We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in an old family palazzo in Florence”
Review of Leone Blu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leone Blu
Ranked #40 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Located on one level of an old palazzo that is still occupied by the original, vineyard-owning family (on the top floor), Leone Blu is a boutique hotel (with the spirit of an upmarket guest house) in the heart of Florence. Each of its 9 spacious suites is each decorated in a unique style that effortlessly blends the splendour of an old family palazzo with the most modern of amenities and design touches. Each object in the rooms appears to have a purpose and has been placed with extreme care. Most rooms feature split levels or raised "balcony seating". The staff is extremely gracious and friendly. I realise this sounds like an owner-sponsored review, but this is truly a hidden gem in the heart of Florence - though it is not necessarily inexpensive...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kasim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

This 15th century palazzo has been in the famous local Ricasoli family for hundreds of years. Now converted to a luxury B & B where each room is a unique suite on two levels decorated to a high modern standard.

Friendly and helpful staff will make you feel like you are a special guest. Our room opened onto the reception so there was always someone at hand.

Breakfast was very good and adequate for our tastes and typically Italian; don't expect a huge range or choice.

Situated on the Lungarno a 5 minute walk from Ponte Vecchio and the Uffiizi, 10 minutes from the Duomo and very quiet even in peak season.

This is at the higher end of the market in price. If you like the classic hotel with all the extras, noisy neighbours, the sound of car horns, impersonal staff where you are just the couple in Room 501 then don't stay here. if you want something smaller, more intimate and grand you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Choose a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

From the outset, I need to state, if you are looking for a hotel where you are surrounded by many fellow guests during breakfast, having a porter at the door, standing around awaiting your command, with tourists dragging in and out their suitcases, with facilities of lunch, dinner and room service, this is not the place for you.

If you want a residence, a suite, with discreet service, relaxing and at times, incredibly quiet atmosphere, with the touches of a home, that still houses the owner of this building, where you get the feeling, that you are in fact a member of the florentine community, not a tourist, well this is the place for, as it was for me.

We stayed in Leone Blu for 4 nights and simply, it felt like home and we could have stayed there for months. I often wondered in my travels, what is behind those huge timber doors of European building you see the locals come out of, how does it feel to be a local ? Well I felt it and have absolutely no regrets in trying an alternative, to the typical hotel chain scene.

The building is one of history, with the building being owned now by the same family, 3rd generation. The original owner was the "Baron" of chianti wines, which in the afternoon, they offer in a family atmosphere, a taste of their own wines. Throughout the building are clear touches of family, with photos of children, weddings, antique furniture with the occasionally splash of modern fixtures, like light stands.

Our suite room was the "Geremia", which was huge with an equally huge double shower. Our views were of the river, the historic site of Florence, and the community going about there business on a hot and steamy period. Our air conditioning was excellent, keeping our room cool consistently after a long day walking the streets.

Within the room is an elevated section with a comfortable lounge to sit and reflect on the day. The ceiling is at least 6 metres high, so for those who hate stuffy hotel low ceiling rooms, like me, this is a welcome surprise.

Breakfast is typically simple and Italian, with very hot coffee, without asking for it to be extra hot, wonderful. Location, absolutely perfect, 10 minute walk from the railway station, 5 minutes from Ponto Vecchio, with numerous, down to earth "casa linga" type restaurants plus some classy ones too.

So if you are looking for a place like home, not your typical hotel, where you feel you're the only guest, do try Leone Blu residenza, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Radaconsultants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This historic palace is a hidden gem that has enhanced my experience in Florence. With the antique fixtures, vaulted ceilings, and spaciousness really has exceeded my expectations. This hotel room is more like a home than a standard hotel room. The staff has been so helpful for finding a market, sights to see, to the best restaurant recommendations. I would highly recommend this for your stay in Florence.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

The location was perfect. Staff was extremely helpful and super nice especially Daniel . Room was spacious and nice . Breakfast was standard and could be improved.
Some parts of the hotel felt empty or filled with modern things which to me didn't fit the theme but otherwise i enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dr_Sam_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice1474, Proprietario at Leone Blu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your appreciation and for your kind suggestions.

We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Florence.

Best Regards,

The Leone Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#199 of 410 in Florence
322 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,582 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,137 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,325 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leone Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leone Blu

Address: Piazza Carlo Goldoni, 2 | Piazza Carlo Goldoni, 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: €194 - €395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient Palazzo Ricasoli has now become a historic hotel, Leone Blu. At the Ponte alla Carraia with terrific views on the river Arno and on the medieval Florence. Built in 1474 by will of Rinieri Ricasoli and ever since it has uninterruptedly belonged to the family. During the Europe Grand Tour period, XIX and XX centuries, it was the Grand Hotel de New York, giving accommodation to important personalities of the art and culture. Located in the heart of the city, less than 10 minutes walking distance from the Santa Maria Novella railway station and two steps away from via della Vigna and only 200 mtrs from via de' Tornabuoni. All the most important places in Florence are walking distance from Leone Blu. Leone Blu offers its salons and nine suites, each one decorated differently, to guests who wish to enjoy a truly authentic Florence, it is a private palace which opens its doors to everyone, it twill thus be accessible at all times : for a small breakfast, coffee, special aperitif, wine-tasting or meeting. This will be an elegant and reserved location open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Prestigia so you can book your Leone Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing