen type bed and a rollaway for our niece. The room was plenty large enough even with the rollaway. The bathroom was good sized and clean. We had room 201 which overlooked the street out front. The location is great for walking to just about everything including the town square. Excellent all the way around. Excellent all the way around!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Jonathan,
thank you for your very nice comment!
We are very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us! We hope to welcome you soon again, and if you will feel the need of more space, we will be more than happy to advice you our Superior or Suite rooms!
Have a nice day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews