We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful location and a most helpful manager.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #250 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and a most helpful manager.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We found the hotel hard to find, but once we knew where it was we thought the location was great. A larger and more obvious sign would help a lot. Based on the location, price (for lodging in Florence) and how helpful the manager was I consider this place a great value. I recommend it for the bargain hunter.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marvinhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    91
    63
    19
    8
See reviews for
13
101
60
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Everything that I like in hotel! Very very warm and helpful staff! Prices are good, location couldn't be better and the building the hotel is in is amazing!
Not much to say except that I would go back there if I'm any time back in Florence!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctgalrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

This isn't a bad hotel, but we did encounter a few issues with our overnight stay. It's easy enough to find, directly across from the Medici Chapel. Large, imposing wooden doors shield its stone interior; the doors creak open, quite creepily, as you buzz to get in. You have to climb a few flights of stairs in the dimly lit building to get to the lobby (there's a well-concealed elevator but we didn't try it). Aldo himself greets you at the front desk. He's friendly and bursting with conversation - which is welcoming, but maybe overwhelming for two college-aged girls who had been searching for an open room for more than an hour after a previous reservation fell through.

He said, for the night, we would be charged 65 euros (standard double room). Sure, fine. I bring down the money and go back upstairs. My friend tells me she can't get the air conditioner to turn on so I head back downstairs to ask Aldo for help. Before I can speak, he interjects - saying I handed him 55 euros and not 65 euros. Impossible - my friend and I had each counted our money. We had a specific amount left in our wallets after paying for the room. But no, according to Aldo, we were 10 euro short (I guess from the moment I turned my back to the front desk). Cool. We give him another 10 euro (now we've possibly paid 75 for the night) and try to ignore the fact that we may have just got played - because we're American? Naive? Women? Who knows. It happened. We were too taken aback to argue. It was uncomfortable. Be careful when paying - for your own good, count the money in front of Aldo (or pay by card... although I'd avoid that in this situation).

Beds were hard, room was small - European standard. Bathroom was tight with a shower not separated from the toilet area (we didn't use the shower, wasn't worth the flood). It's in a good location, close to the Duomo and market stands. Breakfast in the morning was decent - a brioche, butter, nutella spread, orange juice/coffee.

Bottom line: Try and find somewhere else to go before this hotel. Aldobrandini is a passable last resort, but nonetheless a last resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleTanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and the position is fantastic. Our shower, however, was black with dirt and our bathroom was not cleaned every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Yes, it's a historic building, but once inside the hotel, there's no sense of it. One of the owners was friendly (the woman was not). I had a single room with shower/toilet. The shower did not drain well, but at least there was a tiny shower stall. The bed was not comfortable -- similar to the roll-away beds used for extra guests, etc. Breakfast was included but poor -- a croissant or two, coffee from a machine, and orange-colored sugar water. It was one of the lowest rates I was able to find, so no regrets about trying the place once

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#241 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#271 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#305 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#276 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#117 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
San Lorenzo
Giotto
Giotto
#254 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Property: Hotel Aldobrandini
Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing