We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
68
45
15
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
45
15
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini kitchen great location comfortable beds third floor walking distance no lift train station minute walk hostel balcony kettle bathroom duomo map attractions
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2015

I enjoyed 4 nights here at this great little find. Marta welcomed me and offered so much information and the other days Angela was there always with a smile and a warm disposition.
Locanda Daniel is perfectly situated for everything Florence has to offer and is within a few hundred metres of the train station, always a bonus when you turn up hot, tired and with backpack.
This a cosy little hostel, not a party one, just a few rooms but the essentials were there: good wifi, good aircon, good showers and cleanliness. Towels are provided freely and beds are made daily along with room cleaning. As a frequent hostel user I really appreciated these touches.
Recommendations for eating etc turned out to be genuine (Mostodolce just next door had great food at good prices along with an interesting range of their own microbrewery beers and La Cocotte, next to Mostodolce, did perfect coffee etc. Just around the corner there are the open and indoor markets and a minute or two after that all the major sites, very easily reached on foot. A bus pass is a complete waste.
The small kitchenette provides a fridge, kettle and microwave plus cutlery and crockery and tea making facilities so cooking is not really an option but that seems pretty standard for all the hostels I used in Italy on this trip and the local food is so reasonable. The little supermarket opposite provided everything so I quickly put together a good salad and enjoyed this on the hostel balcony on at least two evenings, enjoying this in peace overlooking the red topped roofs to the dome and tower of The Duomo, perfect.
Thank you Marta and Angela, I happily recommend Locanda Daniel as a homely hostel for visiting Florence.

Room Tip: All rooms on same level, 3rd floor, and a maximum of around 18 guests
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaIYT, Proprietario at Locanda Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Ciao Mike, your description so detailed is fantastic! we are really happy of your appreciation.This review encourages us to do more and more our best to make you feel at home :-) Cristina, Marta e Serena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I spent one night here in August. Great location in the centre of Florence, near the train station Santa Maria Novella, Duomo and others must-see points. The room was clean, there was a sink in room, bed comfortable, kitchen and two bathrooms shared with others visitors. The hostel staff was really friendly and helpful, I received a map for free and directions what to see, where to eat, where to go shopping (greetings for Martha!). It’s a really good option for people who want to spend time in Florence without spending much money.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaS2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaIYT, Proprietario at Locanda Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Ciao Paula, thank you for coming at Locanda Daniel, we wish to you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

The hostel is an ideal option for travelers on a budget that are looking for a room with basic amenities. The room was spacious enough for 2 people and included a sink. The hostel has a kitchen and bathrooms, which are shared with other visitors. The bed was the most comfortable from my stay in Florence, as a large queen sized bed was provided in the room I stayed in. The hostel staff were friendly and provided all the information you will need during your stay, including instructions for getting inside as staff members are present only from 9:00 - 13:00. It was about a 10 minute walk to the San Lorenzo markets from the hotel, and there are several cafes across the street from the hotel. The hotel is ideal for those that need basic amenities at a low cost.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LucyC_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

What a great place! Me and my boyfriend came here expecting a typical hostel but really it was just a cute little hotel!!! We had a private room which was very large and well decorated with plenty of wardrobe space- a rare occurrence these days- two bathrooms that we could access and a kitchen which we would use daily to make our breakfast and sit out on the balcony to see the amazing view!!! Huge value for money, staff are wonderful and attentive and the wifi is also fantastic! Would stay here again happily! (Also in a great location, and the recommended restaurant Mama Napoli was the restaurant we ate at every night!!!)

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We had a private room... it was perfect for our stay! We had a sink in the room, were next door to the shared bathroom, and had a room with a view! The room also had air conditioning which was a plus. Kitchenette was convenient for eating cheap; we bought groceries and ate with plates/silverware at the hostel. Staff were friendly and easy to work with.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank CEtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews