We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Ghiro
Ranked #65 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. Perfect location close to train station. The family who run this were great and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Although no breakfast is provided there is a kitchen area and tea and coffee provided. You may also use the washing machine. The room was clean and comfortable. The area/location was perfect. Easy to walk to all atttactions.

Would highly recommend.

(Not suitable for those with mobility issues as no lift and located at top of building.)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenAaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016

I have stayed here on two of my visits to Florence, one time that I did n't the owner recognised me from across the street and ran over to welcome me to Florence again and exclaim, Laura (he remembered my name) why are you not staying with me?! This gives an example of how you will feel looked after if you stay here. The only reason that I did n't book was that they had been full. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: En suite rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lauratame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Il Ghiro, "the door mouse", is a clean and very comfortable guesthouse just around the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station. It's in a great location, just blocks from the fabulous market for lunch, and easy walking distance to the Duomo, Accademia, and the Uffizi gallery. Rooms come either with or without en suite bathrooms, and there are good communal spaces for cooking, laundry, or just hanging out. We were very surprised by the excellent water temperature and pressure in the shower: not the typical lukewarm and low flow we noticed sometimes when travelling. Very good quality for a very good price.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed here for a week. The location is fantastic as it is just a few minutes from the bus and train station while being very close to the city. You therefore have most places within minutes reach.
The accommodation is run by a family who are very friendly and helpful. They can suggest places to visit and good restaurants. There are about 4 rooms which make it small and cozy. It is quiet both day and night.

There is only one bathroom, but there was never a queue since there are so few who live there. There is a small kitchen in the hallway with a small refrigerator and cooking plates but no oven. Wifi-access in the rooms.
It should also be added that the accommodation is on the 4th floor without elevator.


If you want a quiet and pleasant accommodation near the station and town I would recommended this

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shoshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Il Ghiro is a short distance from many of the places you'll want to see. As soon as we arrived, our host showed us our room, marked off important places on a map, and gave us great lunch recommendations. But if you need more info when a staff member isn't around, they have plenty of it in their common space. We had a room for 2 people and shared a bathroom with a couple other guests. Everything is clean and comfortable!

Stayed: April 2015
Thank Aleson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#12 of 326 in Florence
410 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#23 of 326 in Florence
204 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
B&B Tre Gigli Firenze
#43 of 326 in Florence
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#16 of 326 in Florence
868 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#35 of 326 in Florence
390 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 326 in Florence
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ghiro

Address: Via Faenza 63, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 326 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range: €38 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Ghiro is a small Guesthouse just two blocks from the Railway Station of Santa Maria Novella and one from S.Lorenzo market , in a quiet pedestrian street.Credit cards accepted , free luggage storage on arrival and departure. Free WI-FI in the rooms and one PC at your disposal in the lounge, 24/7. Kitchen facilities, coffee maker and water kettle included. TV- DVD SAT in every room and air-conditioning in the ensuite rooms. Laundry available. Complimentary coffee & tea . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Il Ghiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Ghiro Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing