We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but dont expect too much.”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #346 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Firstly this hotel was fine and the 2 star rating takes into account other places we have stayed on our trip. It did the job without us taking any pleasure from the stay and not feeling too awful.

We only had to stay one night here so the hotel did the job without any frills. It was clean enough. The bed was comfortable enough. The room was very basic and so was the hotel.

Very close to the train station which was the biggest positive and everything is a reasonable walk away in Florence anyway.

Reception is a few flights of stairs up which was fine for us but may cause others issues.

Basically in a pinch I would stay here again but I wouldn't seek it out. We were in a pinch this time and we managed ok with this hotel.

Best for budget or back packers or for very short stays.

Staff were friendly and let us leave our bags there and we appreciated that.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Misleading on Trivago and Expedia, doesn't show correct price. They take out the taxes that everyone else includes to make it look cheaper..... once you book, they add 25% more on top for taxes.... absolute scam.
Disappointed in Expedia as well for allowing it's customers to be taken advantage of....

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobby20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Hotel is located right next to the train station, very central, and easy to get to all main attraction. max 15 min walk.
Hotel is quite clean, tho it looks old and clearly need a renovation.
Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
Hotel is better for backpackers, or passerby tourist, wouldn't recommend to stay there for long time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakarauskaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not flexible. I booked the room through a travel website, wanted to reschedule my stay for the next day, willing to pay the difference, the travel agency contacted them, but they rejected our request. I also email the hotel a couple of times but they never contacted me. On other words I lost time and money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Isis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear guest,
on the review we do not know absolutely what it is ! Meanwhile qualifies with a reservation number after which we will give you an answer about his case .
However most likely your reservation is non-refundable taken with an offer. Then the restrictions were transparent from the beginning . As a reminder for the next time to book directly at the property .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We were really disappointed with this hotel. First although they said that the hotel was on the first floor and no lifts, in reality we had to climb three floors to arrive at the reception. Being middle-aged travellers with heavy luggage it was not easy to lug our bags up all those steps and there was no one to help either. Fortunately we got a room on the same floor but the other rooms were on floors above so beware.
Secondly the rooms although spacious was gloomy and absolutely not sound proof. One could hear every time some one in the adjoining rooms used the toilets as though they were actually in our room and also you could hear people talking so it was not pleasant at all.

Thirdly the toilet was old and the tap of the shower came off. The floor in the shower was not sloped and the entire toilet got wet when we bathed. The down-pipe cover was loose and kept coming off making a huge noise and the washbasin tap dripped. The extractor fan made an absolutely huge noise.

Fourthly, the breakfast area was really small and the tables had only wooden stools which were back to back and was very uncomfortable as you literally had the other person pasted onto you from behind. The tables also were only for two and there were only few tables. The tables were placed in a narrow corridor one behind the other. So there was hardly any room to move specially if there were three sitting at a table. Not good at all.

The girl at the reception was nice and friendly.

The hotel is located right in front of the railway station and the tourist sights are all within walking distance which was nice. The restaurant right next to it served very good food and the hotel gave us a voucher for a 10% discount which was nice.

Will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the same floor as the reception to avoid climbing many stairs as there are three fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuwanthiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#303 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#269 of 410 in Florence
256 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#245 of 410 in Florence
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 410 in Florence
713 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#270 of 410 in Florence
178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#277 of 410 in Florence
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: €29 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing