We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Hermes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
Ranked #347 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location of the hotel is near to the railway station. It come with the basic facilities like a hostel minus the kitchen for the hostel guest. The room is big with moderate size toilet. The room does come with television and not safe deposit box (if you need either of this or both). The hotel does not have an elevator and each level required you to climb two set of stairs in order to reach the reception. (Those with bag pack will have no issue as we are carrying trolley luggage then we will have to hand carry up the stair in order to reach the reception.) Not sure if it provide free storage for luggage as we have not used the service. It provide and come with breakfast. However we stay for two night and we only received one day breakfast as the check-out day we left early and there was no pre-pack breakfast for us. The lobby to the room on the third floor (where I stay) is dark and when people open and closed the door we inside the room will know as there is something like a vacuum suction. The Main Railway Station is about 5-mins Walking Distance and also there is a supermarket just down the stair of the railway station just on the way to the hotel. And the wifi is only available at the lobby area as we have no reception within our room.

Room Tip: Ask for level 2 room (Same floor with the reception) at least it is brighter and should have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

This hotel is down the block and across the street from the station, but our room was very quiet. The proprietor was very friendly. The free WiFi did not reach our room at the front of the building, but did reach a comfortable common area. Continental breakfast was served at small tables with stools in a hallway which was fine for us with only one other guest present but would prove problematic for a group when the hotel is full. The hotel was clean, quiet, and really well situated with regards to the station, to the Duomo and David. One caveat - our room came with a half dozen mosquitos which interrupted our sleep. Flecks on the walls indicated at least one previous guest was forced to make use of a paperback as I did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is conveniently located close to the train station and not far from restaurants and attractions. The owner (Patricia) is fantastic - so friendly and helpful and gave us some fantastic info on the sights you would not normally get. Breakfast was OK and the cappucino was the best I have had in Italy. If you are going for 2 star give this a go. For Fierenze the price is good and location fantastic (50 m from train station). Unfortunately I have decided I am not a 2 star traveller. Bathroom was very very small and noise travelled very easily. People walking down the hall, the alarm for people coming up the stairs and the coffee machine at 0730 meant little sleep for me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I met big trouble in Italy and luckily received kind and patient help from the owner of Hermes.The lady helped a lot about my card and my solutions in cash...The bed and comfortable and just next to the train station also with a fair price.I should say Hermes is really trustful and good!Hope it good always!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kecheng z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The place is very simple and will cover your needs, very close to the main train station, the main attractions, wonderful staff, who would help you to the ultimate limit, your stay is sure to be pleasant with them.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalaMasreya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#304 of 410 in Florence
245 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#264 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#244 of 410 in Florence
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#197 of 410 in Florence
712 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#269 of 410 in Florence
178 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#277 of 410 in Florence
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Via Luigi Alamanni 11, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: €29 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermes 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small 2 star (7rrooms with private bathroom and 7 which share 3 bathrooms) no frills family run hotel 50 mts. from the main SMN train station and within walking distance of all monuments, museums and historical sites. In Italian, English, French and Spanish we give our guests all the information required to make the best out of their visit to Florence and surrounding Tuscan cities. Cleanliness and cordiality are our priorities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing