We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway - loved the solitude and pool...”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
pool looking on to olive grove. 3m deep end, 1.2m shallow end.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Peace and quiet poolside as sun rises for another beautiful day.
pool looking on to olive grove. 3m deep end, 1.2m shallow end.
Entrance hall
Patio outside kitchen for al fresco dining. Table seats 10
There is a lounge with DVD and satellite tv, charming traditional features and a large old fireplace
Second our-poster bedroom with Puccini opera posters.
Another double bedroom with south-facing view.
Bunkbed room. We have side guards for young children and 2 travel cots
Gym from outside reflecting the farmhouse in one way mirrored glass.
Gym with Lifefitness machines, iPod docking station, DVD player and cables
Take a walk through the olive grove to the children's climbing frame.
View of the house and pool from the olive grove
Formal garden with lemon and lime trees.
our pool has a 1.2 metre shallow end with stairs. Deep end is 3 metres
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway - loved the solitude and pool. Perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Not sure what the last reviewer was on but we had a great time. Britta as the on-site caretaker looked after us magnificently and ensured that questions we raised were resolved quickly with many just being our understanding.

The Pool was superb - its heated from the sun through solar panels so unless the sun is shinning it doesn't get heated - pretty simple and it works. We had some hot days and it was very refreshing.

The air conditioning was a god send and very helpful to cool us down.

Our children loved the expedition to the end of the property where the climbing frame and swing set is located. They played extensively in that area.

Kitchen very well equipped - range cooker was excellent allowing us to use the double ovens to cook for our friends.

Wifi was good - could be faster but this is Italy and it was great to be able to receive UK TV. We were informed at booking that some of the terrestrial channels weren't available but this is common across Europe.

Table tennis table is being renewed we were told - but it was perfectly serviceable and no issues when using. Great to play out of the sun.

For sure with every property if you set out to find fault you will - we had a great time and will most definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
We're really pleased you had a relaxing break. Look forward to having you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
privateyn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic ”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Have stayed here twice and probably going for a third next year.
Brita & stu are perfect host there when you need them and the house
Is a lovely comfortable place to stay great for a family or group of friends definetley returning soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart O
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Everything we expected from a stay - superb place”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Not sure what the last reviewer was on but we had a great time. Britta as the on-site caretaker looked after us magnificently and ensured that questions we raised were resolved quickly with many just being our understanding.

The Pool was superb - its heated from the sun through solar panels so unless the sun is shinning it doesn't get heated. We had some hot days and it was very refreshing.

The air conditioning was a god send and very helpful to cool us down.

Our children loved the expedition to the end of the property where the climbing frame and swing set is located. They played extensively in that area.

Kitchen very well equipped - range cooker was excellent allowing us to use the double ovens to cook for our friends.

Wifi was good - could be faster but this is Italy and it was great to be able to receive UK TV. We were informed at booking that some of the terrestrial channels weren't available but this is common across Europe.

Table tennis table is being renewed we were told - but it was perfectly serviceable. Great to play out of the sun.

For sure with every property if you set out to find fault you will - we had a great time and will most definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude and quietness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth44421
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Many Good Points but Not Luxury!”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Cassa Boccina is a large property sitting in a beautiful, peaceful location yet only 5 mins. from a large free car park just outside the Lucca City walls and only 5 mins. from a good supermarket.
However, if I pay a high price I expect high standards in return and the standards of cleanliness and maintenance here are not high! This is an old farmhouse and not luxury accommodation. In my opinion people who have given this property 5* are doing the owners a disservice because the owners can believe that all is fine when in reality it is not!

Firstly, various areas were not clean. The oven and hob were grimy and had to be cleaned before use. The BBQ had to be cleaned before use. The electric towel rail in the downstairs shower room was very dirty at the back. We had to clean it as it was soiling any items put on it. The outside area around the table tennis table had to be swept of dirt and leaves. The outside chess area was rather overgrown. The brick patio of the covered outside dining area was stained with previous spills of food and drink and in desperate need of jet washing (despite 2 jet wash machines lying around). This is a large house and you did not have to look very far to find things that have not been cleaned for some time.
Secondly, various items were either absent or broken. E.g The small oven in the kitchen range is broken. The outside pool shower is broken. One of the sofas in the BBQ gazebo is broken. Several of the sun loungers need attention. The painted surface of the table tennis table came off on our hands during play. There was no climbing frame or swing set. (we had not been told about this even though we had children with us). No BBC channels on the TV. The much vaunted solar pool heating was not readily available even though the weather had turned cooler. It took 3 separate requests to get the system put through. There is no pool cover so the pool loses heat at night. There are no locks on the upper floor bathrooms. Normal kitchen/food waste has to be taken by you to the roadside bins over ½ km away. During our stay, the gardener/caretaker was not there. Britta and family were living in the other large house opposite the farmhouse. The web site details and photos are clearly in need of updating.
Cassa Boccina does have some really good points. It is large and in large grounds. The pool is wonderful. It is big and deep at one end and the best pool we have had so far. The kitchen is very well equipped with most things you need. The crockery and cutlery are good quality. Bed linen and pillows are good but the actual beds are far from luxury. The Eco. Air con. System works well – it was lovely to come back to cool bedrooms and kitchen. Britta was friendly, helpful and available when we needed assistance.
I have taken time over this review because we did have a lovely holiday and with the right amount of cleaning and maintenance input this property could achieve 5 stars.
I would not recommend this property with the high rental price unless you can secure assurances over the items raised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Lack of Cleanliness and maintenance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph T
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectation!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place is a wonderful vacation rental home right at the heart of Lucca. Britta, Stuart, and Roger (lucky to have him around for a quick ride to the train station) are wonderful, kind, accommodating, responsive (in-person or by email), and outstanding hosts of this beautiful Tuscan villa. We have everything we need in the kitchen, including food essentials. We were late on our first day arrival at the Villa because we didn't know how to use the validation machine of Trenitalia. Stuart not only waited for us, but also did grocery for our first dinner and first breakfast (heaven sent!). We cooked every night for straight six days! Lots of laughter and sharing of stories during dinnertime. This place is so equipped, we all felt like we have a home away from home.

For future vacationers to this place, I recommend seeing the movie, Under the Tuscan Sun to gear up your dream Tuscany vacation in Lucca. Bring the most special people in your life. This is a place to create, share, and cherish lifetime memories.

Here are a few emails I sent to Britta and Stuart during my stay at Casa Boccina. They are among the highlights of this trip. Note: I was with my eight US-based colleagues.

On 25 Jun 2015, at 14:48, Joseph D Tariman PhD <phdinseattle@yahoo.com> wrote:
I just want you to know we are using the organic fresh mints adjacent to the outdoor dining table (natural weed control). Joseph

On 25 Jun 2015, at 06:09:
I saw two deer while walking in the neighborhood - what a pleasant surprise!

On 24 Jun 2015:

The private tour to Florence with wine tasting at Fiatorria Dianella was excellent. Great winery with great wine to purchase after the tour. Good way to stock up wine for the entire week!

In summary, I will be back next year again!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
We're really pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday. I see you've booked again for next year so see you then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$430
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing