We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #311 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stay at the Centro for 2 days and really enjoyed the location...the room was average and the staff was friendly eventhough lack of english speaking. All in all
we had a good two days in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bustermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    114
    93
    42
    35
See reviews for
60
160
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The PROS: Hotel Centro is located in a good location within reasonable walking distance (around 25 min walk with suitcases, while orienting yourself) from Firenze SMN station. On the street, there are minimarts, cafes, and the leather market. The Duomo & David is about 5-10 min walk away.

The hotel itself is in a very old building which requires you to press two buzzers to get through two large doors. From there, you take a very tiny elevator (big enough for 1 + suitcase) to the 1st floor where the hotel lobby is located.

The CONS:

The hotel advertises many times on its own personal website that the entire property is air conditioned and that all 16 rooms have air conditioning. Well, I just stayed at the hotel and I can confirm that this is A LIE.

When I checked in, I noticed my receipt said that A/C in my room was "not available" (my stay was during mid-August which was quite HOT in Florence)... When questioned, I was told my room had no A/C, just one fan. I asked about why they falsely advertised that all their rooms had A/C, when this would have played a part in our choice of hotel. He just said that there were no rooms with A/C left for 3 people throughout all 3 nights of my stay, that I have no choice. That was deceptive of them to advertise in such a way, only for us to be surprised upon check-in.

The ceiling fan was poorly installed and extremely loud. When we opened the windows, mosquitos came into the room since there was no netting and I got a few bites on my leg. So we kept them shut. We've spent 3 nights with hardly any sleep because of the intense heat, with just one loud, old fan circulating hot air around the room for three.

Here's the digusting part. The shower door had come off the hinge, causing some water to come out of the shower, and we used towels to keep the bathroom floor dry. The next day, during room cleaning, they took the wet towels off the floor, and hung them over the shower for us to reuse. We went downstairs to ask for clean towels since those ones were used to clean the water off the floors, and at first, the staff said "no, I don't have the key." After we asked how we can shower without dry towels, he grumbled some stuff in Italian and went to the closet and said "ONE. JUST ONE. I WILL ONLY REPLACE ONE." Well, all the towels were stacked together by housekeeping and we had no idea which one was soaking up water off the floor. The 3 of us had 1 clean towel to use. It's pretty disgusting to think that they could expect us to use towels that had been used to mop up water off their bathroom floor, which, by the way, was quite old and the shower had rust/mold around the hinges. We bought our own towels to use after that incident, since they refused to provide us with clean ones.

They said linens would be replaced every 3 days, but we didn't think that would include wet towels used to clean water off the floor. I read that another member on tripadvisor had made the same comment awhile earlier, and management promised to take those comments into consideration. We are disappointed by the standard of hygiene and attitude when we asked for new towels.

Our last night, there were intermittent blackouts and also a lack of hot water in the shower.

In the end, these things ruined our stay in Florence. We will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank S t e p h a n i e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Centro! Our room was quiet - there's going to be some street noise almost anywhere you stay in Florence, but it definitely did not wake us up or bother us at all. The staff were so wonderful - recommended restaurants for us, letting us check out a bit late, etc. Breakfast was good and the Wifi was free! We thought the location was absolutely perfect as well - it's in between the train station, Galleria Academia (David), Duomo, and all of the main squares. You never had more than a 5-10 minute walk to get anywhere in Florence. I would highly recommend Hotel Centro - excellent value hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobstergirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lompoc
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We would recomend Hotel Centro. We had a very nice stay. We loved the location, but what really made it great was the staff. They helped us so much. My wife had twisted her ankle the day before and they offered us ice packs every evening for her foot. They suggested places to eat that were also very good and not too expensive. We would go back any time. It was also very clean and the breakfast was good. Greg from Lompoc, CA

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lompocian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Hotel Centro is clean, brilliantly located with friendly and helpful staff, great value for money!

Location is about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo, Market and the Galleria Accademia (REAL Michaelangelo's David). The SMN Train station is approx 10 minutes walk. Easy to find with a map and once you get your bearings!

There is a small lift to the reception area on the first floor and another lift to the rooms. Our room was large and spacious with a compact and bijou bathroom. Clean and comfortable, ceiling fan was slightly noisy but didnt affect our stay nor would it stop me booking here again in the future. Although we were right opposite the lift it wasn't too noisy and we were not disturbed.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times - we asked to book a trip and this could not have been easier - all sorted for us! We even learned some Italian!

Free breakfast was brilliant - great to set us up for the day - cereal, croissants, fruit juice, coffee. One morning we missed breakfast but were still offered coffee.

There wasnt an iron available so we were slightly wrinkled but again not a big deal.

We were also offered the option to store our luggage on checkout if needed (had there been time to see more of Florence, this would have been invaluable!).

Overall I can't fault the hotel or staff, would definitely recommend Hotel Centro if you want a good value central hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#261 of 412 in Florence
251 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#150 of 412 in Florence
307 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#356 of 412 in Florence
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
italhotels san lorenzo
#325 of 412 in Florence
270 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#282 of 412 in Florence
235 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 412 in Florence
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Property: Hotel Centro
Address: Via De' Ginori 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing