We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

L'angolo - xin wang jiao
Ranked #1,202 of 3,083 Restaurants in Florence
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: San Lorenzo
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Menu very hard to understand, food comes out in dribs and drabs, no such thing as starters first and mains second as apparently Chinese food is served this way, it comes when it’s ready! Maybe in Italy! Food nothing exciting, can only say we won’t be back

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank roxyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

I love this place!!!

I have just come home from my 4th time here and it's time to actually review it. We were taken there by some Chinese friends and I'm so glad we went.

I'm going to start with

The service:

It's a very chinese style service, which means it's not polite and some people may think it's brash and rude but here's the thing, cultures are different, typically in China it's rude to be overly polite as it shows there's a "wall" between you rather than you being friends or equals...look at it as a casual place ran by people rather than upmarket dining service and you'll understand the place a bit better.

Food:

Everything I have eaten here has been fresh and delicious.
The spicy veal is great and my partner loves the sour spicy pork. We always get dumplings and rice and typically a chow mein too.
The roasted duck is crispy,salty and perfectly tastes of anise.

Atmosphere:

This is the only real major downside, there really isn't any athmosphere...it's quite quiet with the odd chinese group coming in.

Price:

It's cheap, 2 mains, rice, a side, dumplings a large beer and a cola come to about 27€ and we leave incredibly full. Much much cheaper than most italian fare in town

Summary:

If you're not looking for fancy service or an amazing atmosphere but great chinese food at a very good price point...go here!! But remember this review and know what you're expecting service and atmosphere wise and I hope you'll enjoy it as much as I did.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank jamieleerees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

After a few dissapointing experiences in italian restaurants (where the servers were too smug) we tried this and it was GREAT! Crazy nice staff. Actually in all our Italy trip, these were the nicest ppl we met. Awesome fresh tasting and delicious food. The prices are also very very alright for this kind of quality and authentic food. All in all: if you like Chinese Food, this is a must!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank starwarsgeek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went here one night over dinner. The food quantity is huge. Staff is friendly and speaks English. Food is extremely reasonably priced and tastes good. If someone is craving for something other than the pizzas pastas and the steak. I would definitely recommend a visit to l'angolo for a quick bite of Chinese food

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank mitaliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I'm from Thailand. I'm travel for a short time to Italy. I like this place. The staff were friendly smile and food is good.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Weerawuth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'angolo - xin wang jiao also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'angolo - xin wang jiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing