We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - outstanding staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Ranked #29 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel - outstanding staff!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012 via mobile

Hotel Santa Maria Novella is lovely. Just a short walk to the SMN station and every other site you may want to see. Breakfast is bountiful and delicious. It was however, the excellent staff that really made my stay. From the moment I arrived they were attentive and kind. This holds true from the very knowledgeable front desk staff to the housekeepers, the bell men, and the servers at breakfast. Everyone was so helpful in making my stay in Florence a most memorable and enjoyable experience. This was my second stay, and will definitely come back. B

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    404
    61
    9
    13
See reviews for
300
899
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Visited off-season (December 2011) and got a great rate. Having grown quite weary of overpriced European hotel rooms, Santa Maria Novella was a pleasant surprise. It is a beautifully appointed hotel and almost all the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Among other things, they helped us book a shuttle to Florence's famed outlet mall.

The location suited us fine. We wanted a place that was walking distance from the railway station, and managed fine despite having 3 large pieces of luggage. The Duomo is less than 10 minutes' walk away. Recommended restaurants in the neighbourhood include Osteria delle Belle Donne.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Great service at the desk, very helpful staff in the breakfast room. Stayed only 3 nights in this fabulous hotel, wish we could have stayed longer. Room was somewhat small, but we loved the size of the shower (no elbows hitting shower walls!), the bed was big enough and very comfortable, wifi worked without any problems at all (and was free), and breakfast was delicious. Good selection of juices, fresh fruit salad, hot cakes, excellent scrambled eggs and coffee - and lovely setting. Good selection of newspapers, too!
Rooms are nicely furnished with a fridge and tea/coffee/hot water facilities. Faced the piazza and enjoyed the comings and goings of people and dogs (seemed mostly dogs!)...would love to come back soon, that's for sure. Great little sitting area on top of the hotel with excellent 360 degree views of Firenze and mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the piazza - upgrades are possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

On the corner of this quiet piazza , yet five minutes from the main station this boutique hotel exceeded our every expectation.
A warm welcome greeted us on arrival from the attentive staff.
We were then taken to our beautiful room, with roof terrace, that was so warm with its furnishings and decor. Great bathroom. Immaculate housekeeping.
Super breakfast buffet in ornate surroundings. Great advice and help from the concierge
with both sightseeing and restaurants.
Cannot recommend more highly, especially given its central location.

Room Tip: The concierge gave us the best available room on arrival. Ideally overlook the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

When I was planning my trip to Florence I had a difficult time finding a place to stay. Finally I decided that we would splurge in Florence and stay at the Santa Maria Novella. – BIG MISTAKE. Here I was thinking we were going to be staying in a beautiful hotel, when in fact the rooms were very dirty and the front staff was rude.
My boyfriend and I were extremely excited about arriving in Florence. We came in on the train, and found the hotel extremely easily. It was definitely a nice perk not to have to run all over Florence with your bags on the cobblestone; but once we arrived at the hotel, there was a ‘mix up’ and there were no available rooms. I was extremely upset about this since I spent so much time researching the hotel and didn’t feel comfortable being thrown into one of their ‘sister hotels.’ After an hour of waiting they were able to find a room for us. From their attitude and the way they responded, I personally feel like this is a scam that they do regularly. They build up a reputation at one hotel, and then toss their guests into sister locations.
Yes, this hotel has a nice décor but beneath the ‘Lovely drapes’ and expensive looking bathroom it was DIRTY. Every time we showered the bathroom was flooded, which probably explains why the door frames were rotting and the all MOLD!
The walk to the center of everything isn’t very far, but by no means in the center of things – but that wasn’t a problem for us. I still say – DON’T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Down2Mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Property: Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing