We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading on Trivago and Expedia, doesn't show correct price”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #344 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Misleading on Trivago and Expedia, doesn't show correct price. They take out the taxes that everyone else includes to make it look cheaper..... once you book, they add 25% more on top for taxes.... absolute scam.
Disappointed in Expedia as well for allowing it's customers to be taken advantage of....

Room Tip: Don't book here
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hermes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Hotel is located right next to the train station, very central, and easy to get to all main attraction. max 15 min walk.
Hotel is quite clean, tho it looks old and clearly need a renovation.
Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.
Hotel is better for backpackers, or passerby tourist, wouldn't recommend to stay there for long time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakarauskaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not flexible. I booked the room through a travel website, wanted to reschedule my stay for the next day, willing to pay the difference, the travel agency contacted them, but they rejected our request. I also email the hotel a couple of times but they never contacted me. On other words I lost time and money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Isis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelhermes, Proprietario at Hotel Hermes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear guest,
on the review we do not know absolutely what it is ! Meanwhile qualifies with a reservation number after which we will give you an answer about his case .
However most likely your reservation is non-refundable taken with an offer. Then the restrictions were transparent from the beginning . As a reminder for the next time to book directly at the property .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We were really disappointed with this hotel. First although they said that the hotel was on the first floor and no lifts, in reality we had to climb three floors to arrive at the reception. Being middle-aged travellers with heavy luggage it was not easy to lug our bags up all those steps and there was no one to help either. Fortunately we got a room on the same floor but the other rooms were on floors above so beware.
Secondly the rooms although spacious was gloomy and absolutely not sound proof. One could hear every time some one in the adjoining rooms used the toilets as though they were actually in our room and also you could hear people talking so it was not pleasant at all.

Thirdly the toilet was old and the tap of the shower came off. The floor in the shower was not sloped and the entire toilet got wet when we bathed. The down-pipe cover was loose and kept coming off making a huge noise and the washbasin tap dripped. The extractor fan made an absolutely huge noise.

Fourthly, the breakfast area was really small and the tables had only wooden stools which were back to back and was very uncomfortable as you literally had the other person pasted onto you from behind. The tables also were only for two and there were only few tables. The tables were placed in a narrow corridor one behind the other. So there was hardly any room to move specially if there were three sitting at a table. Not good at all.

The girl at the reception was nice and friendly.

The hotel is located right in front of the railway station and the tourist sights are all within walking distance which was nice. The restaurant right next to it served very good food and the hotel gave us a voucher for a 10% discount which was nice.

Will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the same floor as the reception to avoid climbing many stairs as there are three fl...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuwanthiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
222
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is just next to the main station of florence which is Santa maria Nouvella, and every where we wanted to go was only 10 minutes walk, the hotel itself was ok , Nothing bad Nothing special , we stayed 2 nights and the cleaning lady forgot to clean our room but as soon as we mentioned it , they cleaned it , so problem solved, Just be careful that they charge you 10 € per room at the end not 10€ each person. The breakfast was normal and to be honest we didn't care cause we wanted a coffee just to get out and eat in the city centre.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 411 in Florence
255 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#287 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#303 of 411 in Florence
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#279 of 411 in Florence
53 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#275 of 411 in Florence
450 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#119 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: €45 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing