We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,241 results
Traveller rating
810
350
58
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
350
58
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel free prosecco free buffet great hotel snack area free bikes hot tub lovely terrace within the walls inside the city walls the hotel staff superior room annex building strawberries loved this hotel coffee machine old town
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 1,241 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The Ilaria is very well located and we couldn't have asked for better in terms of comfort, cleanliness and friendly service from the staff and front desk. Central in Lucca it's an easy walk to anywhere. Breakfasts were excellent, We had a very memorable time here and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Good evening,

thank you so much for this kind review. We are glad to know that you had memorable time here and that you intend to come back.

We hope to see you soon,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and were so impressed, that it was our only choice upon our return in 2012. The staff (particularly Paula) were so helpful and friendly. The rooms are immaculately clean and well appointed. The added bonus is being able to take one of their bicycles out for a spin around the town. The breakfast is really impressive for a country that usually only has a coffee and a pastry in the morning, and in the afternoon you can treat yourself to some free goodies in the lobby.
All this said there were a few things that could be improved on... The mattresses were a bit hard for my taste, and my in-laws were upgraded to a nicer room but the shower was wheelchair accessible one which flooded the entire bathroom, but when we commented on it they said that they were working on fixing it as many people had complained about that particular design flaw.
If you are traveling to Lucca ( and I highly recommend that you do) I truly believe you can't do better than the Illaria.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are all similar, but the rooms across the street in their annex are a bit larger and nicer. We were upgraded, so I'm sure the nicer rooms are usually a bit more $$$
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyredhead411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Lucca is a gem of a holiday destination. It's a mediaeval city in NW Tuscany encircled by a massively thick wall, necessary for its protection in the 16th century but now, planted with trees and lawns, a delightful four kilometre walk around and above the city. We stayed at The Ilaria, just inside the wall, a gem within the gem, a charming, well-appointed hotel with attractive and comfortable rooms and the most helpful staff. It doesn't provide lunch or dinner - no need, with all the excellent and inexpensive eating places around it - but it offers a lavish complimentary breakfast, followed half an hour later by a buffet bar with complimentary snacks, coffee, tea and juice which is open until 7 pm.Lucca itself is a magical mix of mediaeval and modern: 16th century streets, piazzas, churches, towers and houses combined with chic and elegant shops and countless restaurants. Florence is an hour away and only 30 minutes away are the beaches of Viareggio, Verona, with Juliet's balcony from Romeo and Juliet (so they say!), the beautiful lake at Torre del Largo with the open-air theatre Puccini built to house performances of his operas, and the wondrous sights of Pisa. Don't miss Pisa. Stand with your back to the Duomo and look past the Cathedral to see the Leaning Tower and you will find the Tower itself leaning round the side of the Cathedral to look at you. How's that for a photo-opp!

Room Tip: Try to book into the Annexe, where the rooms are bigger, quieter and even more comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Good evening,

we are pleased to read you loved your stay in Lucca and at Hotel Ilaria too.
Thank you very much for sharing your comment on the web.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Best free breakfast and free snacks from 11-5pm. Good value for the money. We didn't get to ride the free bikes because of the rain. Hotel staff very friendly helping us find our way and with all our questions

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole2752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Goodevening and thank you very much for sharing this kind comment on TripAdvisor!
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were very happy with Ilaria. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly, professional staff that helped with whatever we needed but were not intrusive. The hotel is attractive, clean, in a great location and - a somewhat rare thing in Italy - has good wife service. Also we like the breakfast and the snack bar for the day. Although Lucca is small and it is easy to walk everywhere the hotel also offers free bike service.

The only problems for my wife and I were the very, very hard bed, and thin walls so that our neighbors were heard far too clearly..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews