We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
356
127
47
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
127
47
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area tuscan countryside overlooking florence junior suite lovely pool porta romana a short cab ride our honeymoon walk into town special thanks narrow streets visiting florence ponte vecchio fabulous hotel rooms are large breakfast was included gym
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Hotel was really beautiful, rooms comfortable. Bed was medium firm. Trying to figure out how to work faucets for shower and sink was kinda tricky in our junior suite. Ads say all suites have frescos, not true, junior suites don't. Only two rooms (both suites) have that. Ads also imply it's a 10 minute walk to Florence, was more like 10-15 mins in cab to get to center of town. It's on a steep hill, you gotta really like walking to do that one multiple times a day. Pool area was awesome, nice view. Got a chefs tasting menu for my birthday which as adventurous as we are with our pallet, it was a little weird, but they pour wine very liberally so I didn't care that they served octopus with a thick bean soup or pigeon. Would def go back the views are just amazing and I like the quiet break from being in the city.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Five stars does not do this hotel justice! Superb accommodation lovely friendly helpful staff and an un paralleled restaurant panoramic views of Florence this place has everything. I heartily reckoned this hotel

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank manslag j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived very late in the evening so difficult to have a good first impression - the hotel is tucked away at the top of a hill accessed via a winding road and was extremely quiet. For the first couple of days it felt like we were the only guests there - but not in a good way, it’s kind of creepy!

The location, whilst beautiful, is a little awkward being a 20-30 minute hilly walk away from old town Florence. Taxis are available quickly, but it gets fairly pricey to do this a few times a day. To be fair, we were aware of the distance from the centre of Florence before we booked, but perhaps not aware of the terrain!

The breakfast was good, a buffet with lots to choose from, and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The view across Florence is stunning.

The pool is nice, again a beautiful view. The gym (one of the main reasons we booked this hotel) was perfect for us. Good equipment and we basically had it to ourselves. Towels and water not always available, those small touches would have been appreciated.

But where the hotel flourishes is the restaurant. Dinner is not cheap but wow, the food is incredible. We ordered the beef if I remember right and it was one of the best meals we’ve ever had. The dessert was also perfect and presented beautifully.
This would be a reason to return for us.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rachelevans85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

I was bought this trip as a gift, so when I read a couple of bad reviews, I was a little worried. My worries were completely unfounded! What a fantastic place. Huge rooms. Spotlessly clean. The views from the dining room and pool are amazing. The staff have been superb, from the twice a day maids, to the receptionist, the restaurant, and especially the guys at the pool.
We ate in the restaurant on our last night. It was absolutely faultless. One of the best meals I have ever had.
A couple of tips- wear the flip flops provided round the pool. I picked up a splinter from the deck. It’s also easy to miss , but the far side of the pool has a small jacuzzi area. The button is under the waterline.
We enjoyed the walk into town but always got a cab back. Avoid the long queues for cabs at the station. Flag one down in the nearby streets . There’s another rank in piazza Santa Maria.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We found this hotel almost by accident as we planned a week away in Florence and boy are we glad we did as it is a little gem of a hotel. A former private residence the villa has been beautifully refurbished as a boutique hotel sitting in the Tuscan hills overlooking Florence.

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and kind and throughout our stay did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

Our room was perfectly fitted out for a comfortable stay - indeed the bed was both extremely comfortable and enormous - with a well appointed en suite bathroom. Every room has a view over the rooftops of Florence which was perfect, waking up each morning and seeing the whole of Florence spread out below us was wonderful. As were all of the principle areas in the hotel; the dining room, the lounge, the terrace and the pool.

Although the hotel is situated in the hills it was only an easy half hour walk down the hill into the centre of Florence making a visit to the Uffizi Gallery or the Ponte Vecchio easy and stress free. It is possible to get a taxi down, obviously, but it is quite expensive. We would recommend a taxi back though as it is quite a steep hill back to the Villa.

We had a couple of meals at the hotel (although most of the time we were eating in Florence itself) and they were superb. The main evening meal we had at the hotel was truly exceptional and, whilst comparatively expensive, it was worth every penny!

This is a fantastic hotel and the perfect place to relax and recharge. We will certainly be staying here again on our next visit to Florence.

Room Tip: All the rooms promise a view of Florence so I would suggest they are likely to be good rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank STW324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews