We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spent one night in Florence at Hotel Duomo, and were pleased with our choice. The location was just perfect and convenient to where we wanted to go. The reception staff all spoke very good English and were very welcoming and helpful. The room was on the small side, but nicely furnished, very clean, and neat. The decor was a strange mix of Italian, American, and Japanese style, but comfortable. Staying there longer than one night might have been tight just because of the size of the room. There was a tiny terrace, which was nice even though ours didn't have a great view. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay near the Duomo in the center of town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 730 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel Duomo is across the road from The Duomo (Cathedral), right in the centre of Florence, so it gets top marks for location. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the room was modern, very clean, and reasonably big. The bathroom was also a decent size. The website and hotel information pack indicate that wi-fi is charged at an hourly rate, however, it was free but not without problems. Using an iPhone, I had to shut the phone down regularly to reconnect to their server, otherwise it was fine. The hotel seems to cater for a mature traveller, so no late-night conversations or noise disturbed us, but be prepared to be woken from your slumber at 7 am each morning by the Duomo bells! The ancient lift was a lovely touch, reminiscent of old spy movies!

Room Tip: Room 44 is at the end of the corridor with a view of the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is our 3rd stay at the Hotel Duomo in Florence, Italy. The location is absolutely perfect!! It is right across the street from the famous Duomo Cathedral - so is easy to locate if you should get lost.....just look up and head in that general direction!! The hotel is also close to wonderful restaurants and great shopping. Our room was comfortable and the hotel staff was most helpful. It was so hot when we were there this past September so we really appreciated that the rooms were air-conditioned. We have also stayed at the Hotel Duomo in November when we were delighted to find our rooms warm and cozy. I would certainly recommend this hotel and should we be fortunate to return to Florence a 4th time, we will most certainly stay there again.
'Indiana Traveler."

Room Tip: If tolling bells are not your thing - do not stay in the corner room as the bells are right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indianaz0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is in the middle of the tourist hub in Florence. You can wander to your hearts content about the amazing old city. There is an unending supply of great restaurants on the doorstep. It is about 2 minutes walk from the train station; which is where most of the tour buses leave from also.

The owner is lovely, and very helpful. Breakfast was great. There is free wi fi.

Room Tip: I had a great room looking over the square + Duomo = 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel was okay, it served a purpose and was a decent price.

The manager was very rude. On arrival at reception, my partner and I waited for 15 minutes (no exaggeration, it was awkward) for him to have a long phone call with an agent. We just hung around as he waffled on. I wouldn't have minded waiting, if he apologised for keeping us waiting. He didn't. He then told us that we would have to move rooms after one night (we were staying for three).

Anyway, the first room was aparently "superior". It was okay, large size, sofa, clean bathroom.

The second room on the top floor was a funky shape - but you could hear everything in the room next door. I mean whole conversations, using the toilet and showering. It was embarrassing to hear! We did get a free bottle of wine for the annoyance of moving, which was nice. But they really need to sound proof those rooms.

Needs English speaking tv channels eg BBC News. The whole point of Sky, no?

Great location though, short walk to the centre and sam Lorenzo Bascillica. Breakfast was a bit gross and cheap, but the eggs and coffee were appreciated.

Room Tip: NOT the top floor rooms! The walls are paper-thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronim_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,043 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: €76 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing